We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The location is very nice right on the ocean. The hotel is in good shape but laid out kind of oddly. My room overlooked a kind of courtyard but right across the way into another guest room. The balconies are small and depending on where your room is, you can get a view of the ocean. The air conditioning unit was old and noisy. The room could use a refresh of the mechanicals. Service in the restaurant for dinner was okay, not great. The food was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Kathleen103,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found our location very nice. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable we fell short of your expectations during your stay. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

i have been going to this place for at least 25 years. It is not a touristy place. It is convint to lots of tour spots. I try ti go down at least 2 times a year staying for 3 weeks each time. I get a room in the north tower on the north side. From this room I can see the ocean(and hear it) sitting on the balconly or in the room. There are lots of nice places to eat on the beach side and only a few minites away in Melbourne. The staff are thoughtly careing people. Every one from the grouond keepers up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllisdean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Phyllis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your visits, and we are always sad to see you leave. I hope the winter isn’t too harsh this year but if you need to thaw out you know where to find us. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Kaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the night of 11/12 September 2013. At 01.15 in the morning, the fire alarm went off - a scary prospect! We evacuated to the front of the hotel but there was no member of the hotel staff present. No roll call was taken, no confirmation that the hotel was on fire or otherwise, no advice given on safety precautions to be taken. Nothing!
The fire station was almost opposite the hotel. Approx 7 minutes later a tender arrived and a fireman went into the building. Some 20 -30 minutes later, guests started trickling back into the hotel but at whose invitation was anybody's guess. There was no explanation from the lone female desk clerk and there were no other members of staff to be seen. We made the assumption therefore that a real fire had not occurred. As an exercise in carrying out a hotel fire evacuation this was beyond dismal!!!
No apology was offered and no recompense for a significantly disturbed nights sleep given that I had to depart at 04.30 to catch a flight. You can form your own judgement on this and it will be interesting to see how the management respond. At the very least they should explain whether there was a fire, who or what set the fire alarm off and offer an apology.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
6  Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel. I would like to start by offering a sincere apology for the disturbance you encountered during your stay. We always have our guest’s safety in mind, and we take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously. We value your feedback as it enables us to further improve our quality and services. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza while in Melbourne on business. My colleague and I opted for a stay at the beach rather than a Hampton that was much closer to our client. The gain of staying at the beach was not worth the drive.

The hotel is ok but not great. My room was an "ocean view" on the 7th floor so I did get a decent view of the ocean over the top of the building next to me but any lower floor would have had a nice view of the rooms across the way. The furniture in my room as in decent shape but straight out of the 70's in its style. Tiny, tiny bathroom. The toilet is so wedged between the tub and the sink with no room on either side. The vanity was so small that I kept my toiletries in the other room for fear they would fall in the toilet!

In spite of the above, I was on my way to giving them 3 stars until last night when they had a band playing by the pool. They started about 5:30 and played until after 9pm. Way too loud and not very good sum up the experience! I like good music but this was so bad that I ended up calling the front desk at 8:30pm to inquire as to when they would stop. I got a mumbled apology and was told that they would be done at 9pm! I get that they want music at the poolside bar but there's got to be a better way that blasting the music to all the rooms that face the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapaWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret our room accommodations fell below your expectations this time. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to improve our products and services. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Well I came back to the hotel I said I would never again give business to. They have redeemed themselves. Our room is just as we requested and wonderful I might add. It's raining outside but the accommodations more than make up for the weather. Please, if you decide to stay at this hotel, do yourself a favor a book the oceanfront suite.
I wanted to give this property another chance because it is our favorite in the area. The thought of not coming back was sad. Thank you Kailynn, Jared and hotel staff great customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando_FLBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I just wanted to say thank you for your great comments, they mean the world to the staff and myself. I apologize it took my response wasn't sooner. I hope there is another “staycation” is in your near future. Thank you for giving us a 2nd chance we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Kaylyn Corbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fifty years ago we honeymooned in this area and it was appropriate that we returned 50 years later. Well we experienced another fabulous time at the Crowne plaza Melbourne. The room was fantastic, Watched the sun come up over the ocean, great entertainment at the waters edge and some of the best food we have ever had. We cant say enough about all of the employees, very friendly, helpful and professional. Bob and Mary Little

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When visiting Melbourne Beach we usually stay at the doubletree or the hilton, but this time we did priceline buy it now and the Crown Plaza picked it up. The last time I was in this hotel (2010) the lobby was dark and a little musty smelling but it is obvious they have upgraded the hotel, the grounds and the rooms. The lobby is very clean with stylish furnishings. Our room was partial ocean view overlooking the pool and the ocean and was perfect. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There was even a dehumidifier in the room, as being on the beach, the room can get humid. That was a nice touch. The staff was very nice and accomodating. Sally at the front desk was very professional and friendly, ensuring that we were happy with our room. It was a nice surprise to stay here and have such a wonderful stay. There was also a great band playing on Saturday from 1 to 5. What a great place to spend the weekend.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on A1A, across from the fire station. Can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLPgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
11 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £104 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, IHG, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing