We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach with heated pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The rooms at this hotel are large, clean with comfortable beds. There are however, several rooms that do not face the ocean so make sure you request one with an ocean view in the tall tower building (8 floors vs only 4 in the other building). The pool area is nice with a heated pool to enjoy during the cooler months. The fitness room is adequate but not very large. The restaurant overlooks the beach and is reflected in the high prices. Drive a few miles north on A1A and eat breakfast at Sun on the Beach (filled with locals). Overall, a good place to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Average hotel, Not really wroth the 175 a night we paid. Our room was next to the industrial AC units and the sound kept on waking us up at night. Its on the left side of the hotel, on the roof of the banquet halls. Try to get on the other side or a higher floor. Pros: Its right on the beach an its clean.

Room Tip: Avoid the left side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trainaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and the fact that we sit right next to the Atlantic Ocean. We do apologize that you didn’t love the north side of the hotel. Perhaps on your next visit something poolside or oceanfront would be a better location for you. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is situated right on the beach in Indialantic, Florida. It was recently updated and can accomodate small or large groups of people comfortably.

In season they have a lot of entertainment at night on the deck. The beach is great for strolling or just vegging out on a beach chair.

If you are planning a wedding they just added a large tiled area going to a Gazebo overlooking the Ocean which is a great addition to what they already had.

It is ideally situated close to downtown Melbourne and there is plenty to do. Great shopping, restaurants and bars.

I travel to Melbourne quite a lot at different times during the year. I have stayed at all of the hotels near this one on the beach. The reason I like the Crowne the most is because of their staff. They will do their best to accomodate your requests so don't wait to write a negative review about something you do not like, bring it to their attention while you are there and they will fix it.

They always go the extra mile to make your stay the best they can. I'd especially like to thank Kaylyn, Sally, and Rhonda for everything you have done for me on my many stays. I am a platinum member of the IGH chain and look forward to continuing my business with you for many years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for the second time at the beginning of March for two nights.

This hotel is situated directly on the beach and this was one of the key reasons for returning. I was also quite excited when I saw that the hotel advertised it had gone through a full renovation.

When you enter number of guests as part of the booking process I would normally expect the hotel to either offer a room that is adequate for the number of guests chosen - or to advice booking two rooms instead. We were 4 adults and 1 child - but wanted to stay in the same room if possible and the Oceanfront suite with kitchen seemed to fit the bill. The room was advertised as having a King bed, sofa bed + possibility for roll away bed. We thought the adults would do the King and the sofa bed and have the child on the roll away.

First impression of the room was great. Sweeping views of the beach and ocean outside, great kitchen with dining table.

However despite ringing ahead, the roll away bed was not present. And we also quickly established that the sofa bed was not suitable for two adults - let alone a child. The renovation obviously hadn't extended to the extremely tired looking sofa bed. When we pulled it out it was at a very odd angle, not remotely horizontal and with a mattress to thin to mask the steel mesh. To top that off - pulling back the mattress protector we discovered that the bed was full of sweet and chocolate wrappers from a previous guest...not very appealing.

I couldn't help feeling the hotel has cut quite a few corners with the room renovations...Maybe my expectations are wrong - but when you pay top dollar for their biggest room you expect the quality to be in the same league as well.

We advised the front desk supervisor of all of the above when checking out - she gave us a $40 credit but did not seem at all concerned or bothered about taking our complaint seriously.

Tried the Spa - very friendly and accommodating. Went for the 90 min hot stone massage - heavenly!

Breakfast buffet was not included in our rate - but was available at a very reasonable rate. Great omelette station included. One thing that surprised me was the amount of servers present - yet they weren't able to keep up and we were left waiting for ages for everything including the bill. Didn't seem to help that about two thirds of them just stood around admiring themselves in the mirror and walking aimlessly around - looking horrified and annoyed when any of the guests approached them.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view! Avoid relying on sofa beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingViking1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was excited to arrive at this hotel on my trip to Florida. The hotel is very nice with an ice cream shop for snacks & dessert yeah! They also had a very nice outdoor bar & grill for dining in or outside overlooking the beach. The rooms were very nice, beautifully decorated (way better than I was expecting). I really love this place, only downside is that there are 2 separate buildings. One building is the main building with interior corridors and the second building with exterior corridors. Our rooms were in the exterior corridor building with the slowest elevators, they didn't have availability in the other building, bummer, cause it was hot outside. Oh well, I would go back to this place if I'm in the area cause overall its a nice place. I would just reserve a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building & get there early since parking is limited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family enjoyed a terrific time at the hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and with a great view. The service was extremely good. The restaurant and patio service was well attended.

We not only like the beach but the pool was pleasant too.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view...very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel, location, and staff. The remodel was done nicely. A few weeks ago I complained about the broken and outdated equipment in the fitness center along with the broken A/C units within, and nothing was done about it. Great hotel overall but the fitness center needs new treadmills and a few updates. The broken AC makes it almost unbearable if the outside temp goes above 75°F.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
11 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £104 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing