We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BOAT HOUSE MOTEL NEEDS SOME IMPROVING” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
503 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“BOAT HOUSE MOTEL NEEDS SOME IMPROVING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This motel needs some improving, I do not know how this motel got its rating with it present standards. Room has coffee pot, but no coffee. I did not sleep really well. Air conditioner was very noisy. No shampoo in shower.



Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank James99946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We would like to express our appreciation to you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are sorry however to hear that it was less than what you expected.

We noticed that your wife had also written a review about our Motel and we noticed that you both had some similar complaints that we feel the need to address on both responses.

We do send each of our guests a confirmation letter in their email if we are provided with one. In your case we were provided with one and we sent an email to you the moment we got your reservation into our system. In our confirmation letter it states:

MISCELLANEOUS:
~we do have video surveillance monitoring the motel for your safety and ours, we keep them on file for 7 days.
~free wifi
~room offers one KING bed
~small refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave
~am/fm alarm clock radio; wake up calls are not available
~coffee grounds, shampoo or similar provisions are not provided
~all rooms are non-smoking. Please smoke outside.
~fishing off of our docks is exclusively for guests
~rates and fees are subject to change without notice

We do inform each and every one of our guests that if there are any problems whatsoever, the owners number is above your nightstand in your room and they should not hesitate to call. The owner, as well as the staff, make it their priority to make sure that the guest is happy with their stay. Sometimes we cannot provide every amenity requested by our guests, but we do strive to meet as much requests as possible, that is if we are informed that there is a request/problem/question/concern in the first place.

We truly wish that you and your wife's stay with us was a more pleasant and regarding our rating on TripAdvisor, we are a Motel that meets most of our guests needs and they know what to expect when they arrive here. We inform all of our guests about our property via email and in some cases, there are pictures of the property, along with the amenities provided on most booking agent websites such as the one you had used to book your room for a very reasonable $100.00 a night, can't beat a deal like that on Marco Island!

In the end however, our number one goal is to make the guest happy. We use all of our reviews, the good, bad, and ugly, to reflect on our service and improve upon it. We hope you understand that if there were any problems and we were informed about them, we would have done all in our power to fix the situation.

We hope that you understand and we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    197
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
157
343
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The A/C was loud, on low, and kept me up all night. Bring your own blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, coffee, tea, creamer and sugar. Microwave, fridge and coffee pot provided. Our coffee pot was full of a former guests used coffee grounds. Silverware provided but no dish soap? Hand soap was small and cheap. One chair in the room- our room would sleep four. There was a high top table in the room with four (hard) wooden chairs, for watching T. V. - everyone could pile on the bed for comfort. The place is old, but quaint. Charges for calling room to room, etc. Clock had the incorrect time on it. No elevator and squeeze in and out of your parking spot. I picked up a candy wrapper under the T.V. Center and string between the bed and nightstand. No blanket on the bed-sheets were thin and old. A hand towel smelled like a man's aftershave on one end of it and the other end didn't smell...Nice view when you are out near the water, our view was of the street and parking lot.

Room Tip: We always look at Trip Advisor reviews-this time we were mislead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Wow. This is quite a review. Please allow us to address some of the issues you had while staying at The Boat House Motel:
The Boat House Motel is “quaint” to say the least! Our current building is in the Historic District of Olde Marco. Yes, the building is old, no elevator (two story building), no central air. However, each guest is told at check in that they should not spend one uncomfortable moment at The Boat House Motel. The owner’s name and home phone number are posted above the nightstand in each room for instances such as noisy air conditioners.
Our parking lot was designed in the 80’s before the popularity of oversized SUVs and trucks, so parking is a challenge if those types of vehicles are in the lot. (The night you stayed with us, we were at maximum capacity!)
Our rooms are designed to be clean, comfortable places to sleep. We find that most of our guests prefer to be outside, enjoying the natural beauty of Marco Island to sitting in their rooms watching TV, so you will not find big comfy tv watching chairs at The Boat House Motel. What you will find is plenty of outdoor deck space, a pool, lounge chairs, umbrellas, BBQ grills, and an unobstructed view of the Marco River as it flows from the Gulf of Mexico.

Our housekeeping staff has been with us for years, and while it is unusual for our girls to overlook something so obvious as old coffee grounds and candy wrappers, we apologize to you and have spoken to the staff involved in the preparation of your room. Note on the clock- It is storm season here in SWFL and unfortunately the electricity flickers a bit from time to time, causing the clocks to display the incorrect time. Not an oversight on our part, but Mother Nature asserting her dominance.

What really surprised us about your review though, is the part about “Bring your own blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, coffee, tea, creamer and sugar.” After a quick records check in the Motel computer, we found that you had been send our standard email confirmation on June 12, and had opened the document June 16. In this document, the dates, rates, and AMMENITIES are listed to help you plan for your stay at The Boat House Motel. An excerpt the letter you received from our motel:

MISCELLANEOUS:
~we do have video surveillance monitoring the motel for your safety and ours, we keep them on file for 7 days.
~free wifi
~room offers one KING bed
~small refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave
~am/fm alarm clock radio; wake up calls are not available
~coffee grounds, shampoo or similar provisions are not provided
~all rooms are non-smoking. Please smoke outside.
~fishing off of our docks is exclusively for guests
~rates and fees are subject to change without notice


Thank you for taking the time to write down you sincere thoughts and impressions of The Boat House Motel. It is reviews like this one that give us the chance to reevaluate the service we are providing. We hope that everyone that reads your review can recognize that we are small potatoes on an island filled with the big guys (Marriott, Hilton, etc). We continue to exist here by being truthful with our guests and with ourselves about what type of place we have here. It is old, it is quaint, and it is well loved by the family who owns and runs it.

Again, thank you for your time, and we wish you a future full of safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our daughter and her fiance have been many times so we followed them for a quick stay. Rooms were clean, very nicely decorated and spacious. Felt very homey and comfortable. Rooms are all decorated differently. Shower pressure was awesome! Large, private patio right off the room. The deck and pier area down by the pool and water was very relaxing. We caught many different kinds of fish right off the pier there. Saw several dolphins swimming past the docks. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food, beach, movies, etc are all just a few min.drive away. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugiehead442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
First off thank you for taking the time to write such lovely review about our motel. We take every word to heart and use reviews from our guests to reflect upon our service and what we can do better. Our guests are the top priority to us and we love when our guests were satisfied with their stay.

We are glad you decided to join your daughter this time around and we hope you decide to join us again. We would love to see you again!

Until next time we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent one night at the Boathouse Motel. The patio is the perfect place to watch the sunset. We even saw a dolphin swimming by. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are cozy and there is free parking available closeby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x_Celestina_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
First off let us express our appreciation for you taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our motel. We take every word written about our motel to heart. We use reviews like yours to improve on the guests experience while staying with us.

We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy the lovely sunsets and the dolphins playing by the dock. We hope you enjoyed everything about your stay with us that there were no problems.

We hope to seed you again soon and until next time we wish you happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We checked in last minute, the owner was very nice and helpful. Let us see the rooms before we paid. The motel is clean and updated, although the motel itself is quite old, it is quaint. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
First off thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our little Motel. Although our Motel is an older building it is part of historic Olde Marco and in the bigger picture Old Florida, in one sense our motel is a gem! We take pride in the roots of which our Motel was erected from and we love the history and age behind it!

We would love to see you again and until next time we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I have been staying at the boat house motel for 24 years now my children are grown-up and my husband and I get to go by ourselves we enjoy the our morning coffee on the dock and evening refreshment watching the dolphins swim buy the owners just remodeled the rooms and keep the place immaculate can't say enough about it love it and will return again soon. Wonderful place for families and couples who just want time away..

Room Tip: Cant go wrong with any room stayed in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
First off thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our property! We truly appreciate loyal guests who return time after time throughout the years. Guests like you allow us to make improvements on our accommodations and also allow us to make sure the changes we make impact the guests who stay with us in a positive way.

We hope that you return time after time throughout the years the years to come. We love seeing our guests who always chose to stay with us while vacationing on Marco Island!

We hope to see you soon and until next time, we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had the good fortune of finding The Boat House Motel on Marco Island, FL recently. In need of a boat accessible, pet friendly, reasonably priced place on short notice, I stumbled upon a gem in The Boat House. Clean, roomy and comfortable only begins to describe my room there and an extremely helpful staff made what began as an impromptu stop, a great time for me and my party. Close by are shops and restaurants, but still very quiet and private for those wishing to not be disturbed. Located in Olde Marco, this place is fantastic, and special thanks to Claudine who made it all possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
First off we are so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant say with us! We love it when our guests are as happy as you were with our accommodations and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our property.

The reviews our guests write about our motel allow us to reflect and improve the quality of their time spent with us. We take every word to heart and use it make sure all of our guests are as happy as you were. Our housekeepers are the hardest workers we know and they never disappoint with the cleanliness of the rooms!

We are especially proud to be located in such a wonderful and alive yet peaceful neighborhood. Olde Marco is truly a prime location to spend time relaxing in.

Claudine is one of those employees who work so hard to make the customer happy as can be and we will make sure that she knows our guests appreciate her.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about not only your stay at our motel but the people and staff who helped to make it that way!

Until next time, we wish you safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Property: The Boat House Motel
Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing