We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florida caverns”

Florida Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cave complete with rock formations and bats.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Florida caverns”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great camp site was really cold when we were there inOctober. The caverns were amazing and the guide was great. Don't forget a sweater. The bathrooms were warm and clean. There was a children's festival going on while were there, lots of things for the todo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VisaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    199
    23
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot in Florida”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

By far my favorite spot in Florida to go camping. It has 3 tent only spots off a bit from the RV sites, so if you happen to be the only people there, it's secluded and feels like your own private site, away from the hustle and bustle of the families in the main camp area. There's also 3 sites by the tent only sites prepped for those who have horses, complete with a corral and horse trail nearby. The horse trail doubles as a hiking trail and there are 2 more hiking trails located in the park, one by the campsites, the other by the visitor center. At the visitor center you can rent canoes, get snacks, souvenirs, and basic supplies, and of course, buy tickets for the main attraction, the Cavern. The Cavern is by guided tour only and well worth it. There are multiple other caverns around the park, some you've got to scavenge for, but all are fenced off to help protect the endangered Brown Bat population that roosts there. Definitely well worth a stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great side stop”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great, interesting and fun experience! The tour was fun for our entire family. The guide was knowledgeable and our boys enjoyed it as well. We then hiked around the park which was also enjoyable!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Florida Caverns State Park”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Interesting day trip and quite unusual seeing a cave and it's formations in Florida. Food and refreshments are available and the tour is guided. The only thing I suggest is make sure there are no ticks on you before you get in your car afterward.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank freddombski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very quiet and tranquil. I have nothing negative to say. I love this park and will stay here over and over. It is small maybe 30 or so spots, but it's beautiful. The caverns are great..a must see. If you love nature or bird watching this is the place for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marde31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Caverns State Park also viewed

 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing