We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There was nothing super memorable about this hotel other than a completely trashed guy trying to get the elevator to go up at 1:30 in the morning. After the guy fell into the wall and started swinging aggressively, I decided it was a situation probably best handled by security. The front desk person called someone to assist. This, of course, was no fault of the hotel -- and they sent someone to make sure the guy was okay and got back to his room.

Elevator incident aside, the hotel was quiet and clean for an overnight. The bed was comfy and there was a bottle of water in the room. The bathtub handle was broken and the room was a bit rough around the edges, but nothing would keep me from staying again if the price was right.

There was no recognition or upgrade on account of my platinum status, although given my rate I wasn't exactly expecting it. I was given a room overlooking the air conditioners. It even had a small porch so I could enjoy the ambiance. :)

That's about it... A fine stay with decent service, and I'd probably stay again if the price was right. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Greetings,
We would like to thank you so much for being one our Platinum IHG rewards members. We apologize if you felt that you didn’t receive this recognition at your check-in or during your stay. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory, but we hope that you visit us again soon so we can create a spectacular stay instead. We are already looking forward to your next stay. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is poorly maintained. After taking a cold shower my first morning there and requesting they look at it 3 times I discovered the trick was running the water for 10 min first and then tweaking faucet handle. "Business Center" is only a table behind a half wall. The boarding pass icons did not work and web pages to 15-30 seconds to load. Lobby furnishings are sparse an uncomfortable. Unfortunate the basics are so lousy since they have a great location on the beach which they take advantage of with a nice deck they use for restaurant seating. Didn't have the "guts" to try the food in the restaurant given the other experiences.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We deeply regret we were not able to deliver the best guest experience for you. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you for staying with us and I so hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Room was perfect. Service was impeccable. The beach server Kelly took care of our every need. She was exceptionally amazing. We wanted for nothing while we were on the beach thanks to her. Kelly Diamond was AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisygirlagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Greetings,
We are happy to hear that your visit with us was so enjoyable. We are glad to know that you were able to experience the amenities our hotel has to offer such as our beach services. Thank you for your nice comments about the beach server Kelly and we hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Rooms, oceanfront suite nice, clean. Sleeps 4, but bathroom small and cannot handle 2 persons bathroom supplies, no way can handle 3rd or 4th person necessities.
Food, lookout, totally inconsistent, ordered same items over course of stay and never same way twice.Service staff when busy inept, forget orders, make sure you check bill.
Beach service. Nice staff but we asked for tent at 9am
We told no due to windy weather. Forecast was for hot weather, no rain or wind. Two hours later tent put up right next to us for general manager family. We asked for tent again told no again.

Suggest you want iffy restaurant food, bar, nice beach, use the facilities but don't pay for room, stay someplace cheaper. Comment

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spirocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My apologies for the disappointment you had with the beach service and restaurant. It is not a typical experience and certainly will be looked into. We take call guests comments serious as they will help us improve the quality and services we offer. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Researved an ocean view room, nice view and clear water. This is a beautiful hotel wityh reasonable price, its location is great .the bar on the beach is open till late and its close to cool restaurants..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Navid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Greetings,
We are so happy to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable. We definitely recommend several “Hidden Gem” restaurants around our area, but we are glad that you were able to experience most of the amenities our hotel has to offer, such as our Surfside Lounge on the beach. Hopefully you will visit again soon!
Kaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived late on a Wednesday night and received a double oceanfront room with balcony per our reservation. The room was located in the south tower building, and it was terribly disappointing. The furniture was the laminate wood grain stuff I had in college and in terrible shape. Carpet was stained, room not up to standard. There was standing water by the elevator. Called for another room and they said they had nothing available. They said that all the rooms with double beds and oceanfront balcony were located in the dumpy tower. Not worth $180 a night. Was like a motel 6 and not up to IHG standards. Hotel staff was top notch, very understanding when we decided to go to another hotel. Staff is great, but hotel is in terrible shape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BPOilSlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret our accommodations fell below your expectations this time. We take all comments and suggestions into consideration as they will help us improve the quality and services we offer. We hope that you will give our hotel another opportunity to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I had a bunch of questions for her upon my arrival and the staff was knowledgeable & courteous. The extremely convenient access to the beach was nice. In conjunction with how beautiful the beach is, is what offered me solace during my stay. Further, my standard king room was disappointing. It did not give me the four stars feel especially for the price. The room needed to be updated. It was mediocre. The bathroom was really small and did not have a vent. Also, the bathtub handle was broken, which allowed the water to drip. A bonus to my room was the balcony that overlooked the pool.

Room Tip: If it's in your budget, request a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Mi_Mi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the front desk. I am truly sorry to see the accommodations fell below your expectation’s this trip. We value your comments as they will help us improve the quality and services we offer. I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.4 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing