We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the living room directly over the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the living room directly over the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
view from the living room directly over the water
twin beds
king size bed
cook while watching the wildlife on the estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
samdick
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is a perfect place for a relaxing break. It is small, comfortable, well equipped and has beautiful views. The cottage itself is a 'river shack' in that it isn't a brick built cottage, but it felt incredibly comfortable. It felt rustic enough to feel different but not too rustic. It has a good TV and is incredibly well decorated.

Being on a tidal estuary that runs West-East means that the scenery is constantly changing with beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the water. There is wildlife (swans, herons and other birds) going past, with infrequent boats, kayaks, water skiers and windsurfers to grab your attention but far enough away to not feel on view. Beautiful walks are to be had from the backdoor across fields too.

I don't have any downsides really except that the shower is a hand held one but it just meant I had deep baths most days.

It wasn't a problem for us but it isn't on a road so you will have to carry your luggage up and down steps, through gates and across 'fields'. Pack light essentially. It might also not be good for those who cant walk very well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thanks for that lovely review Sam, so glad you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushetto
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A special holiday let in the most beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have absolutely loved our week at the Rivershack. This holiday rental is such a special place. Beautifully renovated by its owners, it is both stylish and cosy and very well equipped for a family stay. There is nothing more relaxing than watching the waves lap against the side of the cottage at high tide, all with the beautiful green hills in the background.

There is so much to do in the neighbouring towns and villages. We have had great days out in Teignmouth, Shaldon, Dartmouth and Salcombe, Devon's beaches are wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenic location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Im really glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlebet...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend this riverside house. It's unusual setting right next to the water creates an immediate sense of holiday and relaxation. Being off the beaten track, there was a far way to carry our luggage. Peaceful and traffic-less, it is perfect for quiet rest, but there is no feeling of isolation due to the delightful activity on the estuary. We watched fishermen, cocklers, canoeists, paddle boarders, hikers, dog walkers, swimmers, jet skiers, sailors and rowing boats, but at no point did it feel either too busy or overlooked. By evening the activity would come to an end and we'd be left with beautiful sunsets and fantastic birdwatching opportunities. The house has been equipped in a thoughtful, generous and comfortable way and we felt instantly at home. We were lucky to have beautiful sunshine, but even in the most rotten weather this would be a wonderful place to be; the view is endlessly captivating.

Our host Judy, was warm, friendly, welcoming and made us feel very at ease. She was attentive without being intrusive.

The countryside is beautiful, and there is a lot to explore and enjoy. Without straying far at all, Shaldon and Teignmouth are fun, lively and interesting places to be. We felt very spoiled to have found such a gem of a place and are, without question, keen to go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you Elizabeth, Hilary and James for such a lovely review. being my very first guests it means an awful lot to me that you had such a good time. I look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing