We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Turned up on spec out of hours and had a very easy experience of getting a room with an extremely helpful lady. Great place to stay - proper American motel, much nicer than the souless Disneyesque resorts near the centre. The best bit by far is the lovely deck area right on the water where you can sit all day and watch pods of dolphins playing and jumping as they swim up and down the river. Location is excellent - 2 bike rental places within 5 minutes walking distance and plenty of nearby restauarants and cafes. We only intended to stay one night, but ended up staying 3. Wish we had spent longer there than going to Miami, which is a dump.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandralouisecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

When needing accommodations on Marco Island, a friend recommended the Boat House Motel. On his advice, I booked a room for two nights. When I finally arrived after having just driven three days towing a large boat from Michigan, I was pleased to find a charming older 20-room motel located on one of Marco's canals.

The rooms, while located in an "old-Florida" style two story motel building, have been upgraded over the years by the motivated owners, and are quite comfortable. Look, this is no Ritz, but it's like a time-warp oasis that is wrapped in the simple comforts that define the "Old Florida" genre. A great value, well cared for and maintained. I recommend this treasure to anyone wanting to save some money and be charmed all at the same time!

Room Tip: Rooms are all food, but best ones located at the end of the building and have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We found this place online, and decided it was good accomodation for us to experience Marco Island for the first time. It was super friendly and clean and such a lovely position to watch the boats and the dolphins pass by. We really enjoyed our 2 day visit and really didn't want to leave.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Boat House is one of the older properties on Marco Island so it has a charm the newer places are missing. Our room was on the ground floor, just as requested. It was very clean with bedding and interior decoration appropriate to the motels vintage.
Since we are retired on a fixed income price was a concern. The Boat House was far cheaper than other motels on the island. Their pool was not as large as others but it was clean and well maintained. Fishing docks were near to the pool so family members can see each other.
Members of our extended family live on Marco Island so we will book a room at the Boat House for future visits.

Larry & Susie T, Rapid City SD

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room closest to the pool. This room has a private deck with a close view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrainGuy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very nice clean rooms....walls can be a little thin at times if you are a light sleeper. Good Amenities and family run...very friendly. Nice clean pool... Satisfied customer. Good rooms at half the price of other places in Marco Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The owners and their staff were so nice and friendly. The room was clean and it had everything I needed. They made my stay on Marco Island the greatest vacation ever! They were always courteous. They even checked to make sure I always had everything that I needed. I can always tell if a person is genuine or full of it, and the people here were genuine. I really think they honestly cared about me and my stay here! If I am ever asked where the best place to stay on Marco Island is, I will have to say The Boathouse Motel. If needed to know the best entertainment or where the grocery store was, they made sure I found my way. Wonderful and exceptional people. Thank you for giving me the best vacation ever!


Sincerely,
Michael W Deese

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celeste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have been coming to Marco Island for years and have always stayed at a time share. This time, I had only a few days to relax and searched around for a hotel/motel. The Boat House proved to be the most reasonable without giving up the comfort.For a quiet getaway, this is truly the place to stay. It's close to restaurants, shopping and the beach, yet one feels away from it all. The manager and staff are friendly, helpful, yet appreciate one's privacy. The room was clean, the pool delightful and the view, romantic, especially at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#10 of 12 in Marco Island
76 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,679 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
952 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: £124 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing