We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, regular food, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. I travel to different states and nothing can beat seeing the view of the ocean when you wake up or just people having fun with a live band at night. For the summer this is a great hotel to stay. The front office staff are also welcoming. I dont know their names, but if you do go talk to a red haired, tall guy with glasses.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felipe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My Daughter was married at the resort on 6/13/2014
Everything they told us was not true.
From what was due to the food.
I was given a price for the wedding and I asked the salesperson at least 5 times now that I have made these payments and we stay within the allotted number of people that no other fees would be due. she stated yes
I recieved a bill for 3400.00 above what I had payed and there was nothing I could do about it. The contract had a drop date and we were past it so i could not cancel at that point.
The Staff at the wedding were very professional and did a great job but the Lobster tasted like a dirty soap dish. The Steak was tender but cold and you could not request rare or well done it was get what you get.
The Hotel rooms bathrooms the fixtures were loose from the wall and need to be updated. Also the wedding location had beer bottles and trash around just 2 hours before the wedding. We had to police the arear before the wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff, we take pride in what we do I will be sure to show them your post. I am aware the General Manager has contact you directly regarding your concerns mentioned. If there is anything else we can assist you with please feel free to contact the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nice hotel on the beach, nothing spectacular but we certainly did not feel cheated during our two night stay. Our room, on the third floor in the south building, had a side view of the ocean that was largely blocked by foliage, but there are small tables with chairs outside each room so you can relax and feel the "ocean vibe." Our room, a King standard, was nice, a little small but plenty of room for two. The amenity it lacks is a wall safe. You do hear a fair amount of noise from adjoining rooms, and from outside, but not enough to disturb our sleep. The bedding was excellent. The elevators are smallish and a little slow, so we used the stairs. Parking is a problem for the south building and you most likely will have to park either across the street in a satellite lot or in the large lot to the north side of the complex. Warning to those using the crosswalk from the satellite parking lot to the hotel: the steps are very steep. If you have small children or limited mobility, skip it. The pool area is very nice, large and the deep end is at 7.5 feet. Easy beach access. The hotel offers a chair and umbrella package if you don't feel like lugging your own stuff. Melbourne is more relaxing than Cocoa Beach, which is about 13 miles north and swarms with tourists year round. The beach was not crowded at all during our early June weekend stay, even with two wedding parties staying at the hotel. Those into sea shells can find some nice ones, but the shelling is not as good as on Sanibel Island on the Gulf coast. The most pleasant surprise for my wife and I was the outstanding outdoor cafe. The drinks are reasonably priced, and the food was outstanding! I had fish tacos (blackened) which were superb (they are a little tangy, so if that bothers you, beware). We also had the flatbread which for all intents is a medium size thin crust pizza and easily fed my wife and I for dinner one night. The service was good at check in, check out and at the bistro. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Next time, we will ask for an oceanfront suite.They looked like excellent rooms from outside. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our family stayed for one night the first weekend in June before heading to Disney World. The location was perfect and it was quiet during our stay. We stayed in a king suite that had oceanfront balcony access from the bedroom and the living room. The room was spacious and clean. We had requested a roll away bed and it was waiting for us when we arrived at the room. My only negative comment about the room was that there was no door for the bedroom. Our kids are older so we weren't worried about them wandering in, but it would have been nice to have some privacy.

We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner. It was a great to be oceanside to eat and the food was delicious.

We had some rain during our visit so beach time was at a minimum but it was easy access to the beach and very secluded and quiet. We'd visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katydid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful conference center-hotel on the beach. Food in the Bistro was excellent. Room was comfortable and updated. Small balcony had a family of pidgeons living on the furniture and cooing loudly all night which inhibited sleeping. If I hadn't been there on business, I would have just joined the party on the beach deck with live music. It looked like fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohkay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is not what I would think as a Crown Plaza. The place was very dated an not very clean. My room was old an tired looking the carpet was dirty and the bathroom was small. The biggest problem was the parking they didn't have enough for the guests. We had left the grounds for dinner and when we came back there wasn't any parking for us. We then went to the front desk an complained we were told because of the wedding they had booked we would have to park across the street. Mind you this is a 6 lane highway that we would have to cross with no traffic light or we could walk up two flights of steps to cross the bridge an it was raining. Another thing hotel does it lets the public come in (again parking in the lot for guests) to use to the pool and the beach why should I pay for a room there when I can use everything for free at a cheaper hotel?

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. My apologies for the disappointment you had with your room accommodations and parking. Our efforts to improve the hotel and services we offer are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is situated very nicely for those that enjoy a quiet beach full of shells and areas to fish from shore. It has views from most rooms, and the partial view is very nice. The staff is wonderful and facility s always clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celeste652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Melbourne
Residence Inn Melbourne
#9 of 22 in Melbourne
240 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £105 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing