We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Scrumptious Slice of Paradise on Marco”
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Scrumptious Slice of Paradise on Marco”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

On our last night on Marco Island, we decided to try a little restaurant that we had never been to before. I'm so happy that we did! From the friendly staff to the dinner presentation, we were extremely happy with every aspect of the Island Cafe. Do not overlook this little hidden gem on the island! You will thoroughly enjoy it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    45
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Goodfood and service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Food is very good and service is excellent. We ate here two times during and were very satisfied both times.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fllyover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated, Poor Service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Food was ok, although I had much better Grouper at two other restaurants. It took forever to get the check, and then the staff unable to do a split to multiple credit cards in a timely fashion (we ended up having one of us pick up the check while we reimbursed him). Service generally slow and not particularly attentive. You can do better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was very good, but better restaurants to choose from!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

To keep it simple, the food is very good to excellent. However, the menu is limited, and in my opinion the prices are more than most comparable restaurants. The house salad was a disappointment with way too much iceberg in the mix and heavy dressing. It's not hard to make a good house salad. The cuisine is French, so please know that the portions are small. The shrimp and scallop dish was very good. I did have a really hard time finding the capers and almonds that accompanied it making the dish a bit understated. My husband enjoyed his duck.
The service was average and nothing out of the ordinary. Our bill was the most expensive out of the 5 restaurants we dined at during our time in Marco. We had room for dessert that night and went elsewhere. Although we enjoyed our meal, we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bflo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“There are better choices”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this restaurant, but after attending Verdi's, Marek's, and Fin Bistro it was a disappointment. The staff was nice, but the atmosphere and food quality IMO was not on the same level as the other restaurants. However, there did seem to be a lot of locals from the island that dine here. Therefore, maybe I am being too critical.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ldkjr516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing