We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice property with room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just finished a 7 day stay at the resort. Positives, thought that the bellman and valet drivers were all incredibly nice and helpful, the 2BR were spacious and convenient with a kitchenette, and the maid service was really good (coming around a second time each day with towels was great). Also, little pluses and money savers like free internet and free chairs and umbrellas at the beach were much appreciated. Location, including being right on the beach plus walking distance to some restaurants was great.

Had some areas for improvement....as noted by some below, room was not ready, even though I arrived after 3pm, the beach attendants were very unfriendly and heavy into the tips, and (again, as some have already noted), some of furniture in the suites and carpet need to be updated. Valets were great guys, but paying $18 for parking plus $10 tips each time you want your car plus tips for beach attendants and maids, you're easily dropping another $50+ every day. For a week, that's an extra $350 or more. Only other nit is the pool is incredibly small. I

I would definitely return, but was thinking for someone like me with 2 young kids, the vibe and set up was probably better for our family at the Marriott next door.

Room Tip: 2 BR is a good set up if you have young kids since they have kitchenettes and 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our resort and your kind words about our bell and valet drivers. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your service and your room. Also, we appreciate your feedback in regards to the room not being ready when you arrived. One thing to note is our check in time is at 4:00pm, however we understand that an early check in is always an added benefit. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in regards to the beach staff being unfriendly and we will address your comments with our team members. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    270
    85
    40
    23
See reviews for
428
569
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 6 day vacation at Marco Beach Ocean Resort. It was our first time on Marco Island, and we absolutely loved it. We wanted a quiet, relaxing vacation and this really fit the bill. We had a very nice suite overlooking the gulf. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating, including Jason and Dwight who were working the beach. They took very good care of us every day.
I would highly recommend this hotel and Marco Island if you want to get away and just relax. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are so glad we made your 6 day vacation perfect! We will pass on your compliments to our beach staff, especially Jason and Dwight. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Came to Marco for a 5 day 4 night relax vacation. Relax we did. This hotel was perfect for our stay. From the time we checked the car at valet to the time we went to the beach.
We were able to get an upgrade to room 1007, now this was the perfect view with the perfect sunsets.
Check in was fast and friendly, they could not be nicer.
When our bags were brought to the room the hotel and area were explained perfectly.
The room was exceptional . Nice nights on the deck with the great view of the gulf.
The beach was excellent, water clean, no hassles with getting a chair and umbrella.
Kudos to MBOR for turning a good vacation into a great vacation.

Room Tip: we had room 1007 in the middle overlooking the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sully423617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. We are so happy to hear your vacation was full of much needed relaxation. We will look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just came back from our trip to Marco and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is extremely lovely throughout, from the lobby all the way to the rooms. The staff from the bellman to the front desk and all were all so nice and pleasant always. We were 2 couples that went and we had asked for rooms near each other. They accommodated us with adjoining rooms, which was extremely convenient and we were very happy about that. The rooms were beautiful and a nice size. Good size kitchen area, living area, balcony and bedroom. Bathrooms were very spacious. Everything was very clean and always kept clean, including turn down service. Just lovely. The pool is a little small and relates to my only complaint and the reason why I would never return to this hotel. If you want peace and quiet and nothing to do but sunbathe and swim, this is the place for you. But for us, we found it be beyond boring. There is only so much sunbathing I could do before looking for some activity. This hotel needs a recreation staff. At the very least they could play some music by the pool. If you sat near the bar you may have lightly heard something, but beyond that it was just quiet. There is a bar in the pool area with very overpriced drinks and food, but you have to go up and ask for it. At no time did anyone ever come around and ask if you wanted anything. You actually barely ever saw any staff at the pool at all. The beach was pretty but about the same. The staff would give you chairs and umbrellas and even nicely lay out your towels, but not asking if you wanted a beverage or anything. Other than the beach and pool bars, the only other food on property was Salon E Pepe. It was closed most of the nights we were there but chose not to eat there anyway as it was not our type of food or atmosphere as we like a more laid back atmosphere. Overall I rated the hotel highly based on the hotel itself, and I think this hotel is very appealing for peace and quiet, but it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: I was told that all the rooms are the same, but I would ask for a room on the 5th floor as that is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your nice remarks. We were disappointed that we did not meet your needs as a resort guest. We do however appreciate your feedback and will address your comments appropriately. We do hope that you will decide to come back again and will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed on the 12th floor on Sunday 25th May for 4 nights.
We really didn't want to leave. From being greeted by 'Brian' at reception it was a lovely stay and highly recommend the hotel. I told Brian I had driven from Orlando - first time ever driving in America and he remembered this information during our stay. Impressive when he must see a number of people. We were also greeted by our Surname - the Valet had radioed to inform him before we arrived - impressive!


Even the valet who brought up our bags went out of his way and brought us a couple of newspapers, my husband loves reading American newspapers so that was a little touch which goes a long way.

We walked into our room and had the most perfect view of the beach and sea.
The room is lovely, kitchen is very handy, bedroom had a door which we closed at night & we had the most wonderful sleep it was lovely... so peaceful no sound from neighbours like you get in most hotel rooms. In fact normally due to jetlag we take a few days before we can sleep until 6am but we had difficulty in waking! The bathroom is amazing and everything is extremely clean.

They had a complimentary BBQ on our first night for Memorial Day, being a vegetarian I still managed to find something to eat and we had a lovely evening. We did rush out to make the most of our evening that night, put all our money etc in the safe then forgot to lock it and left it wide open! The hotel is one of the few we have been to recently that still does a ‘turndown service’ so the maid had been in our room closed the wardrobe door (where the safe is) and everything was fine. Obviously very trust worthy staff.

The beach and staff are all really nice, if Marco beach was closer to England we would visit all the time, but next time we are in Florida we will make sure we visit again we enjoyed it that much.

A perfect stay, it really does remind me of how hotels used to be run. With check out at noon, a turndown service, complimentary beach chairs/Umbrellas, a complimentary BBQ it really is a credit to whoever manages the hotel. WELL DONE!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are always sad to see our guests go as well, but look forward to you coming back to visit us again. We appreciate your kind words and will pass on your compliments to our staff, especially Brian. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, georgia, usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was awesome.... The room was great! The room had a kitchenette, so was able to purchase drinks/food at grocery store for snacks. Beach service was good and chairs available throughout the day. I wanta go back! Would be a wonderful place to bring my children to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briteteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your great getaway! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room, the beach service and that you wish to come back with the family. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I were at Marco Beach Ocean Resort for a wedding at the resort. We very happy with the choice. The rooms were great with a kitchenette and nice sized living room. The bathroom was also wonderful size. My husband and I could get ready at the same time with no hassle. The pool, pool bar, beach and beach bar were perfection. Pricey but that is to be expected. They do have good deals with beer buckets and 2 for 1 happy hour drinks. The hotel is also very conveniently located near quite a few restaurants and shops. If you have car then its only a short drive to the grocery store. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Marco Island. It is not 5 star but it's a strong 4.

Room Tip: The breakfast at Sal de Pepe is TOO DIE FOR! It is expensive though. I would skip the buffet tho!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MO526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments and recommendation. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and the accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing