We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
GAINESVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible place to stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I rented the Chalet for the weekend and it was so dirty, there were roches everywhere and owners were the meanest people youll ever meet. I found this place on Groupon and the pictures are so deceiving, the spring was dryed up and it said the Chalet was a private getaway when really it was right next to the main office. There was stray animals just walking thru the resurant and i saw about 10 health violations. we had to pay an extra 80 dollars for the hot tube that didnt even work, everytime we asked to get our money back for it the people we needed to talk to just happend to not be avaliable. i would never recommend this place to anyone we should have just rented a house on the river.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Had a great time there will be back soon . It has a beautiful location very rustic and quite .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itlouo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearson, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just stayed in a hill top room. Wasn't crazy about the particle board walls or the 1910 mattresses. Our friends were in the A Frame on the river and it needed a lot of work too. The grounds were not kept well and poison ivy was right next to where you cook. The only things I liked were the views of the river and the Cook'n Shack was VERY good. They are spending a bunch of money on an RV park why not put something into renovating the cabins and hotel???????? I will find somewhere else at the river next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It was our first time there and we rented the cabin that sleeps 6. We really enjoyed our stay, the place was so quiet, of course we were the loudest ones there :) So nice and peaceful and the best part is that the river is right there! Everyone was friendly and the ice cream and floats were great! We are renting the A Frame in April and can't wait, we are bringing a few more of our friends with us.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank kayakJack62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Had a reservation to stay there for one night and due to unforeseen circumstances (illness in family) had to cancel. Because we didn't give 7 days notice they won't refund the full amount of the room that they required us to pay up front when we made the reservation. They will only give a credit towards a future stay IF they can rebook the room. Requiring us to pay in full up front should have been the first clue.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for a group kayaking trip on the suwannee river. It's owned and run by a husband and wife who make u feel right at home!! The rooms aren't 5 star but very clean and an average motel room. It's an awesome place. It's in middle of nowhere but a great place to just relax w nature, do some kayaking or canoeing or checking out the numerous springs in the area. Weekends they have a kitchen w incredible food. And believe it or not everything from food to any supplies u might need, to lodging rates are all surprisingly very inexpensive. I would highly recommend this place and can't wait to go back. If ur looking for action and not relaxation or embassy suites type lodging I'd go elsewhere. But if ur looking for an inexpensive relaxing getaway this is one of the best kept secrets in NW FL!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RickeyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort & Campground

Property: Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort & Campground
Address: 828 NE Primrose Rd, Mayo, FL 32066-5338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Mayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mayo
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort And Campgroung
Suwannee River Rendezvous Resort & Campgroung Hotel Mayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing