We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    270
    86
    40
    23
See reviews for
428
570
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TheDocsGirl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This property is just not our style. We've always stayed at the Marriott on Marco Island until recently when it has become absolutely over-run with conferences. Looking for something different with more to offer, we thought we'd try the Marco Ocean Beach Resort.

The one bedroom suites are very small, with very large pieces of furnitures stuffed in them. There is a huge piece housing the TV that has no usable drawer space and a 5? drawer dresser inside the tiny closet, behind the closet door...hard to get to. The beds are extremely uncomfortable in my opinion, rock hard. The kitchen is small, but functional..not for large meal making. The balcony was nice.

Check in was cold and indifferent. Nothing exceptional about any of the staff. Housekeeping failed to note the filthy washcloth they had folded up for my husband to use in the shower and the furniture was not well taken care of, or up to date.

The pool is on the small side. We encountered no pool/bar service. Most resorts have a server making the rounds at the pool, we saw no one in the few days we were there.

The restaurant on property was very good. The food was excellent, and different, a higher caliber than most places on Marco.

I read a bunch of reviews suggesting this resort is on par with a Ritz Carlton. To suggest something like that is damaging to the Ritz Carlton name. They aren't even close. But I really don't think they are trying to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDocsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any staff member who did not provide you with exceptional service and that the suite you stayed in was not to your personal preference. I see that your visit to our resort was in July, 2013. Please know that your comments were addressed and we continue to strive for excellence to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I just completed our 8 day stay at MBOR. Words cannot express how completely happy we are with every aspect of this stay. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted to stay at a beautiful place right on Marco Beach. From the first time we reviewed all of the details and reviews of this resort, we knew this was the place for us. The valet staff were so friendly and efficient and always asked if we needed directions....always had a warm smile. The check-in/check-out staff were very personable and efficient. The housekeeping staff was magnificent. Our beautiful-immaculate-comfortable room(s) made the most impact on our stay. We met a couple of the lovely ladies and they were so nice. They always asked if we needed anything. Again, the room(s) was spotless every day.....we SO appreciated that. The bed / pillows / linens were extremely comfortable The balcony was lovely. Picture perfect views no matter which way you turned. The pool care maintenance gentleman did a superb job each morning making sure the pool was pristine. The young gentleman who was first to arrive on the pool deck each morning would meticulously make sure each lounge chair was lined up just so...umbrellas and side tables too. Then he would fold and place all of the pool towels in PERFECT piles in a cute towel hutch. It's attention to details like that that makes every direction you turn a beautiful sight. Down at the beach you were always greeted with beautiful smiles from the staff of gentlemen that would escort you to your chairs and place towels so nicely on your chair. Courteous gentlemen for sure. Needless to say, everyday was exactly like this. It was MORE than expected!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor. When we go back to MBOR it will be the 12th floor we request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Let us firstly congratulate you on 30 years of marriage, and thank you for choosing us to help you celebrate it. It’s so wonderful that we were able to assist in creating great memories for your milestone. Please, come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Marco Beach Ocean Resort the second week of May 2014. We didn't know anything about the resort other than what we read on Trip Advisor. We decided to give it a try and were very happy with our decision. The resort is clean, well staffed, pretty, and the on site restaurants have great food. We ate lunch everyday at the outside restaurant and we liked everything we got. The presentation, for an outside bar restaurant was an added bonus. The food tasted fresh and I really enjoyed the salads. The Italian restaurant indoors was great too. Very rich but tasty Italian. Our room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the balcony had updated furniture that was comfortable. We were on the 8th floor. I would not go any lower. The pool is on the 5th floor and the people coming out of the pool can look directly onto your balcony. Not a lot of privacy at that level. The maid service and valet was exceptional. The front desk personnel were very nice and accommodating. We were able to change our room with no problem. We wanted a higher floor and was moved within an hour. The walk to the beach through the resort is full of greenery and a canapé to block the sun. You do pass the garage but with the beauty of the foliage you don't notice. The beach is beautiful and the employees setting up chairs and delivery food and drink are hard workers. They are running back and forth all day. We never had trouble getting a chair and the 3:00 smoothies were a nice touch. I would recommend bringing water shoes. The beach is full of shells, and if you are a beach walker like we are it was sometimes painful to walk over all the broken shells. We did bring home many beautiful shells. I would definitely recommend this resort. We will return to this resort. Thanks Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Request a room floor 7 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments and recommendation. It means so much that you took the time to share your resort experience with us and future travelers alike. We truly hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

excellent hotel, high class, great location. The only downside is lack of a casual restaurant but since there are numerous restaurants outside the hotel closeby it is a non factor. I agree with one reviewer that the safe in the room could be better and more modern

Room Tip: if you want to have a view of the sea you need to be on the top 3 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable resort experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Marco Beach Ocean resort as a family of four, it was the 2nd week of our holiday after visiting Disney/Universal and so we were all ready for a good rest. The stay started really well as the hotel looks the business from the outside and the foyer is very grand as well. Reception did a great job to check us in and allocate our suite that would have the lounge area converted into a bedroom for the kids to sleep in - we did ask if the kids could get separate beds or a roll away bed but they don't offer that (fair enough), so the kids had a sofa bed. I think that the suites aren't quite big enough to pull this off as when the sofa bed is in place you cant easily get to the patio doors and our room was pretty small as well, so overall it wasn't a great place to hang out. If I was booking again I'd book a larger suite or adjoining rooms.

Once unpacked we went to the pool and were a bit disappointed - its small , I mean really small and when the hotel occupancy was high it was busy - not a relaxing place to be. Next up we went to the beach and oddly you have to walk through the underground car park to get to it. Their was a separate lift with a more direct router but this never functioned for the entire week we stayed there. The walk to the beach is quite a long way, so don't forget anything or walking back becomes really tedious. The beach itself is really good and there was always plenty of sunbeds but getting drinks or food could take some serious effort and often service would take quite a while.

Once back in our room we started to notice that it wasn't really in all that great condition, rusty door stops, tap not fixed to the sink, shower head broken, dirty carpet (see photos) etc. this is why the review gets Poor, I mean its supposed to be a 4 star hotel!

On our fourth night we were woken by all manner of banging and crashing around 6AM. When we went to breakfast we complained to reception and they said they would send maintenance in to sort whatever it was. Next morning, same deal - we mentioned it again and they offered to move us but we only had a couple of nights left so we didn't want to. We found out later that the floor above us was being refurbished. To be fair to the hotel they did credit us back a meal that all four of us had at the hotel to compensate but should workers really be banging and crashing at 6AM in an occupied hotel?

On the last night the fire alarm went off at 5AM and we all had to leave the hotel, I gather something in the pump room had set it off accidentally. We had planned to leave around 8am to start the journey home - so we just got packed up and left. Still at least we got to see an American fire truck!

Would I stay again? Probably not I'm afraid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a rather rough start to your departure with a few bumps in between. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the suite and the other issues you experienced, especially in regards to being awoken very early in the morning on two separate occasions. We are not aware of any refurbishments in the hotel at this time, but please be assured that we are looking into what actually may have caused the issue on your fourth night with us. We are saddened to hear that you would not stay again and hope that you will reconsider as many of the issues you experienced definitely could have been avoided. Again, we thank you for your very valuable feedback and wish you happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

4th year in this hotel! I would never stay anywhere else on Marco Island. Hotel is very classy. Two-room suite is absolutely perfect. All rooms face the stunning Gulf of Mexico, with a roomy balcony. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and exceptionally well maintained. The beach is large, clean and welcoming.
The people are the true gem! From the front desk, to the Valets, the doormen, the cleaning staff and those terrific guys who set up your beach chairs and umbrellas, they are friendly, pleasant and can't do enough to make your stay memorable.
Beyond maybe babysitting services, this hotel does not cater to children. For us, that too is a huge plus.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JerseyIcecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff and our resort. We are so happy that we continue to have your business and your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 5th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing