We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but not great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

As reported in other reviews this hotel is getting tired. The furniture is old old and there was very little storage. One dresser that the TV sat on and the drawers fell out when opened. Small closest and one luggage rack so no place to put two suitcases or purchases or food or anything. The location directly on the beach was great and it had beautiful views. Needs a good remodel and I was told we were in one of the newer rooms. Not sure I would want to stay in an older room then! We ate at the restaurant twice. The food was great but the noise from the bar was so loud!!! Not sure I would stay here again because it was small and uncomfortable because everything had to go on the floor since no place to put it. Most staff were nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liketotravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. We value your feedback as it will enable of us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I will make sure to pass your compliments on the food to our chef, and I apologize the noise from the lounge disturbed your meal. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again and allow us to show you just how great our hotel can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    184
    110
    73
    44
See reviews for
198
176
13
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Room was very updated and clean with a beautiful view, however it was VERY small. Was expecting queen size beds, got doubles. Had a late lunch at the hotel restaurant which was okay, but the service was not very good. I would come again, however would like to see what the other hotels in the area have to offer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bov55016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do strive to exceed our guest’s expectations so it is very disappointing that your stay was not all it could have been. I apologize for the service you received in our oceanfront restaurant it will most certainly be addressed. While I understand there are other choices in the area I hope you will give us another opportunity to show how great our property is. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodus, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We walked into a upgrade to ocean front room with a balcony- Great. The hotel is right on the beach. Good sized waves for the whole time we were there, surfing contest was being held down the beach. You can walk forever on the beach. Room service prices were very high with a 25% tax on it. Bar prices were also up there. The staff was great, pool clean, room was nice as well. There are plenty of stores around as well as resaurants, as long as you have a car. A couple of weddings were held there while we were there-nice place for them. We belong to IHG, so we used points to stay here, they truely do value IHG membership. Also we did see some people fishing from the beach.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade to ocean front. Nothing like watching the sun come up from your private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront. We are thrilled you enjoyed your say with us and found the hotel met all your needs and more. We thank you for sharing your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront with other travelers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a visit to Kennedy Space Center - this is on approx. 1 hour drive.

Pros: Location at the beach, free parking, free wifi, friendly staff, comfortable bed.
Cons: Room was noisy due to close proximity to large main airco system outside - I cannot believe they sell rooms which so much noise coming in from outside. Take earplugs, otherwise sleeping is impossible. Also paying for a bottle of water in the room is outdated - in most other hotels this is free nowadays. Breakfast buffet options are limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the outside main airco, or above the 6th floor or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_456123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all feedback from our guests as it will help us improve the services we offer. I hope you will choose to stay with us again and allow us to earn that 5 point rating. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just returned home to Orlando, FL from our weekend getaway here & loved every minute! We haven't been back to this hotel for about a year. This time we asked to stay in the newer, smaller building. From check in to check out, we had the most relaxing, beautiful experience with a private ocean front balcony away from the deck/pool/restaurant area noise & crowds. It was fun to see weddings right outside our balcony in the gazebo! Absolutely gorgeous uncrowded, quiet beach & clean, luxurious room with a great size, clean bathroom made our stay perfect! Will be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aufl626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

AAAACCCKKKK!!!! I'm in rating-dilemma limbo. Allow me to explain: We chose this hotel for a 5-day vacaton. Truth be told, my niece wanted to stay in Cocoa Beach to take advantage of their gorgeous beach & to learn how to surf. As I checked out Cocoa Beach hotels/resorts nothing jumped out as being 'just right'. I picked the Crowne Plaza knowing it's at the top of the Holiday Inn brand, generally has high ratings, we could get an ocean-front suite & I knew it would be easy to get to Cocoa Beach.

We arrive & first impressions are stellar! Everyone warmly greeted us & were friendly throughout our stay. Check-in was easy, parking was a breeze, in minutes, we're in our suite, with smiles from ear to ear as we realize we've scored! The ocean-front room is highlighted with a wrap-around deck that provided magnificent views, two separate areas with tables & chairs for plenty of outside lounging alternatives, a spacious & comfy bedroom with king-size bed, desk, flat panel tv, a small chair with a foot rest & sliding glass doors onto the deck. The other room, let's call it a living room, had a small bar area with a microwave, sink, under-counter fridge, coffee maker, & plenty of storage. There was a sleeper sofa, another flat panel tv, desk, & a couple more chairs & side tables along with another set of sliding glass doors to reach the balcony.

Sounding really good, right? Well, so far I'm on board with a 5-star rating, but....here's the list that changes the story:
The bathroom - its too small & poorly organized. There is practically no counter storage. The make-up mirror is mounted on the wall & you bang into it with your elbow when you brush your teeth or use your arms for anything. There's no bathroom fan, which means the mirror fogs up & stays that way until you crack the bathroom door open to get some ventilation going. The water pressure varied between just fine and barely a dribble. The spout the water comes out of in the tub was nearly falling off the wall. More on that later.

The small bar area in the living room had plenty of storage but for what? Nothing is provided other than what you find in a typical hotel room. Since you've got a sink & extra storage, how about a sponge, some dishwashing soap, maybe some basic utensils? And how about a decent one-cup coffee maker with real cream & not the cheap crappy coffee they provided in-room with fake powdered cream?

Fixing problems - the 3rd night we were there, there was a huge thunderstorm & WiFi quit working. I pick up the bedroom phone to let them know. The phone doesn't work. I figure the phones must be VOIP, & don't work for the same reason WiFi isn't working. The next morning, still no WiFi so I try the phone in the living room & it works. I'm assured the phone will be fixed that day, along with the bathroom problems I'd mentioned earlier. Two days later when we check out, the phone still doesn't work, the spout is still practically falling off the wall & water pressure is as spotty as ever.

Now, let's go back to the parking situation & the incident that really did sour my impression of this place. Our last night in the hotel was Valentine's Day. After a great day on the beach, we chose to leave around 7 pm to go out to dinner. Big mistake! We had a great dinner & arrived back at the hotel around 10 pm. We'd done more shopping so we also had a few heavy bags to haul in. There is absolutely no place to park. We pull up to the portico & are greeted by the most frazzled-looking bellman you can imagine. He's very apologetic, explains the hotel is completely booked for their annual Valentine's Day getaway promotion & tells me the best bet is to park across the highway. That would be across a 4-lane highway with cars whizzing by. Then he points to the walkway they have erected over the highway that I had never noticed. Keep in mind, it's dark, the parking lot across the street has no lights, & we're in no mood to walk up at least 4 flights of stairs to reach the over-highway walkway & then back down those flights with my young niece & all our stuff. At this point, the bellman says if we park there, he'll come & pick us up in the hotel shuttle but he can't commit to how long that will take. Finally after looking especially forlorn & downright frustrated, the bellman did point me to the 1 spot he had been saving (I guess for whomever did the best job of being absolutely annoyed by this situation & I fit the bill). We zipped into the spot, gave him a nice tip, gathered our items & headed back to our room.

So here's the deal - I fault management. When I called in the phone & bathroom problems, the person answering should have entered it in a system, & a mgr should be making sure all problems are resolved. Second, for the V-day parking hell, they need to have enough staff so they can shuttle people betwen their lots & not create a total inconvenience for their guests.

Room Tip: Be sure you say you want ocean front if that's what you want. Many rooms have an ocean view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. I am certainly disappointed your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team.
It is feedback we receive from valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback and welcome the opportunity to improve.
I do hope you will chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel 4/ 5 times over the years, alternating with the Hilton just up the road.
The CP is a good all round hotel, maybe not quite as good as the Hilton in terms of rooms ( although it does depend on where you are in the building). The breakfast/ bar/ deck area is nice, perfect for a beachside sunny start to the day. The beach could not be closer and if you dont like the sea, the pool is small but nice.
The staff are really good, some even recongnised me from previous visits.
The breakfast serving area is small and can get very congested at busy times, but sit out side and order from the menu its fine and the food is pretty good. The bar has bad accoustics so 2-3 noisey people can drown out everyone else, but when the weather is good there is some nice seating outside and in the evenings they have nice table burners out there if it gets chilly.
The rooms do vary, but asking for more space generally gets you a bigger room, the upper floors in both blocks have some sea views, some better thatn others and those directly facing the ocean go quickest obviously.
The immediate area does not have much in terms of shops/ eateries, but the shuttle will take you about 3/4 miles and pick up.
Recommend Coasters bar ( next to Walmart 1/2 mile north) and if you want a great night with laid back music and dancing Lou's Blues.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
4.3 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing