We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG ride from hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Express - Marco Island

Key West Express - Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG ride from hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Took the boat on Monday March 17th. I have a very strong stomach and was not sick - JUST!! it was shocking. Nobody's fault of course, boat clean and crew friendly but if you have any kind of stomach weakness, avoid. Most people were extremely sick

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank BelmontLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express - Marco Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
In fair weather conditions the ride is extremely smooth however when winds are high, just like any other form of transportation turbulence may occur which can affect those sensitive to motion. It is always wise to pay attention to weather forecast's prior to travel. If people who suspect they may be prone, there are precautions that can be taken. We are proud of our clean vessels and friendly crew and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    42
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the trip to Key West.
The crew were pleasant. The ship clean and fast.
If you have sea legs enjoy the ride.
On the right day the sunset on return would be spectacular.

Helpful?
2 Thank Crctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express - Marco Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
The sunset is ordinarily amazing. Many like to view and photograph it from the top deck. We agree, the vessels are fast and clean and the crew great! Thank you for saying so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Sea Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took the Key West Express from Marco to Key West and returned the next day. This gave us a day and a half to see the sights. The trip down was an experience only if you like riding the high seas. The boat wasn't crowded but a weather front had come through and the sea was quite choppy. A number of people got sea sick. The crew was quite helpful and worked to prevent the problem becoming objectionable to the rest of the travelers. The afternoon trip back departing at 5 Pm and arrived at Marco at sunset at 8 PM, it was delightful. Cruising along at 35 miles and hour and enjoying a drink and watching the sun sinking in the west with a fresh breeze in your face was a good time.
The boat is well equipped with facilites and a large food bar. The crew was helpful and attentive through out both voyages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mengerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express - Marco Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your travel with us. We appreciate you talking the time to review. So sorry that your trip down was bumpy, on occasion Mother Nature can be uncooperative! It is always good to watch the weather. On windy days those sensitive to motion may be wish to take a precaution. Year round our guests enjoy seeing and photographing amazing sunsets from our vessels. We hope that you will sail with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great way to get to Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice ride to Key West on a very comforable boat. Not exactly economical for short advance tickets, so buy at least eight days ahead. If your on the west coast of Florida THIS IS the way to go to Key West

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rough ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ride from hell on March 18. They did warn us it would be rough.
OMG. Dramamine helped for about an hour. I had to keep my eyes closed the entire ride we were rocking so much.

The ride home was just great. Smooth and the sunset was lovely.
Staff on both legs of the trip were friendly and professional.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderingGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express - Marco Island, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Under ordinary circumstances the ride is very smooth, as you experienced on the return portion of your journey. We regret that your trip to Key West was bumpy, but thank you for acknowledging our friendly and professional staff and crew. Most of the time we are blessed with year round good weather here in southwest Florida, however there are times when Mother Nature is unpredictable, therefore taking a precaution can be advisable. We appreciate you taking the time to review and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you aboard again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Express - Marco Island also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express - Marco Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing