We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Shoes Resorts
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Reviewed 17 January 2008

I would not recommend staying at this motel. It used to
be friendly and relaxing. This hotel does not have any
security. Apparently, they let people have keys to enter
the rooms that have no business doing so. NO SECURITY
HERE!! The people that work there now are very nosy and
unfriendly. It is very uncomfortable there,whenever you
go out of your room someone comes out to watch you.
I stayed there last year when Heather was there and
it was a totally different atmosphere. She is no longer
there-so I quess this the new management. I would not
ever go back or recommend this motel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarthaEncinitas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Shoes Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2008

We stay here every year. This Motel use to be the only one that offered complete privacy. The manager apologized for this person who she said was helping in the office per the owner. She obviously needs medical atteniton. We were very uncomfortable and felt we were being watched. If you want complete privacy DO NOT go to Sandy Shoes.

T. Rogers

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Saw other reviews from Trip Advisor and my wife and I decided to stay at the Sandy Shoes from Jan 6th-11th. We booked room #4, directly on the Ocean. The view is spectacular! To wake up every morning and walk out onto our private wood deck with nothing to look at but the Atlantic and the sunrise is as close to Heaven as you can get! Had a 2 room suite with kitchen. Only the lower ends units on each side have a deck. If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place. Sandy Shoes has gone Condo and each owner furnishes their unit as they wish. Our unit needs the owner to pay attention to things! Ratty pots to cook in was a real turnoff.
Melbourne beach is pretty laid back and this place reflects that. Bare bones with great view and comfortable room at a reasonable price for being on the Ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontaukHarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Sandy Shoes is a quite family orientated motel. It has excellent access to the beach if you enjoy surfing, fishing or just chilling. The staff are friendly and make you feel at home. The accommodation is well presented and equipped. We enjoyed our time there, would stay there again and have recommended it to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank kate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I have been visiting Melbourne Beach for years for that perfect Old Florida beach vacation. Peace and quiet is found at Sandy Shoes and the hotel manager Heather is helpful and friendly.
The motel has had a major face lift since the hurricanes did a lot of damage. The suite (perfect for a couple) was large and clean with comfortable new furniture and decor.
Oceanfront deck for perfect sunrise coffee spot. You can walk for miles on the beach and sometimes not see a sole!! Turtle tracks and maybe a fisherman! Large, clean, perfect pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas and a grill. Convenience of nearby Publix allowed meals at "home" . There's not a whole lot more
anyone could ask for at Sandy Shoes, but Heather was always around to help.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueCrabTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

All of us have so much stress in our lives and it is wonderful to have a place that you know that just washes it all away. That place for us in the Sandy Shoes in Melbourne that is just 3 hours away. We had such a fabulous time when we were there in July, that we couldn't wait to go back again. This time we chose to stay in the Studio #11 that has a private ocean view deck .
We arrived at sunset to our little retreat and immediately sat out our our little deck for a while and then walked on the incredible beach. After the sun went down we headed for the Surfin' Turtle for some of the Triple Tail fish that they prepare there and then on to Publix for supplies.
Next morning we were up with the sun to catch the sunrise...you think I'm nuts but, take a look at the picture. Met some wonderful people on the beach that morning, everyone is just so sincere and friendly. Stopped at the office as we headed out for a while and talked to Heather, the manager. What an amazing lady. We hit it off immediately! I mentioned in passing that the kitchen in the studio is much smaller and didn't have any wine glasses and that was it. Much to my surprise when we returned from our outing, there were two wine glasses waiting for us on the table in our room. Now, if that's not being taken care of I don't know what is....
My husband and I love being there. We feel cared for by Heather and her staff and it really feels good. We are already planning our next trip probably in January after the holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We wanted to celebrate our 23rd Anniversary in a place where we could just relax and concentrate on one another and came up with the idea of staying in a place on the beach. Being from Miami and knowing that A1A is directly on the beach I got on a Yahoo map and kind of followed A1A up the coast and landed in Melbourne Beach. Put in a search for Hotels/'Motels in that area and up came the Sandy Shoes Motel.
I called and left a message--the call was returned promptly by Healther, the manager, and the reservation was made for #6.
The instructions to get up there from Yahoo maps was perfect and we made it in 3 hours.
Sandy Shoes was everything that we had hoped it would be. Our room was beautiful and the kitchen had absolutely every single thing that you could possibly need in it. The motel is directly on the beach and the only thing you see when you face east is the Atlantic ocean. The lull of the waves can be heard with all the windows closed.
There were lots of other guests staying there at that time and everybody was really low key and very friendly. All of the guests had been there several times before and could not say enough good things about the place.
We had a glorious weekend and could not wait to come back again.
I recommend Sandy Shoes to anyone who enjoys a place that has lovely accomodations, right on the ocean, great staff and amazing sunrises........

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.2 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
294 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
8.1 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#2 of 12 in Melbourne Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shoes Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shoes Resorts

Address: 3455 S Highway A1a, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-3104 (Formerly Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: £93 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Shoes has been voted Brevard's #1 Beach Resort! The Resort has been totally remodeled and it has 16 unique different suites. It also has the biggest pool in the area, a huge deck that leads down to the beach and you can see the ocean from all the suites. The perfect place for families or a couples get-a-way. Come experience a great place to unwind! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Resort Condos
Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Melbourne Beach
Sandy Shoes Resorts Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing