We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

DeAngelo's by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't let the name fool you - it may be near the ocean, but the small dining has no view, not even of the parking lot. It's very small and claustrophobic - with an odd big screen TV. The red wine was warm, the entrée was just OK and the ricotta cheesecake simply bad. The only redeeming moment was the warm, homemade rolls. It entire place seemed rather dirty and unkempt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, Owner at DeAngelo's by the Sea, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
I am sorry for your experience we will try harder to move the restaurant so it overlooks the ocean, but we might have to tell the turtles to leave and we will remove some of the tables when you visit us again.Thank You, your a lovely person/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    69
    22
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An Amazing Find”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We love to eat out and are fortunate to have lots of choices in our area. DeAngelo's is the only restaurant that we eat at on a weekly basis. The chef is amazing and the food is always fresh, fantastic and reasonable! The mussels are out of this world! The eggplant parmesan is the best I've ever had! I usually go with a group and nobody has ever had a bad meal! Richard is our waiter and he is always right there with their wonderful bread and roasted garlic to spread on it! Rich (the owner) is so kind to us we feel like visiting family! This restaurant is right on the beach so you could even get some take out and eat right on the beach! Their pizza is great for that! I can't wait for our friends who are snow birds to come back down and try this restaurant! Jana & Jim

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Come for the cheap pizza, stay for the haute cuisine”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Other reviewers have talked about and I can confirm: Tuesday night, at least in July 2013, a really good cheese pizza was $6.99 at DeAngelo's. The atmosphere, service, and overall experience was so nice, and the rest of the menu so tempting, that we came back two nights later for a non-pizza dinner. Each of the four of us found something we liked on the menu.The pasta dishes were uniformly excellent, the chicken francaise was well done, the salads and sides had obviously received as much attention as the entrees, but it was the "House Special" (my own choice) that knocked my socks off. It was original - medallions of chicken, chunks of Italian sausage, large "mushrooms" carved from new potatoes, broccoli rabe, and peppers - and beautiful to look at on the plate but, mostly, it was delicious. For a little casual place in a rather remote Barrier Island location, the quality of the food and the care in its presentation was astonishing. Match that with extremely competent and friendly service and you have one of those hidden culinary gems we are reluctant to share. Nonetheless, I will run the risk because DeAngelos By-The-Sea deserve it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZedOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch - awesome!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

On one of the most beautiful stretches of beach in Florida sits the unassuming yet fabulous DeAngelo's. Lunch was wonderful, everything fresh, perfectly cooked, an accommodating and kind waitress to my 90 yr. old uncle (who is a regular with my parents). Don't miss it if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfultzmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & a Great Staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best food every time we go, lots of everything, the portions are always huge....we love it

What really makes it great are the owners Rich and our professional waiter Richard...he's the best!

Joe & Louise

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DeAngelo's by the Sea also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to DeAngelo's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing