We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My first time writing a review and I felt it was important to do so. My husband and I stayed here for just the weekend. We're local (1 1/2 hour drive) but needed a little R&R. I didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews so I kinda went into it ready to complain. I must say I have nothing to complain about. The view from my bed was enough to disregard the fact there was no microwave in our room. That was the only thing I felt I was missing because we had picked up a few things from the Wal-Mart across the street. We called down for one and it was there in minutes. Didn't have to interact with the staff as much because like I said we were there to rest. The room service was fantastic as well as the food. We will definitely go back to this hotel and I would recommend it to my friends. Oh yeah the elevator was slow but because we weren't in a hurry to get anywhere it didn't matter much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,847 - 1,853 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Radisson hotel for our Spring Break vacation. We absolutely loved it! THE OCEAN VIEW IS AMAZING. The rooms are big and clean. No complaints from us! The only thing I would recommend is to bring your own chairs to lay out at the beach (or you can rent them for 10$ a day). We requested a microwave in our room so we could make lunches and whatnot! The elevators are slower than normal but its not bad at all! Definitely going back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just checked out of this hotel and must say after reading past reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. It is old and needs some renovation but I have no complaints. I was on the 12th floor corner unit with a wrap around balcony and the view was fantastic! The room was clean and all the staff were very nice with the exception of one waitress in the restaurant. It does appear to be understaffed. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

As stated before, the elevators are very slow. Always had to wait for it. We had the bed and breakfast package. The front desk failed to give us the slip of papers for breakfast, which caused chaos at the breakfast area. I was going to order the American breakfast which is included in the bed and breakfast package, when I see one of the cooks filling orders from the buffet. So, I got the buffet and saved myself a wait, which is all you can eat btw. They will bring your drink to you. One drink. Choose wisely if you want cereal from the buffet. There is a traffic light at this hotel for easy driving. Walmart is across the street. The beach view is amazing. No problems in our room at all. Everything worked. And they do put a hold on your credit card for incidentals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Came up for Spring Break, my husband, my four year old, and I. Last time we stayed at the Crown Plaza, but decided to try this one as it was a bit cheaper. Great choice! Once we got to our room the A.C. Was not working, but called and it was fixed. View is breath taking!

Only drawback is the elevators. Almost always a wait for them as there are only two. Never too long, just frustrating.

We will most likely return again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family of 3 and I stayed here last week and I thought it was wonderful. We actually came here after our first hotel was a complete dump and I was able to give a great sigh of relief after I saw our room. The view was unbelievable. The room was clean, modern, and attractive. I hope to come back. The pool area could be a little nicer perhaps or less basic (add some plants?), but it was adequate and my son liked the very warm, heated water. My one complaint is that the breakfast buffet was a complete rip off - over priced and for what we got, should have been included. Stay here and head somewhere else for food, it is otherwise fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First of all, as everyone has already pointed out - the view. Amazing. It turns out that when you pay for the room, the ONLY thing you are paying for is the view.

We normally stay within the Hilton brand of hotels. I was nervous to try a Radisson, but the Hilton and Doubletree couldn't accommodate our family in one room. I figured our stay would be comparable to the Hampton inn that we're accustomed to when we travel. I was wrong. If anyone is reading this and debating about staying here, I wouldn't. You will get the same view from any hotel as long as its beach side.

We checked in late after several flight delays. The girl at the desk was quiet and took my credit card, had me sign something indicating that I was going to be charged and gave us keys. We got to our room and my son went to the bathroom. He came out with a tissue in his hand hollering that he had almost caught a cockroach in the bathroom but had scared it into the bedroom.

My cellphone notified me that I had an email. It was from my credit card company, and the front desk transaction had been declined. For some reason they had tried to charge my card 200 dollars more than the price of the room for 4 nights. When we called the front desk they told us that they were charging 50 dollars PER NIGHT for 'incidentals'. No where during booking or during check in was I made aware of this. Eventually they took that charge off and only charged for the 4 nights.

The bathroom was dirty. Not like it needed to be cleaned, but like it needs to be remodeled, or re-grouted perhaps. It was small, and there was no vent fan. The second entrance into the bathroom wouldn't lock.

Housekeeping was unbelievably slow. Normally it wouldn't have bothered me, but it happened EVERY day. It was after 4 pm every day before we had clean towels. When we asked the front desk about it we were told that they were full and things were busy. At one point my husband had to go get towels from the front desk because he was tired of waiting to be able to shower.

Their big deal on their website is these suites have sleep number beds. Ours didn't work. I've read many reviews that say these beds didn't work at this hotel. Maybe stop bragging about it unless you plan on fixing / replacing them?
Functionality goes a long way when you're traveling as a family. How about outlets that are accessible? Or outlets that are usable and that I don't need to pick to either have light from the lamp or a charged cell phone? How about a second dresser? We had four people in the FAMILY suite, and three drawers in the bedroom, for 4 people for 4 days. The bunk bed was way too close to the ceiling to make it a very functional sleeping space.
The "in room coffee" is a joke. It makes ONE cup at a time. There is no coffee in the lobby either. We drove to starbucks every day for coffee, because we didn't want to pay for the hotel restaurants breakfast.

There are two elevators in the whole hotel. The lobby area where they are located is a small area that was constantly filled with people waiting to get on, and there was no room to get off. It was a mess. We were on the 6th floor and would often take the stairs because of how slow the elevators were.
In the bedroom there was door that had a deadbolt on it that opened to a closet that housed the AC unit and some pipes. Without it being bolted, it wouldn't stay closed. Eventually we stuffed our boarding passes in the top to keep it from opening.

All in all, this was about the level of quality I'd expect from a Ramada or Days Inn, not at all what I would have expected from a Radisson.

I was sincerely hoping to become a fan of Radisson, and have a new favorite hotel chain to enjoy. Unfortunately, based on this experience, I will likely never stay in one of these hotels again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momoftwoteenboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and your room during your stay, including the dirty bathroom and the slow elevators. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
14.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront

Address: 3101 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £113 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront Melbourne, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing