We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, some shortfalls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, some shortfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a two room suite with small but attractive rooms. Some beautiful architectural details. On a beautiful beach with great swimming. The pool is barely a wading pool, it is not possible to really swim. Restaurants are attractive with pretty good food. Service varies depending on the meal - dinner is excellent service, lunch not so much so. We had a well featured kitchen with a refrigerator that came in handy. The balcony was just large enough. One issue is the room safes are flimsy mechanical latched. All hotels we've stayed at recently have electronically controlled safes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaofny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We appreciate your compliments and your feedback. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    267
    85
    40
    23
See reviews for
420
568
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel on a beautiful Island and if you want to forget about everything and leave the stresses of day to day life behind for a few days or like us a couple of weeks it is even better. The hotel staff are what make this hotel stand out. From the Reception Staff to Room Service, but most of all it's the Jamaican Team on the beach that really stand out. They are the friendliest, most helpful and attentive bunch of guys. The atmosphere they create is the reason why this is our second visit to the hotel and I am sure it will not be our last. Thanks to Fabian, Michael, Orville, Silbert, Courtney and the ever attentive John...You Guys Rock! I must not forget Pavel on Valet, who works so hard and always has a smile to greet you and time for a quick chat. Awesome Hotel and Awesome staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our resort. We appreciate that you have many places to choose from to host your vacation and we are delighted you chose us. Your kind words for our beach team and valet team are much appreciated and I will make sure to personally pass them along. Again, thank you for selecting us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights with my husband mid April. The hotel and staff are very good. The rooms were clean and nice. Great ocean front room. Price is right compared to other ocean front hotels here. So much quieter than the Marriott next door and still very family friendly.
Two things though that needs improvement. The beds. My husband had a terrible time sleeping on their mattress. He says he would not go back here again because it was that bad.
The other thing, the only place to eat was a very upscale place called Sale e Pepe. Even though they have the beach bar, it is not open until noonish and is not large enough for many people. The food there is excellent but VERY pricey. Our meal for two cost $300. Also, they have no place to get a good cup of coffee except in this place. It cost me $4 for a cup of coffee and I had to track it down. They really need to offer an easy access area for the early birds.

Room Tip: Best view from floors 9-12. Try to get a room that is not in the center. The large building that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockladyNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for selecting the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations. We also like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the hotel bed. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quick 3-night beach getaway and had a very relaxing time. Our suite was fine for the limited time we were in the room, no issues at all. We ate breakfast and lunch each day on-site and the food was quite good at both the restaurant and the beachside bar. The beach was easy to access from the hotel, and well staffed. We had no issues getting chairs/umbrella or drinks throughout the day.
We would definitely recommend this property to other couples and will stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossTAaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the nice remarks. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach and our accommodations. Thank you for selecting the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The service was fantastic and the staff was great! In addition, the hotel and rooms were beautiful! If we needed anything, the staff was super responsive! The hotel was not very crowded and it was no trouble to get a seat at the beach or pool.
The only concerns I want to mention are that the one restaurant on property (that is not a beach restaurant) isn't great for kids and the hotel was not able to accommodate a late checkout (can be frustrating when you have to work around a child's nap). However, the food at the onsite restaurant Sale e Pepe is really good and they will deliver to your room where you can dine on your balcony. Also, it is very easy to walk from this hotel to plenty of more casual restaurants. Overall we had a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbuckjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your compliments and recommendations. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff helped make it memorable. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I just left this hotel and loved it so much that I needed to write my first review on TripAdvisor. I wish I could give it a rating higher than 5!

Everything about our two night stay was perfect! From the time we arrived until we said our final goodbye, we were treated like royalty. We were pleasantly greated when first walking into the hotel and when we walked back outside to get our luggage, the Valet had already unpacked our entire car!

Our room was absolutely beautiful! We had a full gulph view on the 12th floor (originally on the 9th floor, but the air conditioner was broken. The staff (Brian) was wonderful with accommodating us to another room and even gave us a bottle of wine for our trouble.) The 12th floor is the top floor and the view from the balcony is beyond INCREDIBLE! It's honestly so incredible we contemplated bringing food up to our room and just eating there to watch the sunset.

The beach was set up with chairs, tables, and umbrellas each morning by the hotel staff, so it's all set for when the guests start arriving. We had no problem getting a spot right down front and it was an added bonus that it didn't cost extra. We heard other local hotels charge a fee. The pool was nice with plenty of lounge chairs, although we didn't actually go in...the beach was too beautiful to pass up! The beach is filled with shells, so make sure you get down there at low tide and you will be amazed at what you can find!

The afternoon drinks were fantastic at the beach bar. Sean is a FANTASTIC bartender who goes the extra mile to make your drink extra special. I highly recommend the Mudslide and Miami Vice!

Room Tip: Definitely get a full gulph room on a higher floor! (12th floor is the highest) The view is amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissMagic-812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for selecting the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We appreciate your compliments regarding our front office and food and beverage team. We will be happy to pass along your comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Overall, we were really pleased with our stay at the resort. We felt the staff was very attentive to our needs and knowledgeable about the island. The one bedroom suite has a kitchen, which is nice if you don't want to go out for every meal. The room was clean and furnishings didn't look tired and outdated. There's room service twice a day and they clean your dishes if you cook! Noise was an issue, but not voices though. We were woken up two mornings around 6 am because we had neighbors above us who constantly were opening and closing their patio door for some reason.

They really made the stay enjoyable for our young children, 2 and 4. Baby sea turtle stuffed animals were delivered the first day, and since it was Easter weekend, there was an Easter egg hunt with plenty of eggs in the garden terrace one morning and you could arrange for the Easter bunny to deliver a Easter basket of treats.

On the beach, the staff sets up chairs and an umbrella for you . You can also order drinks and food on the beach. As other reviewers have noted, the pool area is small and can feel crowded at times.

The food and drinks were a little hit and miss from the Beachfront Bar and Grill. Some of the sandwiches were just ok and a little pricey. The quesadilla and shrimp were tasty. My mojito tasted watered down. (It was a warm day on the beach, but I still should've still been able to taste my drink.) I got a frozen drink on another day, which was a lot better. We ate at Sale e Pepe one evening. Beautiful patio area. Food was also very good and they had a kids menu. There is a breakfast buffet at the restaurant ($22 adults, kids were half off) with an omelet station, fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, breakfast meats, etc.

Last thing, when you make a reservation, be sure to check for the option with a $75 daily food voucher and free valet ($18 daily). It isn't that much more than just getting a room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe-tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding your stay over Easter. We would also like to apologize for any challenges you experienced with our food and beverage services. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing