We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place and location!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found this motel and it was perfect! We ended up staying an extra night, as it was affordable and had a great location. Room was spacious and comfortable. While it is not a large chain hotel, it had more of a quaint feel, and it had a great view of the channel, with dolphins in front of the deck.Owners and staff were more than happy to help with anything, and made it clear that we could call anytime if needed.Shops and Restaurant within walking distance were a big plus, too. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Let me just express how appreciative we are of your wonderful and courteous review of our Motel. Its guests like you who allow us to improve the quality of our guests stay with us.

We, as a family and locally owned business, strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We are especially pleased to hear that your room was fit to your needs.

Our Motel as a whole is located in such an amazing and friendly neighborhood. Olde Marco is filled with cute little shops and restaurants along with residential areas located throughout and we are so thankful to be apart of a community as close as we are. While being located in Olde Marco we cannot forget about how blessed we are with such an amazing view that we have. The birds and dolphins that come to the dock to play daily are especially exciting and we hope that all of our guests are able to experience such a treat.

We cant wait to see you again and hope your travels are safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    204
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
162
354
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location is very close to shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and perfect for our needs. The King size room was perfect for a couple and small child. It was much cozier than a typical motel room, with a small kitchenette and kitchen table. The deck was beautiful and right on the water. That being said, it really is a place to drop your stuff and go. Don't rely on the motel for any source of entertainment. It's not that type of place. The the patio off the rooms are a cement slab and face a parking lot/street and surrounded by cinder block walls. Not really where one would want to spend any amount of time when on Marco! The pool is small, adequate for a quick dip. There could have been more attention to detail - some accumulated dust on lamp shades, dead flies in overhead lights in bathroom, etc. Overall the room was clean though. We have family in the area so this room gave us our own space to sleep and keep our stuff. If you need anything more than that you may be disappointed. But anything more than that will cost you a good $150/night extra too!
We were pleased overall.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camp1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
First off let us express out appreciation for your wonderful review of our Motel. We do admit that since we are a small locally and family owned motel we cannot provide many sources of entertainment than what nature provides us with off our dock. The dolphins and birds tend to put on a show for our guests rather often. We do not always live up to our guest’s expectations when it comes to the entertainment purposes, but we do take pride in our location and wonderful atmosphere that is Olde Marco. We are not the Marriott in the way that we let our guests go out and experience Marco Island for themselves instead of staying at our motel and relying solely on us for entertainment. If you are willing to pay for entertainment than the Marriott or Hilton is the place for you, however our Motel is based on the individual guest and how we can make their stay more satisfying. It’s our goal to become familiarized with our guests and help them in any way possible.
Our rooms are cleaned by a wonderful group of ladies and we will always stand by them even if they do forget to dust a lamp shade every now and then. We take our guests comments to heart and reflect on them while trying to improve our guest’s stay with us in every aspect possible.

We are very grateful for guests like you that take the time to post such wonderful reviews about our Motel. We hope you come back and stay with us next time you are visiting our wonderful home that is Marco Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed over the Valentine's Day weekend. At first, i was concerned that it was a motel, unlike the big chains at BIG PRICES. The room was quaint and had all the needed amenities. The service and attentiveness was spectacular! Great location at a great price!
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gainfullyunemployed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We would simply like to express our gratitude and appreciation for you taking the time to post such a sweet review about The Boat House Motel.
We sincerely take each and every thought, opinion, suggestion and comment to heart...good and sometimes not so good.
We rely on your feed back to help us make each of our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience.
Thank you so much and we hope you plan to visit us again soon!!
Stay safe and well,
The Boat House Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for 10 days in a ground floor housekeeping motel room....so we had a walled patio out back. Nice and private to enjoy morning coffee and to let the dog sniff the air (dogs allowed in certain grd floor rooms only). Room was huge and comfortable, with sofa, table and chairs, king bed. Kitchenette had full-size frig, coffee maker, toaster oven and microwave - plus dishes & cutlery. Enjoyed local strolls on side walks through mature residential neighbourhoods. The owner is VERY pet friendly - our dog always wanted to stop at the office to say hello. We used the outdoor charcoal BBQ and ate supper on the big deck overlooking the channel - watching the boats go by and the sun set. Loved it - will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
First of let us express how thankful we are that you took the time out of your day to write such a considerate review about our Motel and the community we are located in. We truly are so thankful for being located in the quaint and charming historic Olde Marco.

We are aware that the back patio with the cement wall is not the most appealing view, however we cannot deny that beautiful view from the dock. Being able to enjoy the sunset and the wildlife from the dock is definitely the most captivating view we were blessed with. We hope that you got to experience the dock and our properties lovely location as much as we would have wanted you too!

We cannot deny the fact that some of our guests are not completely satisfied with our rooms, and reading your review makes us even more pleased that you were this content with the amenities provided. We truly take all comments and criticisms about our rooms and its amenities to heart. We use reviews like yours to reflect upon and fix any problems we find need to be fixed. After all, our guests are the most important people to us and we want to make sure that their stay with us is as appealing as possible.

We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We booked one night at the Boathouse motel marco island Wednesday 12 February . We would normally stay at The Lemon Tree Inn Naples but it was full. Our booking was made with Expedia Uk. They charged £179. A figure of 60 to 80 pound would of just about of been acceptable, but £179 for this establishment was OTT.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
First let me express our gratitude and appreciation for you posting your thoughts and concerns about The Boat House Motel. We understand that there may be accommodations in Naples that are less expensive but according to our research we do have the lowest rates on Marco Island, especially during peak season.
Depending on the season we change our rates 4 times a year accordingly. Marco Island is a prime location, having been recently voted the #1 Island in the Country and the #4 Island in the World. This has made it an extremely popular place for tourists. In areas that are seasonal, it is standard that rates are higher in said season. Obviously, our season falls in the winter months January, February, March and that's when the rates all over Marco Island are at their highest while The Boat House Motel's rates are still the lowest on the island.
It's unfortunate that you felt our rates to be too high but if you were to call other Marco accommodations you would have found much higher rates....I believe the Marco Island Marriott charges $400.00 to $600.00 per night this time of year.
Thank you for your comments, we do take them to heart and strive to address each and every one of them.
Happy Traveling, may all of your adventures be safe.
A Long Time Employee of The Boat House Motel
The Boat House Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Pulled into this hotel for a one night stay on Marco Island. It's a gem. Centrally located, great pier in the back and pool area. Staff are wonderful. Prices are right. Here's a tip- enjoy the nearby nightlife without driving. Car services will take you anywhere on the island for six dollars.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
First let me express our gratitude and appreciation for you posting your thoughts and concerns about The Boat House Motel. We understand that there may be accommodations in Naples that are less expensive but according to our research we do have the lowest rates on Marco Island, especially during peak season.
Depending on the season we change our rates 4 times a year accordingly. Marco Island is a prime location, having been recently voted the #1 Island in the Country and the #4 Island in the World. This has made it an extremely popular place for tourists. In areas that are seasonal, it is standard that rates are higher in said season. Obviously, our season falls in the winter months January, February, March and that's when the rates all over Marco Island are at their highest while The Boat House Motel's rates are still the lowest on the island.
It's unfortunate that you felt our rates to be too high but if you were to call other Marco accommodations you would have found much higher rates....I believe the Marco Island Marriott charges $400.00 to $600.00 per night this time of year.
Thank you for your comments, we do take them to heart and strive to address each and every one of them.
Happy Traveling, may all of your adventures be safe.
A Long Time Employee of The Boat House Motel
The Boat House Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We rented one of their condos for our first visit to Marco Island during the first week of February this year and really enjoyed it. The owner was very friendly and helpful, our unit (B1) was very clean, and had a newly renovated bathroom and a well-appointed kitchen. Bathroom had granite counter and sink, and large spa shower. Kitchen has granite countertops and well-working appliances, plenty of cookware and serving ware, utensils enough for 1--4 people. Ice maker in refrigerator works by raising wire arm on side (it was turned off when we arrived).

Sitting on the patio watching dolphins swim by in the mornings, and seeing all the shorebirds and wading birds who live on the wooded peninsula across Collier Bay was very relaxing and a high point of our visit. The proximity to the wooded side of the peninsula and the location right at the mouth of the Bay makes this "on the waterfront" rental seem less crowded (and nearer to local wildlife) than others we vetted that are more inland and located in closer-packed neighborhoods on the Island. Since we're "nature-oriented" travelers, all of the above mattered more than proximity to bars and the beach.

Lots of great dining, bike rentals and Rose Marina (for boat rentals, tours, etc.) are within walking distance. So it's an older place--that's what makes it unique and more laid back than a slick resort, if you're the kind that can appreciate such ambiance.

Room Tip: Condos and rooms facing Collier Bay provide a great view of boats heading into the gulf, the wooded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAnne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We love to hear that our guest are happy with their stay. It is reviews like yours that push us to do our best every single day.

We really take these reviews to heart and use them to improve the experience for each of our guests.

Once again thank you for writing this review and we wish you happy and safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
560 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Property: The Boat House Motel
Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing