We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, Great staff”

Kretch's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #57 of 121 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated since 1986, Kretch's has been a local landmark for over two decades. Our family-friendly restaurant offers the finest in fresh seafood and prime meats at budget conscious prices. Every dish receives special attention from Owner/Chef Bruce Kretschmer.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great staff”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the meal, whether it was the fish or the ribs. The wait staff could not have been more helpful. A definite must if you are on Marco Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank miltraveler5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    87
    32
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, and gluten-free friendly”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The biggest thing I want to share about this restaurant is that they have a great gluten-free menu and the servers and kitchen clearly had training about food allergies. They did a great job accommodating my son and me, who have celiac disease.

The food is very good. They have a pretty good wine list. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about gluten issues.

For me the only big area for improvement is that the interior is kind of a boring and the atmosphere somewhat blah. (They try, with fishing rods on the walls, etc.) But that's minor and if we go to Marco Island again we'll definitely make another stop at Kretch's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RainedOnInRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quality not as good as in past years”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When we first started goint to Marco Island many years ago, Kretch's was always the first place we visited for dinner. Unfortunately, in the past few years, we feel the quality of the food has deteriorated. It isn't bad -- it just isn't what it used to be. Went for lunch this year. Service was good. Waitress was very attentive to my fish allergy. We both had grouper sandwiches and they were just average.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RHG0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Park, Illinois
1 review
“Best on the island”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Service is fast and the food is above par and prices are average Hate to give a really good review, don't want to ruin a good thing. Place is clean and staff is friendly. Eat there once and you will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicago4370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Love this place. Have never had a bad meal. Prices are quite good for the area. The seafood strudel is wonderful and very rich. My fish was excellent, quite fresh and cooked to perfection.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kretch's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kretch's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing