We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a pass” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konrad's Tropical Grille - CLOSED

Konrad's Tropical Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$31
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Konrads Tropical Grille has a warm and welcoming atmosphere with a casual, tropical flare. Konrad is always at the door to personally greet his guests and to assure every meal is prepared to their satisfaction. His staff is friendly and attentive without being overbearing. His menu is reasonably priced and affordable for the entire family. Enjoy outdoor seating on the tropical patio. Visit Konrads for Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00pm nightly in the lounge or order from his Early Bird selections from 5:00 to 6:00pm in the dining room. A variety of other delicious American and German dishes are offered as specials on each night of the week as well. Don't see something on the menu? Don't be afraid to ask Konrad if he can prepare a custom order! If he has the ingredients, he is happy to prepare it!
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Take a pass”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing will wow you
Service and food very average
Lots better to spend money on!
Lobster salad--$20.00-- don't think it was fresh lobster!
Shrimp appetizer-- 4?

They need to rethink the menu!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    51
    21
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago burbs
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood, German food & service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had a wonderful dinner at Konrad's. The service was ideal. Our gentleman server did a fantastic job with our large group! My grouper was phenomenal. Konrad, the owner, is very particular about his fish is being fresh. My sister & I shared her Sauerbraten & it was excellent too. They serve a great side salad & others at our table enjoyed their Lobster Bisque soup. Konrad usually is visible on the floor & makes it a point to visit each table to make sure everyone enjoyed their meals. I really like the decor & new location. Parking is very easy here too. You can also hit the souvenir shop next door after dinner if you choose.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
238 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food is very good, atmosphere average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently tried Konrad's new restaurant and were underwhelmed by the atmosphere. It's fine, but there is no water view...really no view at all. The bar is quite attractive, but you are never able to forget that it's in a strip mall.

We had very nice salads to start. My husband enjoyed his prime rib dinner. I had the Shrimp Ocho Rios, which was very good.

We had very good service and Konrad came around to greet everyone. The food makes up for the lack of charm in the atmosphere, so I still recommend Konrad's.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“New location -- same great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We ate at Konrad's twice on our visit to Marco Island. The duck was outstanding. All of our meals were very good. Service was ok the first time; we had Debbie as out waitress the second time and she was very solicitious. We do miss the salad bar from the old location, but know that the size of the current restaurant can't support it. The only other negative was that there was a single rose on each table, and many of them were dead. Either replace them regularly or don't have them. However, the food made up for this minor flaw. We will return the next time we are back on Marco.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RHG0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The NEW Konrad's ROCKS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

First time trying out the new location of Konrad's in the old Toucan's location. They did a great job on redesigning the seating arrangements that brings this restaurant back to life! Service was fast and the food was 4 stars! Konrad was walking around meeting greeting made us feel very welcome. A very nice transition from the old Konrad's. If you are staying at the Hilton or Marriott its worth the short walk across the street and get a lot more bang for you buck verses the hotel prices. Check this one out for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirk g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konrad's Tropical Grille also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing