We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real Austrian/German deal”
Review of Edelweiss

Edelweiss
Ranked #37 of 444 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Indialantic, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the real Austrian/German deal”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Show up in Lederhosen and Dirndl's and you will be greeted in native tongue. Awesome staff/servers, your food is made to order. Don't be in a hurry, you just stepped into a European treat. Try not to leave left overs, it's an insult someone may think that you didnt like the food lol.. Don't worry they also have English speakers and you can show up in Florida-wear, sit back relax and enjoy the meal. Save me a seat!
my tips: Best to get there early like 5pm for parking (or may have to use next lot)
The faster you order the sooner you will be enjoying your meal. Tip well they are worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimprogress69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Food was outstanding! The room was a little warm. We had sauerbraten with spetzel, potato pancakes. We also had bratwurst with sauerkraut. It was delicious! The apple strudel for dessert was sooo good. The beer was cold and tasty served in beautiful glasses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Red F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good "Eidelweiss" fr.Sound of Music in my head!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place may appear tacky in design on the outside; but the inside is warm, cozy, friendly, and reminiscent of a true Austrian-German haus of succulent, melt in your mouth food! The schnitzel-chicken w.garlic sauce, was great though a bit overwhelming for those non-garlic-lovers, of which I am not one! The weiner schnitzel is to die for: my wife practically licked the plate, & I wanted to, too! The brats & sausages are perfectly cooked, nothing dried out, nothing bland or too spicy-just right! I hate to use perfect; but the food here is the pure definition of perfection! The German beer is exactly what one dreams of, the wines superb and fruity yet hearty. The desserts? Well, We split a German Black Forest Cake and an apple strudel and although we devoured the meal, in the dessert experience we probably looked as if we hadn't eaten in ages; we consumed it so quickly! The pastry was so delicate yet the apples, sauce, & spices harmonized with it in a way that I felt as if I was tasting Autumnfest itself! The Cake? If you love deep, dark, chocolatey cake with a rich yet fluffy filling and a tart-sweet echo of cherries, this is your downfall! Yes, I could see Julie Andrews in 'Sound of Music" eating here! Six stars, or whatever the highest rating is! Bravo, kudos, Go eat there as soon as you can!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenABK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“germany in melbourne”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

the outside isn't very appetizing, step inside, close the door behind you and you are in a small brauhaus in heidelburg. the place is family run, the food and service are very good. reservations only for large tables, but come in and wait for a vacant table. a real treat is the combo for two, a
sample of everything, and you will definitely take some home. the german beers and wine are top shelf.. a place to bring your friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good German food and good prices”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Been eating here for years and always have had great service and great food. Okay once the curry wurst was a bit overpowering but Jon replaced my meal and live was good. We take new people here all the time and it becomes one of their favs too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edelweiss also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing