We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B experience”
Review of Riversholme

Riversholme
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rocester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riversholme
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rocester
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband before a visit to Alton Towers (I know, what with no kids.... But it was his birthday choice?)
By the by, we had a friendly welcome, a lovely and huge room, a surprisingly pleasant curry in the unassuming curry house over the road. A super nights sleep, bed could have been bigger but well appointed and very clean room. Especially considering it was a period property! Lovely stay altogether and a fantastic breakfast before setting off.

Really a very very good example of a B&B in my opinion. Also very handy for Alton Towers or JCB HQ should you be visiting them? Probably other good stuff round the area too...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Briony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This converted manor house has the largest bedrooms that I think I have ever stayed in, with bathrooms to match. It is not quite so grand as large, but for a B&B it is well above standard accommodation. The water pressure didn't match the size of the bathroom, sadly, but that is something of a generic problem in England. The whole place is very clean. Owners very friendly. Breakfast excellent. WiFi is a bit variable- you have to experiment with your position, but in the right spots the signal is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited Riversholm as an overnight stay when visiting Alton Towers. The hotel is close to the park and ideal as a base. Very friendly staff. The accommodation was ideal as we were visiting with our 3 children and there was an extra bed provided for the 3rd child. Lovely period features. Breakfast was amazing and included cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and cooked breakfast for adults, a vegetarian and children.
The local tandoori is an absolute must as an ideal family meal as well.
We will certainly be returning and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: We would recommend the family room on the top floor. Plenty of room for 5 and gorgeous period featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

If you have a problem with the food, forget it . The chef was surprisingly, and rather worryingly, inflexible in sorting out a kitchen mistake relating to an allergy. A very upsetting experience and very poor customer satisfaction, despite the high quality accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plymouthruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Owner at Riversholme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Under New Management April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Very clean hotel and great room. Stayed in the Dawson Suite, brilliant bathroom with bath, shower, bidet, toilet (that did break - but these things happen) and basin. 4 poster bed, wardrobe and small flat screen tv in the bedroom. No turn-down service.

Great staff but didn't enjoy dinner. Very limited amount of largers to choose from (no Fosters/Becks/Budwiser ect.) but good choice of half bottle wines. Dinner was a 3 course meal, starter unfortunatley consisted of 4 pieces of rolled up parma ham, a poached egg and very random peas rolling about on the plate (!) Main course, poached halibut, shallot and cabbage (and more mushy peas) looked and tasted very bland, my partner had lamb which unfortunatley was quite unedible and left 3/4 on the plate. Skipped dessert and went to the pub - Red Lion - down the road.

Breakfast was quite good, normal full English & cereal but no newspapers available at the hotel.

Overall, cute hotel, probably the best in the area but if I was to stay again I'd book the Indian a short walk away for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apple19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

Stayed here for one night - managed to get a late booking and so got a great price. The hotel is fairly small, so there was nobody on reception when I arrived - however, there were clear signs as to how to contact staff via telephone and they attended quickly.
The room was fairly large and comfortable, and very clean and tidy. Extra heaters were available which was useful as it was a fairly cold night. A traditional feel to the room,
Bathroom facilities were good, although I would have preffered a bath as well as a shower.
The bar offers an extensive selection of malts to try. Very nice too. Comunal areas were pleasant, although some of the doors are slightly out of keeping with the overall atmosphere.
Breakfast was excellent. Good selection and cooked to order.
Staff - I think I only saw one member of staff - were very pleasant and helpful.
Would certainly stay here again if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We booked The Riversholme as a one night stop after a busy day at Alton Towers.
The location is great, a 5 mile drive from AT and in the direction of the M1, so not out of our way at all.
The hotel stands back from the main road in the village of Rocester, and is an extremely quiet location. We had room 6 on the top floor, which was ideal for a family of four as the children had a separate room off ours and it was spacious too.
The staff were all friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
If you stay here, you must eat in the small restuarant as the food is superb. It has won numerous awards for its outstanding cuisine, which I can see why! The prices were good also, with a 3 course meal at around £18
The only minus for us was breakfast was room service only. This would suit some people, but the children found it difficult to eat their breakfast off a tray on the bed!
Otherwise, great value for money and well worth a stay..........a good choice for all!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocester
3.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
192 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Show Prices

Been to Riversholme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversholme

Address: High Street, Rocester, Uttoxeter ST14 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter > Rocester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rocester
Price Range: £60 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & BreakfastFormerly a HotelUnder New Management April 2012 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riversholme Hotel Staffordshire
Riversholme Rocester, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing