We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude service and rushed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Beijing Palace

Beijing Palace
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Ashtead
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rude service and rushed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I came here with my son who was very excited about eating out (he's 9)
We walked in the door and waited to be seated or even acknowledged for about 6-7 minutes, once the waitress came she just pointed at a table and went to take another order, we sat but were not offered drinks or given menus and the table still had the left overs from the previous customers.
Granted they were busy but in my opinion they should either have more staff working or at least explain that they will be some time getting to you.
I have been back once since with a work colleague and the food was good but the service still needs to be better and more attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spaceman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food and lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a lovely, cosy little restaurant run by a husband and wife team - you almost feel as if you are eating in their home! They also have a thriving take-away service (they don't deliver). Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v8jns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Ashtead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great food, very friendly staff. We've been going here for years and wouldn't go anywhere else for a Chinese meal. Not just the best in Ashtead, the best for miles around

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

One of the best Chinese restaurants around, great service, cozy restaurant but very friendly, very impress with the menu good choice and very tasty too

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iza320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Decided to try the restaurant after a positive take away experience. On collecting the take away we found the welcome warm and the food was very nice.

We went on a busy Friday night with no booking. Despite being full, we were asked to come back in 45 minutes and when we did, our table was ready. It's not the biggest restaurant and first impressions are that it is a little cramped. But this is all part of the appeal. With only two servers, service is a little slow but because you feel like you're in the host's own home, the atmosphere is conducive to good conversation and the time whizzes by.

Once our order was taken, the food came quickly and was delicious and decent value. Quality and portion size are well above average and the five star hygiene award bodes well. It's a little chaotic on a busy night, but in a good way. You don't mind shuffling around as people move about, the feeling is like a bit of a party.

I've not been to a Chinese restaurant for a long time, but will certainly return here soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beijing Palace also viewed

 
Banstead, Surrey
 

Been to Beijing Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing