We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, horrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

First I would like to commend the staff. Each and every person we encountered was pleasant and helpful. Our requests were cheerfully accommodated. My only complaint is the horrible meal we had at the bar on Christmas Day. The service was fine bit nothing could make up for our in edible food. Very surprising and disappointing for a name brand hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear eatergourmet,

Thank you for your feedback. I make it a point to read each and every review. On behalf of our entire team, we really appreciate your very kind accolades regarding our staff. I am however, perplexed on what in particular was the issue with the food that was ordered on Christmas Day. Our culinary team takes great pride in their product and presentation. Please feel free to contact me directly at my email address below. Thank you for your time and holiday business.

Regards,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

the staff at this location was the best i have every dealt with, outstanding across the board. Leadership should take credit for the great service outstanding!!! During the entire staff we left the patio door open to enjoy the view and the sounds of the waves crashing through the night

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank southerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear southerboy,

Our behalf of our entire team, we appreciate your feedback and recognition. Your comments will motivate our team to continue to strive for even greater excellence. We are delighted that you enjoyed the sights & sounds of the ocean and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've been staying at this hotel on and off for over two years now for business. This has always been a great location and the staff (Check-In, Restaurant, Bars, etc.) have always been very good, professional, and happy.
In the last month or two I have started to notice a change. I'm not sure what changed but many of the guest were commenting that they noticed it as well. Less friendly greetings at the check-in, staff seems a bit stressed, and several new faces.
If I was going to guess I would say that there has been a management change of some type and to be totally open and frank it has not been a good transition. I would guess that the next sign will be several of the longtime, good, and loyal employees start to leave. Please turn this trend around so we continue to choose this as our favored location as a company.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear K M,

Thank you for your repeat business. We have made some changes in 2013 and so far the feedback that we have received has been very favorable. Many of the changes that were mentioned were the result of promotions. We have had some outstanding team members advance their status at a sister property. We have also had some growth where some of our sister properties’ team members advanced their careers here at the Hilton Melbourne Beach as well. We are quite proud of the entire team and believe that we will grow favorably in 2014, as a result of the promotions and additions that have transpired. On a personal note, I encourage you to return to further experience what our team is capable of. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations however, great things are to come and we look forward to your return. If there is anything that I can do, please contact me at my email address below. Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has nice amenities. We had a less-than-perfect room, but enjoyed out time there. Food was good, service good. Price very good. Heavy sliding doors keep ocean noise out. This hotel is in a great location and has nice amenities. We had a less-than-perfect room, but enjoyed out time there. Food was good, service good. Price very good. Heavy sliding doors keep ocean noise out. This hotel is in a great location and has nice amenities. We had a less-than-perfect room, but enjoyed out time there. Food was good, service good. Price very good. Heavy sliding doors keep ocean noise out. This hotel is in a great location and has nice amenities. We had a less-than-perfect room, but enjoyed out time there. Food was good, service good. Price very good. Heavy sliding doors keep ocean noise out. This hotel is in a great location and has nice amenities. We had a less-than-perfect room, but enjoyed out time there. Food was good, service good. Price very good. Heavy sliding doors keep ocean noise out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank khyder2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel. It was nice to see that you enjoyed our location and felt that we provided good service. Our food also receives positive reviews. We are getting ready to update our menu sometime in the early part of the first quarter of 2014. If you would like to provide some feedback regarding your guest room, please email me personally at the email address below. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your return.

At your service,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed one night and immediately booked 4 more nights. I loved it and i will be back to stay again next week. This hotel has single handedly made me change from marriot to hilton. From the restaurant to the attentiveness of the security staff they went above and beyond. Not to mention waking up to the ocean crashing and the view is worth its weight in gold.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Scott F,

On behalf of the Hilton Melbourne Beach, welcome to the Hilton brand. We want you to come back as well! Our security team and restaurant staff will be very appreciative of your observations regarding their attentiveness. Thank you for your repeat business and review. We look forward to hosting many additional oceanfront stays in the future.

At your service,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

As I do a lot of traveling, I was extremely delighted at the excellence accommodations and service provided by the hotel. Their attention to detail, continual customer service, rooms and facilities were top-notch. As a corporate trainer (and I also train in the area of customer service) I intent to use Hilton as an example of what TO DO at a hotel.
Even the food was great! Your staff was a pleasure to work with. A special call out to Betty in the restaurant and Diana that helped with the training rooms. They made the experience great and helped everything run smoothly.
Many thanks to all. I intend to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Laurie J,

Thank you for the very detailed review. The fact that you are a Corporate Trainer and your perception was that our team deserved five stars really says a lot. I was very pleased to see that you felt the facilities were top notch and that the food was great however, your service comments REALLY mean the world to our team. Service is what we do and why we are here! I will pass along your kudos to both Betty and Diana. Thank you again for your feedback. Please come back and see us again soon.

Regards,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Seemed like a lot of staff and they were all wonderful, friendly and helpful without being intrusive or over the top - just right. The place is very well maintained and even though it is large, you still feel special. It will probably need updating soon but still very clean and pretty modern.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_DePiro1665, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for the very kind comments and five star rating. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay! Glad to see that you felt that the staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

John DePiro
General Manager
john.depiro@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
14.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3003 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £120 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront is a relaxing retreat, just seven miles from Melbourne International Airport and located on Florida's Space Coast. We tick all the boxes for a memorable beach vacation – great views, delicious dining, an outdoor pool, and inviting rooms and suites. We also offer 9,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space, a business center, and more to keep you productive. Whether you’re visiting for the famous Florida beaches or you just love all things outer space, Hilton Melbourne Beach is a great choice. We're close to the Kennedy Space Center, Port Canaveral and the vibrant shopping and dining of Melbourne Beach. Take some time to enjoy our leisure facilities, including a heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and 24-hour fitness center. Looking to explore the local area? Jump on our free shuttle; we’ll take you anywhere within a five-mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Hilton
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing