We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend The Extra Money And Go Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 22 April 2012

To start off, if you have ever seen the movie "Vacancy", then you have a good idea of the vibe this hotel gives off. But if you haven't, then let's start off with the area. It felt unsafe, tucked away in a woodsy area. Going out after sundown seemed risky. Our arrival in the afternoon seemed to have interrupted the front desk clerk, who was rude and vague with her information. We had to practically twist her arm to get basic check-in information. She left the best for last, stating that there is no staff on the premises from 3AM-7AM, and no security whatsoever. The room was decent at best. The bed was comfortable, but left us itchy, which prevented us from even turning down the comforter or sheet. Our stay was cut short, but odds are we wouldn't have stayed the night. We didn't come across much to do in the area. We wouldn't think of staying at this at this hotel again, or even in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonnieAndMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I was told to write our side of story but never told how to write a response to a fake story. This guest was treated so bad by our front desk girl they have to twist her arm to get their basic check-in info. They deserve a full refund as well as a police investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for the month of March 2012. The front desk people were very helpful, requested pillows were provided quickly. We liked the location, and walked to many sites in the historic downtown, as well as a nearby mall and several restaurants. We had a ground-floor room, and the people over us were noisy at times - heavy footfalls - but it was convenient to the parking lot and amenities.- of which there were few. (exercise room, laundry, vending machines)
Other than the noisy guests overhead, my only complaint would be the housekeeping. The bathroom was not always well-cleaned. The kitchen was adequate, though a bigger refrigerator would have been nice. The bed was somewhat soft, but comfortable. There was a dumpster full of old mattresses out back, so I assume many were replaced.
We plan to go back next winter for another 3 weeks to a month.
I used the high-speed internet every day, and after a few start-up problems (with free tech support) I was fine.

Room Tip: Do your homework. Research the hotel, check the map, read all the reviews. Try to get close to an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thanks and we are finishing third floor renovation and we welcome you back for a suprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Suburban Extended Stay in Melbourne FL. The hotel is clean, staff members are extremely helpful and nice. It conveniently located. It is the best hotel for a long stay (usually I stay there for a couple of months per visit).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your comments we will try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Good price but pillows were bad. Also have to check non-smoking rooms because we had to change rooms because of the cigarette smell.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for comments. We have started a guest survey what type/size pillow make them more confortable in hotel. And may make changes according to the result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We moved in on Dec 28th to the largest room that was suppose to have a sofa bed also but was told they didnt have one. With poor service and noise so bad you couldnt sleep. When talked to Owner he said this is not a 4 star hotel. We paid for 7 days and on the 6th day they were suppose to clean the room. I went for a walk and was locked out. When I went to the front desk the girl that doesnt speak english well said you didnt pay your bill. I was so embarrassed I told her my husband would be home at 6 and he will be able to show her our bill was paid in full. When he got home we learned their rates raised on Jan 1 so I was locked out for 8 dollars. We were looking for homes to move to as quick as we could so we paid for 2 more days. On the last day we went for breakfast and had till 12pm to paid for another day or get out. When we returned we were locked out and told this was their policy to ensure they get paid in advance. We again spoke to the owner that didnt care and after alot of conversation he said he would not charge us for the evening. We found a place that day and moved out stuff. When we went to check out we were told he was going to charge us 61.00 for early departure. Do Not Stay Here People that has this type of service will not get quality people. They are not clean and noisy and once he has your visa he will not do anything for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weightlady1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I am sorry we could not satisfy you. We never locked you out from your room as I talked to you. Your key automatic expired when you passed payment due time. That is our payment policy and we could not make exception for you. I would remind that some your statement was not accurate. When I talked with you regarding your disatisfaction, what I said was even we were not a 4-star hotel, we took care our guests. We talked to your neighbor guests who might disturbing your night sleeping as they are international students and just came to this country adjusting their time zone when front desk first received your complaint. We also offered you a chance to move to another room when you later claimed you still heard some noise from where you can't tell. Regarding your early depart charge, we did not try to charge you extra fine for leave early but you will have to pay the rate difference between your actual stay length and your planed stay length. I believe it is a policy for every hotel offering lower rates for longer stay. Otherwise everyone may ask for a monthly rate to start and only stay here for a day or two and leave who else pay daily rate?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Visiting family in the area. This was a great deal for the low price, and the room's kitchen is very convenient. It's also in a very good location in Melbourne. It's not the most high-end hotel but it's a good, comfortable stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

We thank you for your review and we have more programs coming including morning fresh coffee, on the go breakfast, etc. We are working hard everyday to make this hotel not only for longer stay guests but also a good choice for short stay guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I lived here for two weeks, the front desk clerk was very good service, before I start my life in melbourne ,this hotel was very impressive on me because it is very clean and kichen equipments is very convinient for cooking food. restroom is also very clean. the interenet is very quickly and TV have a lot of interesting chanels. The most important is its big bed that is very comfortable. I enjoyed all of this.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaolong h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thanks and hope we can welcome you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Melbourne - Airport
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Melbourne
Days Inn Melbourne
#12 of 22 in Melbourne
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne
Hampton Inn Melbourne
#11 of 22 in Melbourne
442 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Melbourne - Palm Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay

Address: 1125 Airport Blvd, Melbourne, FL 32901-2937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Melbourne
Suburban Extended Stay Melbourne, Florida
Melbourne Suburban Extended Stay
Melbourne Extended Stay
Extended Stay Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing