We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could not ask for a better spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This wonderful little place was perfect for our vacation lodging. It is a good location, located in the older part of San Marco Island and it is within walking distance to some good eateries. We also hit the various everglade nature trails and hot spots in the national, state and local parks within a 5 to 50 mile radius. The motel itself is an older building, but everything is neat and clean and there are nice finishing touches such as being able to use beach chairs, umbrellas and more. Super nice owners that will do just about anything to make sure you are having a good stay. If something is not working to your liking, it is your own fault by not contacting the owners. They are available! We had a microwave and little refrigerator which was very nice. (Also a coffee pot, so pack some coffee, they had filters). Also, good bird watching by the pool area and dock. A very active osprey was there everyday near the motel. Plenty of pelicans hanging out also. Next time I would reserve unit number11. It is located water side with a private balcony. It is more money, but looks like it is worth spending a little more. If you are looking for a swanky, resort feel, this is not the place. It is priced right for budget travelers and was just right with personalized customer service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here with my best friend for 4 days over Christmas '13 (24-27th) and it was an excellent choice. The location is so peaceful and we spent Christmas Day on the deck watching all the different birds and the dolphins swim by. The room was massive (far bigger than we are used to in America) and the bonus of the extra daybed was very welcome so we didn't have to share. The fridge and microwave was handy, as was the dining table and comfortable armchairs!
Overall we had a brilliant time at The Boat House and the owner was so welcoming and helpful, giving us hints and tips about the island (which is quiet and fairly family orientated - exactly what we wanted).
We would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allybear444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a last resort for us, [pun intended]. Travel plans were delayed and we needed a room in Marco Island. We were referred to the Boat House by another motel that was booked. We did not check it on tripadvisor but relied on the referring motel. Our mistake. The room was incredibly dated, from old furnishings to stained and ratty rug. Not clean at all. Refrigerator in the room has a badly rusted door, mold on the bathroom window frame and dust on all the fixtures. A/C sounded like a cement mixer. Finally turned it off so we could get some sleep. At something under $100 a night this all might be bearable but this room cost over $200 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill47533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Please allow me to begin by expressing our appreciation for taking the time to post your thoughts and opinions about our little property. We regret that our accommodations did not meet or exceed your expectations, the comfort and happiness of each and every one of our guests is our top priority. We truly take every word into our hearts and strive to address every concern.

The Boat House Motel was erected in the very early years of Marco Island's existence…granting this little area of the Island its name "Olde Marco". Yes, our property has been here for a long time...withstanding countless tropical storms and hurricanes with the utmost integrity.
Although we are currently in the process of renovating all of our 20 units, we are passionate and proud to maintain the charm and history of what makes this district so quaint and special. Completion of all the rooms will depend on several factors of which we have no control; but please know that we are doing all that these factors will allow to somewhat "modernize" and update the basic decor of the room interiors.

We are the first to admit that our image is a bit nostalgic; in fact, we embrace these characteristics and market our accommodations as such.
Honestly, we agree that our motel definitely does not appeal to everyone...we simply can't provide all the plush and luxurious amenities of the huge corporate high rises with the cookie-cutter rooms nor would we want to.

We are rewarded and encouraged by the number of other reviews posted where our guests expressed how they adored their time here and can't wait to plan a return visit. It's an unfortunate shame that you didn't share those same feelings.

Again, thank you for your comments. Please trust that not only do we take them all into consideration, we actually rely on them to assist us in achieving our goal of each and every guest leaving here feeling that their visit was memorable and special.
Stay safe on all of your future traveling adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We'd stayed at the Boathouse Motel in 2011 and loved it. We returned in early December, 2013 and asked for the same room. What a pleasant surprise to find that they'd upgraded us to even better accommodations, these with a spectacular view of the water. The owners are wonderful people and do everything possible to make your stay memorable. Location in Old Marco can't be beat, great "Old Florida" ambiance plus we could walk to our favorite restaurants in minutes. This is definitely the hidden jewel of Marco Island.

MN

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I booked this motel to join my friends, who had stayed there before. The room was very comfortable and cozy. It had all the bathroom amenities well supplied, plus a fridge, microwave, and large-screen TV and a larger than queen-size bed (with lots of pillows!). Located at the very north end of Marco Island on the passage between Marco and Capri, it was peaceful and provided pleasant views of the passing birds and boats. Three restaurants were within walking distance. The place was not full, so there was no problem with noise. A relaxing place to come back to after a day out. I even got a brief history lesson from the owner when I asked about the age of the building.

Room Tip: Property has motel rooms (2 floors), condos, and a house available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Turned up on spec out of hours and had a very easy experience of getting a room with an extremely helpful lady. Great place to stay - proper American motel, much nicer than the souless Disneyesque resorts near the centre. The best bit by far is the lovely deck area right on the water where you can sit all day and watch pods of dolphins playing and jumping as they swim up and down the river. Location is excellent - 2 bike rental places within 5 minutes walking distance and plenty of nearby restauarants and cafes. We only intended to stay one night, but ended up staying 3. Wish we had spent longer there than going to Miami, which is a dump.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandralouisecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

When needing accommodations on Marco Island, a friend recommended the Boat House Motel. On his advice, I booked a room for two nights. When I finally arrived after having just driven three days towing a large boat from Michigan, I was pleased to find a charming older 20-room motel located on one of Marco's canals.

The rooms, while located in an "old-Florida" style two story motel building, have been upgraded over the years by the motivated owners, and are quite comfortable. Look, this is no Ritz, but it's like a time-warp oasis that is wrapped in the simple comforts that define the "Old Florida" genre. A great value, well cared for and maintained. I recommend this treasure to anyone wanting to save some money and be charmed all at the same time!

Room Tip: Rooms are all food, but best ones located at the end of the building and have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
582 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,644 reviews
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#17 of 59 in Naples
730 reviews
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: £105 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing