We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the best beach ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Staff was outstanding everytime we came in contact with them.
Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
View of the gulf from our room was to die for.
Restaurant on teh grounds was world class.
Beach attendents friendly, patient and helpful

Room Tip: book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterhawk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The most amazing service ! The rooms clean and beautiful totally recommend this hotel !! The food is great ! Mini Bar on the beach the employes so nice and friendly very helpful all the time ! Beautiful beach can wait to come back with my family !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anaventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food service and the employees. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the March Beach Ocean Resort the last week of August 2013. We chose this location based on the many positive reviews and its magnificent location. We couldn't agree more. The resort is well maintained, it is clean and looks and smells great. If you drive to this location, this resort offers paid parking and valet service, both nice-to-have conveniences. The grounds are spectacular and the beach is very well maintained and serviced. Towel/chair service is a definite plus, and unlike other resorts or hotels, you're never at risk of losing your chair. Food and drink service is efficient and friendly. As others have mentioned, the best views are afforded by the upper levels. We were on the 11th floor and we're glad we took others' advice on requesting this floor. For those who are not familiar with this part of Florida, please take any seasonal impacts into consideration. Rain is guaranteed in August almost daily, but it is still Florida and that wonderful sun did not disappoint every single day. We returned home with an amazing tan based on a minimum of 5-6 hours of full sun every day. As well, guests need to be aware of the fact that southern U.S. is also home to various types of bugs, such as the American cockroach or Palmetto bug. Lush, damp vegetation is home to these bugs and there is the probability of finding one in some of the lower level rooms. We were surprised to find one in our room on the 11th floor. The resort staff did not minimize our concern and offered to remedy the situation any way they could. As far as food is concerned, there are many options in the area and closer to Naples. Some of the best food we had there was at some of the most modest of places whose dishes were based on fresh ingredients. However, having a kitchen and the ability to enjoy our meals on the balcony and overlooking the water made it difficult to leave the room at times. We love this part of Florida and we will most definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: This location offers access to their parking lot by valet service only. Also, higher floors offer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spindoctor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are happy that we made a lasting impression on you as I see from your review that your last stay with us was in August, 2013! We hope you are able to come back and visit us again very soon. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My first time at this hotel for a romantic getaway weekend. The staff was wonderful, grounds immaculate, restaurant was also wonderful. We had an ocean view - which I highly recommend. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Any room 9th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a great place. It's a small property at just less than 100 rooms. The higher your room, the better view you will have. If you're on the 5th or 6th floor, you'll be looking right into the greenery around the pool and won't see the water.

The pool is relatively small but the beach service (towels, umbrella, food & beverage, etc.) is really great. Our family of five had a great time and ended up eating all our meals at their restaurant, Sal e Pepe. The bar is big, friendly and with artisanal cocktails. The food was so good we canceled the following days reservations in order to continue eating there.

By the end of our stay, many of the staff greeted us by name. We'll definitely go back and visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accomodations. We will certainly pass on your comments to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Having never previously been to Marco Island, all I knew when booking my room for a 5 night stay was that I didn't want to be in a large, business conference style resort (Marriott). In many ways the Marco Beach Ocean Resort fit the bill perfectly, but it also failed in many ways.

The hotel has an extremely odd layout. The hotel sits close to the street, which is fine, especially since all of the rooms are on the gulf side, so road noise is not an issue. Our 9th floor room had a tremendous view of the water, but since the water was still many hundreds of yards away, it didn't have the same feel as a true oceanfront property should have. Between the hotel and the water is the spa/pool, which sit on the 4th and 5th floors, respectively, as well as the main restaurant, Sale e Pepe, which itself sits above a parking garage. I'm sure they had a reason for setting the property up like this, but it seemed odd.

Getting around was confusing at first, but we quickly learned our way around. There is a short pathway running alongside the restaurant which serves as the beach access, where many lounge chairs are reserved for guests. It is staffed, so along with beach towels, you can also order from a limited lunch/drink menu while sitting on the beach.

The pool is on the small side, surrounded with lounge chairs, so whether you are trying to get as much sun or shade as possible, you should be able to find a chair that suits your needs. Be warned, though, because it seems as though the large resort habit of beating everyone else to the pool to stake claim to chairs, only to then disappear for hours, seems to be in full effect at this pool.
Like the beach, there are plenty of towels available, as well as a bar area with a lunch menu as well. This hotel is not especially geared toward families, so be warned, kids will most likely be bored at this pool. I overheard several complaining that there wasn't anything to do. Although the pool is smaller, that didn't stop the random person from donning a swim cap to swim laps, which I also found to be strange, especially as many other people were simply relaxing in the pool to cool off from the sun.

The rooms themselves are nice, but not what I'd expect for the price. Beds were very firm, pillows unsupportive. The kitchen was nice so we could start with a simple bowl of cereal or fruit for breakfast, rather than getting dressed and heading to a restaurant first thing. I have read complaints about the threshold on the door wall being a trip hazard. I thought it was just people picking over the smallest detail. When I tripped over it the first time I went out to the balcony, I knew it was a real issue. This isn't a threshold, it is a 6" baseboard extending across the doorway. I'm not sure what purpose it serves, but please be careful of this.
For rooms with kitchens which seem set up for longer than weekend stays, the rooms could use more drawer space. Neither tv cabinet had useable drawers, so we had to make do with the small dresser shoved into the closet. These drawers were no more than a foot wide , so they can't hold much more than a few pairs of shorts in each drawer. Although there was no real noise from outside, it always sounded like the people upstairs were moving furniture. That probably speaks more to their consideration of other guests than it does to the soundproofing of the hotel, but I thought it was worth a mention.

My wife and I both used the spa, with mixed reviews. Overall the facilities were very nice. I booked the sports massage, and my wife booked the pre-natal massage. My massage was great, and my wife had no complaints about her treatment, however she did say that even though they offered a prenatal massage, they seemed ill prepared for it. She said the therapist seemed unsure of how to position her, and had no pillows or anything to support her for positions she was placed in.

As a guest of the resort, you have access to the spa facilities (gym, steam room, sauna, locker room), but the woman working the counter seemed irritated that anyone would want access aside from people getting treatments. Seeing as I never saw more than 1 other person in the facilities, I'm not sure what the issue was, but she was extremely unpleasant to deal with. Nothing like feeling you are inconveniencing the staff to make you feel welcome.

The only real restaurant on the property is Sale e Pepe, which I reviewed separately. The other restaurants (beachside and poolside, as well as in-room) all serve the same menu. Every day we were at the pool, the restaurant opened at a different time, staffed by a different bartender. Drinks were made completely different depending on who was working, and the personalities couldn't have been more varied. The sandwiches were good, however.

The staff has a very international flair, most of whom it seems like work seasonally split between Marco Island and Martha's Vineyard. Employing Americans does not seem to be high on their list.

On our last day, I tried unsuccessfully to get a late checkout (to their credit, standard checkout is Noon), but I was told we could still have access to all of the facilities for the day since our flight wasn't until the evening. That was great news, since that meant we could spend another day by the pool and still be able to shower. All we needed to do was go to the spa and get lockers. Or so we were told by the front desk. Upon arriving at the spa and asking for lockers, we were rudely told that we could not do that because the lockers were reserved for people getting spa treatments. Now, that hadn't seemed to be the case for the other days, but she made it clear she was not compromising, regardless of the fact no one was down there at all. She called the beach pro shop and curtly told us we could go there and get lockers. My main concern was to be able to shower after being at the pool before getting on the plane, so I was fine with a locker wherever, and didn't even realize there was a locker room toward the beach. Had she informed me of this in even a remotely courteous way, I would have been fine, but she again made it seem like I was making her go out of her way to deal with me, which really turned me off to ever wanting to return to this hotel.

The beach area locker room and showers were very clean and it was great to be able to clean up before heading back to reality (and single digit temps).

Strengths:
Smaller resort (90 rooms, I think)
In-Room kitchens
Cleanliness
Housekeeping staff was great and very pleasant
Front desk staff
Bellmen


Weaknesses:
Customer Service (primarily at Spa)
Consistency

Room Tip: Rooms start on 5th floor, even with pool. These rooms have gated patios which walk out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bkinder162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for recently visiting the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We appreciate that you have many destinations to choose from, and we were pleased to know that you chose us from all other resort destinations. On another note, we were saddened to hear that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Although I prefer not to go into each detail of your review, please know that we do take your feedback seriously and the issues within our control will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom gulf suite on 11th floor. Lovely views of pool and beach. Room was nice with a big bathroom and nice balcony which was private and not overlooked.
Staff pleasant and friendly and valet parking was very quick and efficient. The valet staff were the best in the hotel for friendliness. Greeters in sale e pepe were a little superior which was disappointing. That said the waiting staff were very efficient and professional. Food was overrated in our opinion.
We were very chilled staying here and would return if visiting Marco Island again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank babybuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our resort! We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our Valet staff. We were however, disappointed that you were not happy with the services provided by Sale e Pepe. We will pass on your feedback to the restaurant management. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,631 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: £171 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing