We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional place for family gatherings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Home House

A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Home House from the garden Heated swimming pool all year round
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Home House from the garden
Heated swimming pool all year round
Swimming pool
Large kitchen table for family and friends
Cosy up to the Aga!
Sitting room with log burner for those cool winter days
Plenty of seating for everyone
Catch up with a movie in the film room
Alternative sitting room
Visit Home House at a special time of year
Game of pool anyone?
A landing with a difference!
Master bedroom with stained glass window
Master bedroom en-suite
Downstairs double
Downstairs double en-suite with walk in shower
Double bedroom
En-suite shower room to double bedroom
Double bedroom
En-suite to double bedroom
Twin bedroom with en-suite loo and wash basin
Twin bedroom (next to master bedroom)
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Summer house
Cream tea anyone?
Sun room
View of the garden from the summer house
View to the estuary from the village
Local coastline
Local walk along the estuary
Boating fun
Coombe Cellars - a favourite destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stellache...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional place for family gatherings”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed at Home House during the Easter holidays with extended family members, ranging from 9 years to 74 years. The family absolutely loved their stay and the house had the added advantage of an indoor pool and games room. Jill and Nigel, the owners, were very welcoming and helpful and hopefully we will be able to visit again in the non too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having plenty of bathrooms and ensuites.
Liked least: wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Totally exceptional property”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have been renting properties for nearly thirty years and this one ticked ALL the boxes. Beautiful house in a glorious setting. With six children under 12yrs the lovely warm swimming pool was a daily treat and the beautifully landscaped garden ideal for egg hunts and just drinking one's G&T. With my son as our resident chef, the kitchen was more than adequate for some great feasts and we love to be able to seat all 15 of us together. The long kitchen table perfect for craft, jigsaws and eating! The bedrooms fitted us perfectly and 88 year old Great Gran well away from the early morning child get-ups as the 8 lovely bedrooms split into different areas. 4 very good Ensuites and large family bathroom. Easy access to all our favourite places to visit. Our Perfect hosts left a lovely cake and chocolate eggs for the children, then just left us to enjoy ourselves. Don't hesitate to book Home House and I hope we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Wi-Fi a bit of a struggle
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn195910...
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic week at Home House”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

16 of our family has just enjoyed a really lovely week in Home House.
The gardens are amazing and the swimming pool was fantastic being available anytime for our sole use. Also cinema and games room with lots of toys for young ones.
Fully equipped to a very high standard, 2 miles from Newton Abbot and 5 miles from Torquay. I would recommend this accommodation for any family or group occasions.
With 5 bathrooms and 8 bedrooms there is lots of room for all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexW1984
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Home House for our annual family holiday. Had a fantastic time, the house itself is so full of character and very spacious. I loved the huge living room (not that we spent much time in there) and I loved the gardens, they were huge. We were also very lucky with the weather as we had two weeks of wall to wall sunshine. The bedrooms were all a decent size and the bathrooms were plentiful. The kitchen also had everything that we needed. Location was fantasic, two minute walk to the pub down the road was a bonus and then there was another pub about a fifteen minute walk away which again was really good. Also only a ten minute drive to the local supermarket and the town of Newton Abbot.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A stunning thatched house with great facilities.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked this house to " get together " with our 3 son's and their families, we were 8 adults and 7 children ranging from 18 months to 15 years old. The house is ideal with comfortable sofas and bedrooms. It has lots of facilities with an indoor swimming pool, a cinema room, pool table and plenty of toys and games. The house is stunning with thatched roof and a beautiful garden with summer house and barbecue. It has a good size kitchen with everything you need for a large group. It was very clean and well presented. Jill and Nigel the owners who live unobtrusively next door were very welcoming and helpful when needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and of course the swimming pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place - you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for 2 weeks in June with my family (ages 20-80) and had a lovely time. The house and the garden are beautiful. The house feels really homely and the decor and period features are gorgeous (love the woodburners). The pool, cinema room and games room were all well used and the spaciousness and the layout means you're not getting under each other's feet all the time. The 2 bedrooms above the cinema room are accessed by a staircase that doesn't have a handrail all the way up so those rooms may not be suitable for the less mobile. The owners are really friendly and Jill especially was very helpful and made everything easy. Location-wise it's handy for the local resorts and there are a couple of pubs within walking distance (for the more mobile). Loved it here and I'm glad we chose Home House for our family holiday. Thanks Jill and Nigel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken D
Keighley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful thatched property in rural village”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Spent a fortnight here with our extended family and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Plenty of space inside and out. All the facilities needed to cater for a large group. Games room and cinema rooms well used - plenty of DVD's. Village pub a five minutes walk away .Handy for trips to Torquay, Paignton etc. Lovely indoor swimming pool. Friendly owners next door.
Highly recommended.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home.
Liked least: Couldnt get used to AGA
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing