We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Florida at its Best”
Review of Bridgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgewater Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlacha
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Florida at its Best”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I grew up in Florida but had never heard of Matlacha. When a friend recommended the area, we decided it would make a great weekend getaway. We chose the Bridgewater Inn based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. All the rooms in the hotel’s main building were booked so we chose their Water View Cottage right across the street.

The cottage felt like home as soon as we entered. The back deck brought in such cool breezes we didn’t need the air conditioner. The deck also gave us a great view of Anihingas and Pelicans enjoying the dock next door. Anihingas have difficulty flying once their wings are wet, so we spent a lot of time watching Anhingas fly out over the sound, dive for food, swim back to the dock, CLIMB the dock ladder and then dry off their wings before their next flight.

The cottage was spotless and included a full kitchen, which we only used to make coffee :-). Bert’s Bar & Grill is directly across the street and has great food and atmosphere. The Olde Fish House is a few blocks away. Don’t let the exterior of the Fish House fool you. Not only is the food a ten but the entertainment is also fabulous.

We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bedroom is at the back of the Water View Cottage. It has cool breezes and is very quite. The sofa in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    43
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
89
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I had several e-mail and phone interactions with the staff and management prior to making my reservations and received answers to my questions and concerns each time. The parking is very limited and I was hauling a 10 ft trailer so the managers, Bob and Diane, were very accommodating and went out of their way to help me locate a place to park my trailer. We arrived early and were allowed to check in to our room early. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This place is well organized and well run. It is a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. They don't come in to clean every day, which we liked. The fishing dock outside of the rooms is well designed and comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. That's the room I'd reserve again next time I'm there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great 2 days here in the double room at the end of the pier.
My 2 sons loved the fishing.
There was also a pair of dolphins swimming in front of the pier while the other residents caught and fed them fish, which was priceless.
Watching the sunrise and sunset from the balcony was also very memorable.
Berts bar next door also had great bar, music and food.
The kitchen area and some of the furniture is a little dated, and the room rate was high, but the dolphins and fishing from your room was priceless.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank QJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was referred to us by friends. It's a key west themed hotel built on the water. The rooms are very comfortable. My family fished from the hotel and enjoyed our stay, we will go back! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverranchrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Guest Relations Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, It was wonderful to meet you and we hope that you come back to visit us at the Bridgewater again, Diane and Bob, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

have come here quite a few times with friends over the years and the current managers are very accommodating...Bob offered to drive us to a local restaurant so we could celebrate a birthday w/o worries...if you stay in one of the 2 end (away from the street) units, you can fish from your room! Dolphin and manatee sightings are common, along with many birds...and you can walk to many shops and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Public Relations Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We love to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to even fish from your own room! Come check out the other fishing amenities we have here and boating opportunities. We look forward to seeing you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've been to Florida quite a few times, but I will say this was my best trip yet! The Bridgewater Inn couldn't have been more accommodating and welcoming. After spending weeks on trip advisor trying to find the right hotel for the right price, I finally stumbled upon this gem. It's the perfect Florida spot for anyone looking to relax without the hustle and bustle and price of a hotel/resort and looking to stray from typical tourist spots. There's a grocery store about a mile down the road and the room comes with a fridge and microwave (some of the bigger rooms have stoves I THINK), and there are two grills in the back patio to cook up burgers or your catch of the day! Or there's a place across the street that will filet your fish for $2 and then Bert's next door will cook it up anyway you like with fries and cole slaw for $6! Bob and Diane were extremely accommodating. Fishing rods were $10 a day to rent but they provided us with everything else we needed except for the bait (available across the street). Sadly we didn't catch much fish, and the other guests didn't catch much either. Bob and Diane were also great with providing us with other things like a cooler to take on the boat (which you can dock up for no charge) as well as grilling supplies.

We had to stay in two different rooms due to limited availability, which was fine. It was simple enough for us to switch without worrying about check in/out times. Both rooms were equipped with anything we needed. However, when we return, I think we will try to stay in room 3, which faces the ocean, without the bridge in sight. The only downside to the dock is that it is right off a bridge/main street. It would have been nice if we couldn't hear the sound of the cars. The people in room 3 had to leave early one night, so we sat on their side of the dock and it was complete tranquility! The other guests were all extremely friendly and I'm sure wouldn't have minded our company on their dock anyhow! Watching the sun set/rise on the docks with the dolphins swimming around really was beautiful. (We saw dolphins/manatee every day!)

Matlacha is a great little town. Everyone was friendly and it seems like a hidden gem that Floridians head to to vacation. You don't have the typical out of state people. But we are from Boston and were more than welcomed. It's about a 35 minute drive from Fort Myers, which we went to for the Red Sox game and to check out the beach area. Fort Myers Beach was riddled with people and traffic. Nice place to go for a day maybe, so staying in Matlacha is a great alternative if you want to drive to Fort Myers for a day instead of spend your whole vacation there. We also rented a boat for a day and it took only about an hour to cruise over to Sanibel Island where we beached the boat and hung out on the beach, which was beautiful. Staying on Sanibel is pretty pricey, so again Matlacha is nice alternative.. I think it's about a 45 minute drive to Sanibel. There are no beaches in Matlacha (to my knowledge). Just a heads up if you're looking for beach proximity.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 3 is definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelseyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Public Relations Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you have had a wonderful experience with us at Bridgewater Inn. It seems you have explored the waterways, fishing, manatee and dolphin experiences, and much more! It is our pleasure to ensure you have a wonderful experience here and we can not wait to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We rented this cottage for some friends of ours who visited us from California as we live in Matlacha. They found the cottage (which is across the street and down just a bit from Bridgewater Inn) to be cute, very clean, well equipped with an awesome view. They enjoyed drinking early morning coffee while looking over the peaceful waters of Matlacha Pass. The location of this cottage is within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. They would of rated this a six star (if this was and option and) if it had a queen/king bed as they are somewhat tall people but it is our understanding that queen/king beds are hard to come by in Matlacha due to the size and quaintness of most lodging on the water locations. Would highly recommend this place as a great place to stay in Matlacha.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam4jrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Public Relations Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Bridgewater Inn. We are ecstatic to know you have had a wonderful stay with us. The Matlacha Pass is a great place to also see dolphins and manatees as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlacha
0.6 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Matlacha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
14.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Inn

Property: Bridgewater Inn
Address: 4331 Pine Island Rd NW, Matlacha, FL 33993-9776
Region: United States > Florida > Matlacha
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlacha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bridgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewater Inn Matlacha, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing