We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Laid Back Charm”
Review of Bridgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgewater Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlacha
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Friendly Inn Keepers (Bob and Nora) offering clean rooms and great views. Convenient location offering fishing, shops and plenty of galleries. Simply said, it's a fun and relaxing place! -
Bert's Bar and Grill is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeAnnK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgewaterInn, Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We would first like to mention that we are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself @ Bert's Bar & Grill which is conveniently 4 doors down from our Inn in Matlacha Florida & second we take pride in hearing how clean our rooms are & how well you enjoyed the view. Next thanks for mentioning our convenient location & how it offers fishing, shops and plenty of galleries. Finally we would just like to agree with you by simply saying, we aim to be a fun and relaxing place! -

Yours, Truly
Bob & Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Bridgewater Inn is not a fancy resort, it does not have amazing amenities, the soap is Cashmere Boquet ( an old fashioned soap from motels of years gone by), but if you are looking for the old Florida experience, this is the place for you . The tiny Island of Matlacha( Mat La Shay) is one you can walk across in a mere minute. There are cottage style restaurants,, Bert's Bar , and tumble down homes and even a trailer park. The famous artist, Leoma Lovegrove, who sells her art , clothing and home goods at Beall's Department Store in Florida, is a must see.


the Bridgewater is an older motel, but the location is so spectacular, as almost the entire place is surrounded by water. The end rooms are directly on the water, and the views are incredible.
The rooms are rather small, as are the bathrooms, but do you really come to a place like this to sit in your room ?? You must rent a boat, kayak, or simply fish off the side of the bridge, to know the real spirit of island iiving. The bathrooms are tiny, but serviceable. There is a microwave in the room, as well as a coffee pot, and thankfully, wine glasses and an opener !!!

There is a great porch area where you can sit outside at night , a grill, and bright tropical colors abound. It really reminds me of Key West in the 70's , before it got taken over by condo's.

We have stayed there over the last 15 years, and it is consistently neat and has the same level of customer service and friendliness of the staff.

When we were there this past weekend, we walked outside and there were dolphins playing around in the water, and it was an incredible sight.

Pine Island is nearby and has a fabulous place called The Mango Factory, down a little road, with fabulous mango's in the summer.
.
For a really special day trip, take the Tropic Star boat over to Cayo Costa State Park, which is a tiny state park out in the gulf, with even better shelling than Sanibel.
If you are looking for glitz and glamour...... don't bring your uppity attitude here , but if you are looking for a true old Florida experience, give the Bridgewater a try.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 2 on the end of the Inn on the water. You will have water dreams here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 713sispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgewaterInn, Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi again & we appreciate you reaching out & spreading the love of how spectacular the location of our Inn is here in Matlacha Florida & some people might not realize that almost the entire place is surrounded by water & the views are incredible. Also thanks for pointing out there is a great porch area where you can sit outside at night , a grill, and bright tropical colors abound. It really does have that feel of Key West in the 70's. Finally we might not always come across as having "glitz and glamour" but we couldn't agree more when you say, if you are looking for a true old Florida experience, give the Bridgewater a try.

Yours Truly,
Bob & Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently returned from a four-day kayak vacation, with the Bridgewater Inn being our home away from home. We are almost hating to share this gem of a place! Staff was delightful, informative and continually made sure we had everything we needed. Room was beautiful and clean. Although we were apprehensive, based on another review about 5B, the room was perfect for just the two of us. This is honestly the first hotel we have visited that we cannot wait to return! And Bob and Diane were the icing on the cake :))

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgewaterInn, Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We just wanted to thank you for taking a second & making us feel like we made a difference in your stay, because that here @ the Bridgewater Inn is what we're all about, & we want all our guests to feel the same & have that home away from home feel like you kindly mentioned. With that being said we are happy to have accommodated your 4 day kayak vacation with us & likewise we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks Again,
Bob & Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our stay at the Bridgewater Inn was perfect. Bob, Nora and Martha could not have been more gracious and accommodating. This was a very important vacation to us. My son graduated from college and this trip was to be our last vacation together for a while as he will be starting a new job. Bob manages the Inn in a professional, yet friendly manner. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Bob is completely knowledgeable about the area and gave us great advice on the things to do, where to eat, etc. The fishing was fabulous. This was one of the most relaxing, memorable vacations we have ever had. Bob, Nora and Martha made our trip! We will definitely go back to the Bridgewater Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #5 and it was perfect. Full kitchen, great air conditioner, comfortable beds, won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgewaterInn, Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for pointing out how hard we all work here @ the Bridgewater Inn, but without similar guests like yourselves nobody would ever know. We are not satisfied until we know that you're satisfied & we all try within certain limits to do everything necessary to excite you to always want to come back. So we are very pleased to hear your very kind words & thanks for letting people know that it is possible to have a valuable & memorable vacation.

Until next time,
Bob & Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and on the booking form it said that we had a room with a kitchenette and a Gulf view. Instead we had a closet with a fridge, microwave and small coffee maker. You could get a glimpse of the water if you peered out of the window to the right. The room had a connecting door to another room on back wall and at times it felt like someone was trying to get through. The bathroom door wouldn't fully open. The bedside light had to plugged into the bathroom socket, which meant you couldn't close the bathroom door. The TV wouldn't work at first and eventually when we got it working,we couldn't get rid of the subtitles.
We did mention to the guy on reception that we should have had a kitchenette, but he reckoned it was the fault of booking.com and we should have booked direct.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 5B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelTropicalWinds, Guest Relations Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We hope your stay was otherwise enjoyable.

In the future, please let the innkeepers know, as soon as possible after check-in, if you are dissatisfied with your accommodations as it may be possible to upgrade.

We have contacted Booking.com to have them remove "kitchenette" from the room description. The room does contain a dorm size refrigerator, a microwave and a coffeemaker.

We hope you had a chance to enjoy the shops and restaurants, the view and the fishing and kayaking. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We love to fish and walk around the towns we visit to eat and play. Our laid back "Old Florida" stay here was perfect! The inn is very clean, nice management, and close to little shops selling trinkets as well as island art. Restaurants and bait shops are in walking distance. It was great because we love to fish and listen to excellent live music (GO TO BERT"S around 7pm!!) so it fit the bill perfectly. There is no swimming or beach here so I find the inn is most suitable for adults who love to fish unless you are docking a boat there . Great place for a weekend or 2-3 day stay. Over the bridge we met the owner of the Perfect Cup who actually served us hot coffee "to go" before opening time...Peggy is a doll!

Room Tip: Regular room was spacious with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavendersunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgewaterInn, Manager at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We couldn't be happier to hear that your stay was perfect & we appreciate you letting similar guests know that we are a great location for fishing & offer a place to dock your boat, but that there might not be anywhere for them to swim or white sandy beaches to create that tan you waited for all year, but you were very kind to point out that we are a great weekend place or 2-3 night stay.

Always a Pleasure,
Bob & Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We just stayed at Bridgewater Inn for the last four days. It was the most relaxing time we have had in a long time. Rooms are immaculate and Bob, the manager, was the best! Great places to eat. Nice shops to browse. Would go back again

Room Tip: take the room on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrael713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlacha
0.6 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Matlacha
39 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
13.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
293 reviews
14.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Inn

Address: 4331 Pine Island Rd NW, Matlacha, FL 33993-9776
Region: United States > Florida > Matlacha
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlacha
Price Range: £80 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bridgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewater Inn Matlacha, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing