We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great Pub should be...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown inn

Crown inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Puncknowle
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Under new management from the 26th of September 2016, the new tenants are here to rediscover the charm and beauty of The Crown. It is situated in the beautiful village of Puncknowle, close to Chesil beach and five miles from Bridport and West Bay (The fictional 'Broadchurch' in the popular ITV drama). The Crown is a traditional thatched 16th century Inn serving home-cooked food, real ales and a great selection of other drinks. Friendly and welcoming, The Crown is popular with walkers, families and with dog owners, who's four legged friends are welcomed with open paws inside the comfortable pub with its roaring log fires. Leather sofas and traditional pub games entice you to relax and enjoy your drink or food. Regularly changing with the seasons and with new produce, The Crown's menus are of the highest quality, with hearty flavours of good traditional British food. Wherever possible the kitchen sources produce locally for use not only in its main menus, but also in its regularly changing specials and desserts.In the summer, there is a lovely garden, overlooking the Bride Valley, for you to relax in the sunshine, savouring a long, cool drink. Its mature shrubs and lovely views, offer a peaceful world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. For those travelling, you might consider booking their en-suite room for the night - with its windows looking out over the old church you may be greeted by the bells ringing on a Sunday but, other than that, you should sleep peacefully! Of course, for those of you who want to include the whole family in your stay, the room is dog friendly. Since November 2013 the pub is proud to incorporate the village shop in its premises selling local goods, home-made food, fresh fruit and vegetables and much more.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great Pub should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went to Dorset to visit some friends and we decided to go out Saturday night to The Crown. What a brilliant decision! The Pub is stunning, the staff were lovely, the beer was great and the food was wonderful. From the minute we arrived to the second we left we truly had a lovely evening. Warmly greeted and attended to wonderfully by the team. Everyone we met had a smile and time to chat.... even had some fun winding up the chefs, who I have to say, cooked some beautiful dishes. I can’t praise the team enough who made our evening such a good laugh. Well done to all. We will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great gravy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We booked for Sunday lunch and both ordered the roast beef. It was ok, nothing special, roast potatoes were out the feeezer, the gravy was great though. This wouldn't put us off returning though as the pub was lovely with a good astmosphere and the menu looked interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janeysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownPuncknowle, Owner at Crown inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank for your comments about your visit. I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your meal. At busy times we buy pre- peeled fresh potatoes from our local supplier, Cains Farm, and this was the case on Sunday. Sometimes they can look as if they are processed as I believe they use a machine peeler. You can be assured though that all our food is fresh and made in house. Hopefully from your other comments we will see you again and you will have an enjoyable meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just been to the Crown, as soon as you walk in there is a relaxing atmosphere. The team behind the bar are really cheerful and welcoming, this pub serves pub food at its best with a twist. I really enjoyed the meal and the beer. We shall be returning tomorrow night.
Keep up the great work thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deepsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlynch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just returned from a few days caravanning in Puncknowle where we found this wonderful pub within 5 minutes walk of the lovely Home Farm Site. The Crown is an exceptionally well run pub with a great team of polite and professional staff led by Assistant Manager Libby who couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful, accommodating and friendly. The chef prepared the most delicious home cooked meals and the menu was very varied and reasonably priced for the excellent quality of the food. Our 2 spaniels were made very welcome too. All in all this is one of the nicest pubs we have ever visited. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank addisonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownPuncknowle, Owner at Crown inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about our pub. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and were looked after well by the team. We hope to welcome you - and your dogs- again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food but accommodation needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed for the weekend but my husband and I were disappointed with the accommodation especially when compared to another coastal property that we had stayed at recently for the same price. The room that we stayed in smelt fousty. There were cobwebs and I saw at least three spiders in the room. The bed was really uncomfortable and we both slept badly.The springs dug into my hip. Towels and soap are provided but no other bath products. The towels which were quite old did not smell fresh, in fact they smelt of grease. The spare pillows and blankets in the wardrobe also looked old. I see from a previous response to a review from the management that the room will be refurbished in November. That is good to know.
We also went for a meal in the pub and this was really nice. The only disappointment was that the range of wines on sale was very limited. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie22Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown inn also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Crown inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing