We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beach problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I love IHG hotels especially Crowne Plaza. I went to Melbourne with my husband for weekend and chose to use points at Crowne Plaza.
The room was very good with IHG standards, very good bed, shower and toiletries. The service we didn't use much but was ok.
But 2 things with the beach: why offer rental chairs and umbrella ($35 per day) instead of offer for free. Luckily we have our beachchairs on the car.
Another thing : the ocean is very dangerous in frontof the hotel with huge rocks and no signal of them.
Parents with little children: take care!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Greetings,
Thank you so much for being a loyal member with our IHG brand. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room amenities we offer here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront. We do apologize, however, that your experience on the beach was less than satisfactory. We take your comments and concerns to heart and our staff will do any necessary steps to create 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    187
    113
    75
    48
See reviews for
206
177
14
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We needed a hotel in the area for one night and I thought this location on the beach would be good, plus I got the room on IHG points. As it turned out we had a long day and arrived late (after dinner) an left early for NASA, so the beach front location was of no use to us, but that was my poor choice. We were given a room on the ground floor by the pool, which was also on the walkway from the car park at the front of the hotel and next to the gym. It was very noisy from the pool until very late in the night, with people still walking by and talking loudly at 4am and finally noisy from the road outside from early morning. All in all, a bad room location. The room itself was just OK, nothing of any note. Clean and big enough for the three of us and our bags. The breakfast buffet was good value and good quality, so we opted for that to start off our day.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It seems we could have earned those extra stars if your room was in a different location. Some guests love being ground floor poolside some do not. I hope that your travels will bring you back to our area and we can pick a different location for you and your family. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was great! Our room was just steps to the pool and the ocean. The view was amazing and we were on the first floor. The bar/restaurant was great for kids and adults. We loved this place and plan to return if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Oceanfront or at least oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Greetings,
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. It’s good to know that you were able to experience some of the amenities our property has to offer such as our Marisol Oceanfront Restaurant and our pool/Jacuzzi area. Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I do about about 100 nights a year in a hotel and this was the best. As usual it the staff that's makes the differance.
Great Room Service at a good price, Great view of the Ocean, The best staff !
Great View of ocean from room.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Greetings,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome. We are happy to hear that your stay was so successful and we look forward to your next stay with us. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel with my whole family for two days. It was an easy drive from the Orlando area. We arrived early in the day (2pm) and we were able to check right in. The front desk staff were friendly, courteous, and efficient. Check in was a breeze.
Our room was nice. We were on the 8th floor and had a nice partial view of the ocean. The room was nicely set up. The fridge in the room was big, which is always nice. The microwave was there also. We didn't spend much time in the room.We quickly changed and went out to the beach. We walked past the pool and it was nice. Lots of chairs and space available. There was even a hot tub although we didn't use it due to the heat. It was clean, the water was clear, and it didn't have that "hot tub" smell.
The beach is just down a set of stairs. We did wish there was a ramp. My family has some small children so it was difficult at times to bring the stroller to the beach. But, we made it work. Just make note to pack light or expect to make a few trips if you have a lot of stuff. You can rent chairs and umbrellas to lighten the load.
Beach was great. We spent two whole days going between the pool and the beach. There is a bar/restaurant right there so getting food and drinks was easy.
The hotel has a bar and restaurant right in the hotel. During the two days there we never had to leave because everything we needed was right there. We will definitely be returning due to the great location, awesome staff, and plentiful amenities..h

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach. Family members had courtyard rooms and they said they were loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBear1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Greetings,
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. Thank you for your wonderful comments and it’s good to know that you were able to experience some of the amenities our hotel has to offer, such as our Marisol Oceanfront Restaurant. We hope that you and your family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

There was nothing super memorable about this hotel other than a completely trashed guy trying to get the elevator to go up at 1:30 in the morning. After the guy fell into the wall and started swinging aggressively, I decided it was a situation probably best handled by security. The front desk person called someone to assist. This, of course, was no fault of the hotel -- and they sent someone to make sure the guy was okay and got back to his room.

Elevator incident aside, the hotel was quiet and clean for an overnight. The bed was comfy and there was a bottle of water in the room. The bathtub handle was broken and the room was a bit rough around the edges, but nothing would keep me from staying again if the price was right.

There was no recognition or upgrade on account of my platinum status, although given my rate I wasn't exactly expecting it. I was given a room overlooking the air conditioners. It even had a small porch so I could enjoy the ambiance. :)

That's about it... A fine stay with decent service, and I'd probably stay again if the price was right. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Greetings,
We would like to thank you so much for being one our Platinum IHG rewards members. We apologize if you felt that you didn’t receive this recognition at your check-in or during your stay. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory, but we hope that you visit us again soon so we can create a spectacular stay instead. We are already looking forward to your next stay. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is poorly maintained. After taking a cold shower my first morning there and requesting they look at it 3 times I discovered the trick was running the water for 10 min first and then tweaking faucet handle. "Business Center" is only a table behind a half wall. The boarding pass icons did not work and web pages to 15-30 seconds to load. Lobby furnishings are sparse an uncomfortable. Unfortunate the basics are so lousy since they have a great location on the beach which they take advantage of with a nice deck they use for restaurant seating. Didn't have the "guts" to try the food in the restaurant given the other experiences.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We deeply regret we were not able to deliver the best guest experience for you. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you for staying with us and I so hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
4.3 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Address: 2605 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Thursday's, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing