We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in Melbourne to see quality shows”

King Center For The Performing Arts
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
West Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The only place in Melbourne to see quality shows”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Let me admit up front. I am a bit biased. I have been a Crown Club member at the King Center for a few years now so I get perks that aren't generally available.

That said, I have been going to the King Center for nearly 20 years now. It is an incredible place to see a show even in the furtherest reaches of the "Grand Tier". There is truly no bad place to watch a show in this venue. You won't get big arena shows but you will get great concerts from acts that play 3,000 seat type venues. I've seen everything from bluegrass to hard rock to Broadway here.

For big shows parking can be a problem if you do not prepay for parking (or are a member at a high enough level where you getting a parking pass). You may want to arrive early for the best parking.

One thing I do not like about the King Center is the "continental seating" which does not have a center aisle. I alwasy try and stay near an aisle (when I do not get in row A which doesn't have a lot of seats in front of it) because if you end up in the center of the venue you can have to stumble across close to 30 people to get to your seat. For anything non-Broadway (which utilizes the orchestra pit), try row E which is wider and easier to traverse.

The lines for the bathrooms can get long during intermissions. There are bathrooms upstairs that most people don't seem to know about. There are also bathrooms outside the venue in other buildings (and the King Center does allow re-entry with a hand stamp.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Nice concert venue with great acoustics”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've seen the "So Happy Together" tour here, a Beatles tribute band, Yanni, Mike Love, calling himself "The Beach Boys," and we will go again.

The venue is kind of small when compared to major concert arenas but the acoustics are fantastic.

King does get some good artists so you have to keep looking at the website.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floridabluemacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful theater and great venue. They have a varied selection of performances and a diverse selection of current Broadway Productions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat in the house”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've attended both a play and a comedian show here. Seats are great. No blocked views. Great shows at fair prices. Well worth going here. The only (very minor) complaint is that the rows of seats are very long with no access from the middle. Great place to see a show not at Broadway prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our Granddaughters recital was very nice.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We travel to the King Center once a year for our granddaughters dance recital. It is a nice, large auditorium with a nice stage and good seating. The only thing that drove us crazy was the fact that either they do not have a curtain or the dance studio decided to not use it. The Nicole Cote dance recitals are ALL DAY EVENTS. They have two shows, one at 11 and one at 4 and trust me even only having your child in the last one you are sitting there for hours, think we got out at 8pm. LOL. So it is hard to sit there with the lights going on and off in between each dance, you couldn't leave in the dark to go to the bathroom because you couldn't see, but you also did not want to be walking by folks with the lights on when they were trying to watch their kids perform.

Did see that Bill Crosby is coming there in November.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Center For The Performing Arts also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to King Center For The Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing