We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute at Sea Winds 1601!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Winds of Marco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marco Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Winds of Marco
Kansas City
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved every minute at Sea Winds 1601!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Our family just returned from a week's stay at Seawinds, in the southwest corner unit on the 16th floor (really 15th, as there's no 13th). Everything about our stay was fabulous -- the beautiful condo, the incredible view of the ocean and southern tip of the island, the sounds of surf and birds from the balcony, the helpful manager (Pam, who helped us print our boarding passes), the jacuzzi, the Sunset Grille next door with our terrific waiter Mike, the Caxambas park dock around the southern tip of the island where you can stand next to pelicans and watch for manatees and dolphins.... From young to old, everyone in our group had a blast.

The corner unit was spacious, with plenty of room for 4 adults. The other units had wider balconies but weren't as deep. I loved having a complete kitchen and bedrooms you could actually move around in. My friends attending the same conference who stayed at the hotels (Marriott or Hilton) paid more and got less (a room facing the parking lot!) and they also had to pay extra for parking and internet. Sure, they have restaurants and shops, but they're all open to the public.

I met a few of the Sea Winds residents during our week and they were all friendly, asked us where we were from, etc. Maybe it's different in the "high season" but people couldn't have been nicer while we were there. As for the gates, I noticed that most (if not all) of the beach condos have gates that lock access from the beach, so it must be just the way things are. If you want a condo, you're going to have to deal with keys. But you have to keep track of a hotel key, too. It wasn't a problem for us.

I also had considered renting at South Seas (on the north end) because it was in the same price range as Sea Winds, but the other reviewers were right about that lagoon and the LONG walk to the water. SS looks like a beautiful place, but it's situated on a curve at the beach where the sand extends probably half a mile to the water. Standing by the edge of the property, I could not even hear the ocean. And the trek to the water would be tiring if you're carrying children, beach chairs, etc. My husband, who doesn't particularly like the sun or heat, loved the Sea Winds balcony because he could see and hear all the beach sounds, plus do some quality bird and dolphin watching. I also liked that all Sea Winds units directly face the ocean -- none of that curving and angling of the larger buildings so all rooms get a corner view of the ocean if you stand in just the right spot.

My thanks to everyone who shared their experiences at Marco. I had never been before and was incredibly nervous about renting a condo from an individual owner (off VRBO). So glad I chose Sea Winds -- it really was the best vacation ever and I'm old enough to say that with the voice of some experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PopStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Our stay at 505 Seawinds!

Hi all Trip Advisor readers! I wanted to take a few minutes to touch base with you to let you know a bit about Seawinds 505. We travel to Marco Island twice yearly. We started coming down years ago and fell in love with it as we have heard from countless others. We generally travel with our adult children and their spouses so we have stayed in very high-end million dollar homes.
This past October, we travelled once again to Marco (just the 2 of us) and rented Seawinds 505 from Nessa (owner) whom we have come to call friend. We arrived there October 12th to a very warm welcome right from the key pick up location to the wonderful and personable gentleman at the front desk at Seawinds. He was most welcoming and helpful with any questions we had throughout our week stay. One of the things we noticed right away was how proud the building owners were and the high level of upkeep throughout. Never was there anything out of place and it was immaculate. The building and grounds is incredibly well maintained. We could see the pride of the everyday management staff in the upkeep of the building (very impressed). We never saw any cleaning staff all week and yet the place was always spotless. The pool and hot tub were clean at all times as well as outdoor change rooms.
We got to 505 and were absolutely thrilled with the unit. The condo was supremely clean and it had the most incredible view – breathtaking! We spent the week there and really did not venture far because we had everything we needed for a peaceful, beautiful vacation. We did not want for anything and the building was quiet, private and well maintained. Our holiday was undisturbed and perfect. Nessa called mid week to check if we had everything we needed which we appreciated and thought was very nice. – The unit was spotless and fully equipped with a large supply of clean linens and beach gear. The balcony had more furniture than we could use and it was beautiful.
We had bald eagles around for a few days, which kept many of us intrigued.
We were sad to leave at the end of the week and will for sure call on Nessa again in the very near future.
I recommended 505 Seawinds to friends who went down in December and they also had a most amazing time and were thrilled with the condo unit. When they returned they said that the loved the condo, found everyone to be helpful and friendly and really enjoyed the beachfront view. They were happy with the prompt response to their questions from the owners and said they will for sure go back to 505 again!

For anyone wishing to rent unit 505 Seawinds, I HIGHLY recommend it, you will love your stay AND Nessa’s incredibly friendly service is second to none. I have attached a few photos of the view and the condo unit. Enjoy Seawinds 505, we did and will again for many years to come!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmtreeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

Our family booked Seawinds Condo (Unit 304) from Harborview Realty 3 times and found it to be very nice for the price. We had a unit that was newly remodeled the first year we stayed and returned to the same unit again twice. The sunsets are beautiful and the beach is somewhat quieter than other parts. The room (although small, 900 sq. ft) was equipped with everything you need. Short walk to the beach. My only complaint was that the pool is definately not kid friendly. They do not allow any type of floating device in the pool and the elderly residents seemed to stare at the children as if they were going to do something offensive. There are no services at the condo so don't expect a hotel atmosphere. You are on your own. Publix is a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElenaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We booked in May for room 505 for Aug.1 for 1 week. Me, my husband and our 6 yr. old daughter were so excited when we were finally driving there from our home in Orlando.We were going to spend the week on the beautiful Crescent Beach. We were there last year for 1 week and loed it! We stayed at the Eagles Nest. We loved it so much, that we wanted to return. We booked Sea Winds because Eagles wasn't available this time..No big deal. The pics on the computer were beautiful and the owner was nice on the phone, so we didnt suspect anything bad could possibly happen. Well!! After driving 4 hours, we got the key from Prudential, and drove to the condo. As soon as we walked in, we went to the guy at the window to check in. He smelled of ciggarettes, but we over looked it. We noticed one of the 2 elevators in the building was wrapped with caution tape, broken. So we took the stairs instead of waiting forever for the only other one. We opened the door to the condo and were startled by the ammonia like stench. We now had eyes running and nose and throat burning. We knew we couldnt stay. We were looking for the source and found mold all over the bathroom door and the a/c filter was filthy and on the floor.It seemed like the smell came from the a/c, so we shut it. It got so hot, that we opened up the doors to the beach view and had a nice breeze, We went and bought candles and room fresheners hoping it would help. We wanted to leave the next day after we couldnt stand it any longer. The owner apologized and promised us a full refund of $1200. We left, and found another place on the beach that was wonderful, but our vacation was cut short due to the availability of the second condo. Now we recieved an email from the owner of the filthy condo telling us how its all our fault that she paid for a/c inspection and mold inspection and for her maid to come by to smell the apt. By the way, the maid said the smell was so terrible that she felt so bad for us. She actually came in our car with us for the resy of the afternoon to help us find another place. She showed us a few condos, but they werent on the beach and the one that was on the beach was too expensive.We thanked her, and we exchanged #s incase she found anything for us. The owner wrote in her email to us that the maid smelled nothing! She also wrote that the previous renters had no problem. Id like to hear that for myself...If there ever were previous renters there. We dont want anyone to go through this, especially with children, so beware of the room505!We will be suing her for a full refund plus travel expenses that we wouldnt have paid if we never rented from her, plus any other fees that accumilate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DreaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seawinds505, Owner at Sea Winds of Marco, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Our first indication of a concern was a phone call Sunday August 2 from this renter.
-She claimed an odour was coming from the A/C system.
-On calling the renter back we were told by the husband that there was no problem with the unit.
-We sent our house-keeper to the property within 30 minutes.
-She reported no odour other than the vinegar used by the renters to clean the counter-top.
-The A/C had been turned off by the renter and the patio doors were wide open.
-Temperature outside was in the high 90's.

-Our housekeeper had cleaned the unit the previous day and left the A/C at the usual 72 degrees.
-The housekeeper is personally contracted by us for the past 4 years and always cleans our unit personally.
-We immediately contacted the A/C contractor who could not attend until Monday morning.
-On calling back again I spoke to her husband who stated "honestly, theres no problem with the unit".

-We offered to accomodate the family at the Beach Club, directly across the street, until the alleged A/C concern was addressed.
-The renter declined the offer and departed.

-A thorough inspection of the A/C system to conducted the following morning. The technician reported no fault or odours.
-He recommended a precautionary flushing of the system due to shut-down by the renter for 36 hours in such period of heat and humidity.
-This was completed immediately at a cost of $350.00.

-The elevators were totally replaced by Management in August 2009, at short notice. Only one elevator was available at any time that week.
-The renter's comments about the tobacco odour from the security person on duty is no reflection of the management.
-Smoking is not allowed anywhere on the premises.

-We never offered the renter her money back as her claims were groundless.
-We offered alternative accomodation at our own expense for the Sunday night which was declined.

-We have owned and rented this unit for 5 years without a single complaint.
-We have numerous return visitors who always provide very positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

My wife and I just returned from a one-week stay at the Sea Winds. The property is clean and well maintained - we always saw guys cleaning up around the pool / spa area and attending to the grounds. The location is very good on the southern part of the beach. The property does have a lot of locked doors and gates, but this is only a minor annoyance. The views of the beach and sunsets were great for the balcony on our unit. At night the building seemed very quiet, but the cleaning crews in the morning can be a little noisy.

Be aware that the beach itself is not soft sand. It is rather hard-packed and covered with shells. You will need water shoes / sandals to get to the water without hurting your feet. The beach umbrella in our condo had an auger attachment so that it could be drilled down into the sand. Once in the water though, the sand is firm but shell-free. Very relaxing.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Sea Winds. Given the modest rental costs, we felt that it was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

We were happy with the condition of our condo and the cleanliness of the amenities in general. We loved the views from our condo a corner unit that gave you 180 degree views of the gulf and surrounding area. The lanai was large enough to accomodate 8 people with 2 tables and 8 chairs. I was also surprised that the building doesn't have any outdoor grills. I would caution people with children that this area is not particularly kid friendly. Also when leaving I asked the condo office if I could print out boarding passes and was charged $4 for printing 4 sheets, hmmm. All in all even though it is a older building our unit was nicely maintained. I would caution people to question owners when renting if their unit has been recently updated as not all units are equal.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swolfe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

The SeaWinds of Marco is a 17 Story Condominium located on the south part of the Island. This was our first time ever staying at the SeaWinds and I was a bit scared because I was used to staying at some of the newer hotels on Marco rather than on an older condo. All the things I worried about were totally the opposite. This place is so beautifully taken care of. The lobby, the parking lot, the pool, and even the elevators. Everything is well maintained by the Condo - Association. We rented through a company called Charde Rental for one week. We really enjoyed it. We had beautiful views of the ocean from the 15th floor. It's great! If you stay here, you will find it very relaxing.

  • Liked — It's location!
  • Disliked — Marco Island is very quiet and there is not much to do on the island.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Arielitoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marco Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.1 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
2.5 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
#3 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Winds of Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Winds of Marco

Property: Sea Winds of Marco
Address: 890 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-6156
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Marco Island
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Sea Winds Of Marco Hotel Marco Island
Sea Winds Of Marco Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing