We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 906 - very highly recommend”
Review of Sea Winds of Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Winds of Marco
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the last week of June. We rented through VRBO. The owners were very reponsive through email. Their rental agency, Prudential, was great. No complaints from either. The unit, #906, was fantastic - exactly as described and would highly recommend. Tv's in every room with cable. Dishwasher, washer and dryer, all kitchen utensils that were needed. View from deck was amazing. The common areas were kept extremely clean. My wife and I both commented multiple times how impressed we were that they were able to keep all these areas clean in spite of all the wet people and sand that was undoubtedly tracked in. There may be other units in need of updating as this building is older, but 906 was fantastic. We liked the security with all the doors being locked. The pool was small but all really needed and was never crowded. Our teenagers enjoyed it from time to time when they were tired of sand. The grounds were very well kept up with green grass and flowers. On a fabulous section of beach. The only other condo available for weekly rentals is on the opposite end of the island and while the beach there is nice, its not as nice as the beach on this end. The only complaint I have is the parking fee they force on everyone. I think it was $25. It just seemed like a way to get a little more money from us. I don't think this is any fault of the owners or rental agency though. Also, the rental agency communicated it to us ahead of time so we would be aware of it. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwayneo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have been renting in Marco at Sea Winds two times per year for 5+ years. Have never had had a poor experience like this. The first warning came when we had difficulty getting in touch with the Rental Agent in order to reserve the unit... we should have moved on to the next unit and prop. mgmt. company.

We stayed there 1st week of April. The unit itself was ok, but it certainly wasn't any better than the other units we've rented, and didn't justify the rental rate. The real surprise came after we checked out. Even though cleaning is included with the total rental cost (and this unit's rent was quite high for the week at $2k total, definitely not worth it)… we typically sweep the floors, wipe off surfaces, and do as much laundry as we can before we leave. We figure the cleaning people appreciate not being tied down waiting for laundry to finish, just a nice gesture from us. We did the same thing upon checking out of this unit. When it came time for receiving our deposit back, the Management Company deducted $11. Upon further inquiry, we were told that excessive fingerprints were left on the sliding glass doors!!

Are you kidding me? Well, we do have children, but most of the prints probably came from us adults. You see, the slider in the master bedroom needed to be pulled/pushed with maximum force in order to open it from left to right. Kids couldn't even open it, and we had great difficulty. The door opened with ease from right to left, but the problem was the blinds opened left to right (as they should, since the walkway is on the left). So if we were to open the door right to left, we would then have had to contend with the mass of blinds and their pull cords. Made no sense, and this is the only unit we've rented with this kind of mismatched slider/blind configuration.

So due to THEIR flaw, WE were charged $11 for fingerprints??? How long could it have taken one to spray windex and wipe the door? You wouldn't do this anyway for the next guest?? Any time that was spent wiping the glass was more than offset by the time savings your cleaning crew realized from reduced laundering. We argued with the Agent over the charge, but supposedly upon inquiring further, he said the owner "won't budge". On eleven dollars. A totally bogus charge on an already pricey weekly rental. Talk about leaving a bad taste in the Customer's mouth.

Congratulations, Owner of #804 and Coldwell Banker (Floridamoves) you've managed to lose us as Customers for life!!!!!! We also regularly refer others to Sea Winds… you can bet we will refer them elsewhere. And we are looking to purchase in the area, you will not represent our interests for sure... hope the eleven bucks was worth it!!


** Now I see the previous reviewer had issues with the cleaning. Interesting, isn't it? By assessing bogus cleaning charges, you'd think they'd have a REALLY clean unit... NOT!!!

Room Tip: Don't select #804 for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank SilverandBlackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is our fourth year staying in this particular unit. The location is spectacular. It feels like home when we arrive. Our only complaint again is people smoking on the balconies which keeps us from enjoying ours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pinked_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Unit# 804 has not been renovated since it was built 30years ago,Rooms were small and the unit was was dirty with a half roll of toilet paper and paper towels not to mention a large bug crawling in the guest bedroom.Dishes and silverware dirty with food on them in drawers and cabinets.we left it cleaner than we got it! Nice View! But?

Room Tip: Do more research on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We rented unit 1202 through Sunshine Resort rentals Dec 22-29,2012. We were lucky to get it last minute and I highly recommend it.
PROS:
Spectacular views of the sunset right from your balcony (all balconies face the gulf)
On the beach with direct access
Nice pool and spa that was not busy so you could get a chair any time (alot of residents in this building and they were away for Christmas)
Updated unit, very clean and nice decor
Big balcony, good sized bedrooms each with an ensuite (walk in closet in master). Living room is a bit small but we lived on the balcony anyway. TVs in each room. There is a phone but we couldn't get it to work.
Well stocked kitchen, every utensil you could ask for
Sunshine resort rentals were very professional to deal with, highly recommend them
CONS
Sensitive fire alarm system. When cooking you must open balcony and front door. If you set off the alarm it is a $500 fine. The alarm went off twice (in other units) during the week that we were there. Building was evacuated, fire department came and quickly gave the all clear. Took about 20 minutes. They were working on the fire alarm as we left so hopefully they are correcting it.
There are restaurants about a 10 minute walk as well as souvenir shops but the main part of town (where starbucks is) is a short drive away. Main part of town is not near the beach so you choose one or the other.
Add on costs drove up the price. $105 cleaning charge, $59 mandatory insurance plus reservation fee and taxes but this is probably the norm.

Room Tip: Irish Pub near Collier and Bald Eagle drive has excellent food. Live band when we were there. Sea ka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife & I stayed in this unit at the end of May 2012; Let me start by stating the Seawinds is a fantastic property. The buildng is right on the beach and close to restuarants and shopping.

All & Holly are thoughtful and caring owners; they met us on our arrival and helped with our luggage. The unit is immaculate and contains everything you need for a week in Marco to include beach chairs and umbrellas. We have been to Marco several times and this was by far the best accommdations we have had.

Being on the 17th floor provides breathtaking views of the the beach, the gulf and most importantly for my wife the sunsets. No need to venture out to enjoy the sunset if you don't want to; just sit on your balcony,

If you plan on visiting Marco Island do yourself a favor; stay in Sea Winds 1705.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy a sunset cocktail try the Sunset Grille in the Apollo building next door. Nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowsprit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in unit #1401. This was our 3'rd year staying in this unit. Every year the unit has been clean and fully stocked with all that we need. Beautiful views. The owner is easy to contact. We are looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
0.1 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#10 of 12 in Marco Island
76 reviews
4.1 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
16 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
591 reviews
1 mi away
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
#2 of 12 in Marco Island
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Winds of Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Winds of Marco

Address: 890 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-6156
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Marco Island
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Winds of Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Winds Of Marco Hotel Marco Island
Sea Winds Of Marco Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing