We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar resort, stellar views, stellar beach!!! Oh, did I mention stellar?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surf Club of Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Surf Club of Marco
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stellar resort, stellar views, stellar beach!!! Oh, did I mention stellar?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stellar doesn't even begin to describe this awesome vacation. My wife and I were joined by children and grandchildren for a stellar vacation. From the 8 month old to the grandparents, we all had a wonderful experience at the Surf Club. The little ones enjoyed the pool, the beach, the dolphins, the spacious room. The adults had fun as well. The Surf Club is quiet and relaxing, the staff are top notch and friendly. My only complaint is that we had to leave after one week, wish we had stayed. Don't come here if you are expecting the Taj Mahal, that's not what the Surf Club is about. The ugly pink 70's style building is just a facade for a relaxing vacation with no frills...."just the way I like it". A great choice for a family vacation. Marco Island is a secret, so don't tell anyone and spoil this SW Florida treasure.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NC27012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We traded our week from our home resort on Captiva Island for a week at the Surf Club through RCI. We were not disappointed. The resort was easy to get to from Ft. Myers airport. The resort itself is smaller than some of the other properties nearby. We liked this because it was much more private. It didn't feel over crowded like some resorts. Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had lunch across the street at the little plaza that had several restaurants and shops. This proved to be very convenient for dinner on several occasions. We ate at DaVinci's for dinner twice and enjoyed it very much. You are able to walk to the plaza which is great. Our room was an ocean front room with amazing views. The room looked like it had been updated not to long ago. The room was clean and the kitchen was completely stocked with what looked like new dishes and pots and pans. The balcony had enough chairs for all of us to hang outside and watch the sunset. Both bedrooms did have tv's not that we ever really used them. We did not have maid service but they did a towel swap in the middle of the week. There is a washer/dryer on the floor. I thought that should have been complimentary but they charged $1.25 for per load. Not really a big deal though. It is very easy to get to the beach. The access path is right in front of the resort. There are chairs and umbrellas that are available for rent, which we did because it was extremely hot. I did see some people who had brought their own chairs and umbrellas., but most people rented. Again, I thought the chairs should be complimentary also. My boys used the tennis courts everyday. They were very well maintained and there was never a problem getting a court. There were also 2 shuffleboard lanes that we used on several occasions. We were told that it was off season when we were there so the restaurants were not that crowded. We tried several different ones. DaVinci's and Arturo's were our favorites, but we also liked Pelican Bend on the Isle of Capri. We went fishing one day which was a blast. Our captain was Bubby Hail, Florida's Finest Fishing Native Guide. We caught a ton of fish and we were able to take it back to be cooked at one of the local restaurants. We went to the Snook Inn that night. Our snapper and mackerel were fantastic! We would definitely go back to The Surf Club!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ne14Baskets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Easy access to one of the best beaches on the planet! Our condo was Gulf front with a georgous view and ocean breezes. We could see a few miles of beaches to our right and left. Coming over the bridge to "our " island we fell in love immediately, and were not disappointed upon our arrival to The Surf Club. There are luxury accomodations around Marco Island that are certainly more sophisticated (and expensive) but we enjoy the small quaint resort for its charm and above all its location. The grounds are beautiful with a palm tree lined entrance that we saw people photographing on a couple of occaisions. We were surprised to find clay tennis courts and a large uncrowded pool area. Our condo was a two bedroom, two bath and was clean and airy. We found we had wireless internet access in the room and three televisions, but we didnt stay in the room much. There are restuarants, and a comedy club within walking distance and even a movie theater where you can enjoy dinner. The Everglades National Park encompasses a huge area directly south and east of Marco Island. There are any number of boat tours and airboat tours. We could watch the parasailing all day from our balcony. We enjoyed the sunny beach during the daytime and the smell of suntan lotion, evenings out for elegant dinners switching to perfume and aftershave to give our toasted skin a rest! We really had the time of our lives but didnt break the bank!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank surfmarcoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

What beautiful sunsets...and enjoyed from a perfectly comfortable condo unit! Stayed in a corner unit, 6th floor with a great balcony extending from the living room (wrap-around) to the other side in the bedroom. All we needed was provided for in the room, except for the laundry. You have to go to the hallway for that (oops).
This resort has a wonderful beach location...you can run 1 mile south to where the rocky edge begins, come back and go north about 2 miles to another cut-off of the beach. At night you can walk to any number of other famous resorts/hotels for evening fun...this is not a "rocking" town, but fun is definitely there. And please, give up the TV for a week!! There's plenty of shopping, restaurants, bars, gyms, water sports/activities, and then Naples is only 20 minutes away for additional explorations.
This place is normally pretty peaceful, except during Spring break weeks, but not too bad then, either. And it's definitely not Panama City Beach!!
Hubby couldn't come, so 2 girlfriends were more than happy to fill in for him.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Surf Club was a trade through Interval International for us.

We had a two bedroom unit. It was filthy. There was mold in the bathrooms, cracked and aged tiles, the carpet smelled, and the halls were dark, musty, and smelled of trash.

The staff was not receptive and we were highly disappointed. We trade timeshares quite a bit and this was a first and only negative experience for a resort.

The Eagle's Nest down the street was a better and nicer resort also maintained by Hilton. We have stayed here four times now.

We have since returned because the island is great. Three supermarkets nearby, awesome beach, warm water without huge waves so the kids can play, nice and inexpensive restaurants. We have a made a tradition of the Snook Inn, my son loves the giant pickles in the barrel at the buffet.

Goto Marco you won't regret it, stay away from the Surf Club, minus the location the place stinks...literally.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fla
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

I am extremely picky, and was so pleased with this resort. But it is difficult to describe all the niceties this resort offers. But one of the things that stood out the most was the friendliness of staff and guests alike Some of those guests have been going there for 26 years! The room was all we could hope for ad immaculately clean, which is a must for a finicky nurse! The pool and hot tube, as well as the large private balcony made our stay feel like a high class home away from home. The resort was decorated very tastefully and they maintain it wonderfully. There is a private beach access with water sports within a short walk. The beach is kept as immaculately clean as the resort. There are several very good restaurants across the street and some shops. A 7-11 is nearby as well. We were supplied with thick beach towels to take to the beach and when the staff heard that we had rented a pontoon boat they offered us folding chairs to bring with us. We will be sure to return again, next time with family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terraiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Overall trip was great. Great location , right on the beach and wonderful sunsets!
Very laid back, but lots of restaurants around. This is my second stay in Marco. First time, at Charter Club, also another Hilton accessed property. Charter Club and Surf Club very similar, except that Charter Club has TV's in 2nd bedroom. Let's face it, not
everyone has children and if you have two adults in the twin bedroom you need a TV!
Also, there is no internet access from units, you must go down to the lobby. Not really
an issue for me. In addition, there are no washer and dryer in the unit, but one set on
each floor.

Would I go back? Absolutely!!



\

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lippicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marco Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.5 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
1.9 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
#3 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Club of Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Club of Marco

Property: The Surf Club of Marco
Address: 540 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-5503
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Club of Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Surf Club of Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Club Hotel Marco Island
Surf Hotel Marco Island
The Surf Club Of Marco Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing