We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME TOUR!!!”

Island Gypsy Excursions
Ranked #29 of 85 Tours in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Gypsy Excursions offer their guests a chance to see and explore the natural beauty of Southwest Florida’s Ten Thousand Islands mangrove ecosystem. Enjoy the wildlife in this pristine estuary, aboard our 24’ shallow draft boat, as we meander through the mangrove lined passages where the Calusa Indians and early Florida pioneers once settled. Walk along the barrier islands riddled with seashells, washed ashore along the sandy beaches. Come aboard our boat for an ecological and historical tour - a memorable adventure for the whole family! Relax and experience the essence of old Florida. Thank you for visiting our site.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“AWESOME TOUR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nancy and Martin are wonderful tour guides! My family and I had a blast with them as they took us through the 10,000 Islands and Cape Romano. It was an excellent tour. Nancy is very knowledgeable about the area, the wildlife, and it's history as well. It was very interesting to learn about the history of the islands and it is a very beautiful place! The boat ride was very nice and we saw dolphins as well as sea turtles and a manatee. We also saw the dome houses on Cape Romano which was nice to see. Also, if you like collecting shells there were plenty of beautiful shells to collect on some of the islands that we toured. I definitely look forward to another tour in the near future!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haneef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best tour ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband surprised me with this wonderful trip for our 34th wedding anniversary. I was so excited through the whole trip!! Nancy & Martin are wonderful & kind. Very on top of all topics from plants, animals & shells. I hated for our trip to end. We will be back soon, excited about another adventure!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring florida
1 review
“Must do if visiting Marco Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I took a tour with Nancy on Sunday and it was awesome. Nancy's background in marine biology was very apparent from the beginning of our trip. We learned so much about the area and the Eco systems in the 10,000 islands. We stopped at Panther Key and walked the beach for shells and yes she knew all the different species of shells. Delightful trip and we left feeling that we had made new friends with her and Martin. Thanks to the both of you so much for the experience and we will certainly be back for another excursion soon. Thanks for the anniversary gift.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dome Houses and Ten Thousand Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was our first time out with Island Gypsy Excursions. Nancy, the owner, is a marine biologist who worked for the State of Florida in the Ten Thousand Islands Area and has a thorough knowledge of the the plants, shells and animals inhabiting this area. She also has a wealth knowledge of all of the points of interest and the history of both the Marco area and the ten thousand islands area. She leaves from the Goodland boat launch where the parking is plentiful and the facilities are excellent. We started the trip by visiting a small cove in the Marco River where she had spotted a small flock of Roseate Spoonbills gathered, a very rare sight. Then to the Cape Romano to view the dome houses, recently labeled the third most attractive spoils in the world. Enroute, we saw Dolphins, Ospreys, Skimmers and Least Terns. On our return trip, we encountered numerous sea turtles. Nancy explained that they were swimming in large numbers because mating season is here and they will soon lay eggs. Nancy is great to work with and she will customize her tours to your interests. Her boat seats 6 passengers for a personalized experience. You couldn't ask for a more entertaining and informative experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“You couldn't ask for a better experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is our second time out with Island Gypsy Excursions. Nancy, the owner has an abundance of knowledge about the 10,000 islands, especially since she use to work for the State and had tagged and identified many of the species of flora and wildlife that we saw. Each time we were out we saw so many different things. Today the sea turtles were swimming, as mating season is here and they will soon lay eggs. We saw 2 types. She will stop and circle around for everyone to see. We saw dolphins and looked for manatees. We went up the Marco River to see some Roseate Spoonbills that they had spotted. She leaves from the Goodland launch which is very easy to board, the parking is good, and facilities great. All of her tours are completely customized to what you want, and her boat seats 6, which is a nice tour size. As I said, you couldn't ask for a better experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank claylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Gypsy Excursions also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Gypsy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing