We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to surf and turtle watch”
Review of Surfcaster Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfcaster Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great place to surf and turtle watch”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

right on the beach this updated old florida style hotel is great to surf from during the day and watch turtles lay eggs at night. The rooms have tile floor since it was impossible to keep out all of the sand. Pizza joint attached to the Hotel was very good as well.

Room Tip: for the family 7 and 8nboth have kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    2
    5
    17
See reviews for
17
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed there for one night during spring break, that was terrible when we went in the bathroom, the tap water is stinky, didn't dare to use the water to brush our teeth. Can't really open the bathroom window, it was broken! Only have a quick shower, can't stand the smell. Although we closed the bathroom door when we sleep, we could still smell it, bed isn't comfortable, pillow is too small and thin, can't sleep well. Although it's close to the beach, but the room doesn't have ocean view, the room is very dark, no window.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilltopsB-and-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne Beach hotels

Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Motel is in transition with friendly and hospitable new owners. It is older, but very clean and reasonably priced. Situated on a beautiful private beach. With all the plans for updating by new owners this hotel will soon be a gem by the sea. Kind enough to bring extra towels and whip up a delicious pizza after hours.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottie561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

At first we were a little worried cause we thought that all motels are a nightmare but we have to share with everyone that when we pulled up we were pleasantly surprised how nice and quaint the place looked and got even better when we were greeted at the office by Karen who let us check in early. We absolutely loved our stay there, Everyone knew it was our anniversary and went out of their way to make us feel so comfortable from the owner, Office, and the Restaurant which the food was amazing at Rosati's. Our Room was about the office, Suite #7, was really clean and the oceanview was amazing. If you are looking for luxuary go to the Hilton but if you are looking for good old florida charm and friendly service and down to earth people I recomment this little of hidden place right on the beach. Thanks everyone at Surfcaster for making our stay awesome. Hope to be back soon to visit and eat at Rosati's again..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This place was great. Off the beaten path, so not alot of folks fighting for space on the beach. Water and sand were beautiful. The pizza was pretty good. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Close to everything. We would definitely go back.

*Not sure what's up with the bad reviews- there were no bugs and the owners were very nice. Really glad I took a chance on this place!

Room Tip: The rooms above the office are definitely worth a few extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

First of all the lady that checked us in took our money, said "is that all"? We said " yes", then she said, "Then get out"! Very rude... You can't see the ocean from the rooms like the video says. There is NO water pressure in the rooms. Not even enough to get the shampoo out of you hair. The room smelled old and looked old and dingy. You have to drive at least half hour both ways to find anything decent to eat or if you want breakfast. Don't take the kids cause there isn't anything for them to do if they don't want to play on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Surfcaster has it all. Friendly staff, Clean rooms, beach front, pet friendly and outstanding Italian food. A peaceful atmosphere added to down home hospitality makes this place special. Haven't seen this old Florida charm in quite some time. Highly recomend.

Room Tip: Upstairs room--- nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine34748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
7.9 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
466 reviews
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
8.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
12.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#3 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcaster Motel

Property: Surfcaster Motel
Address: 5935 S Highway A1a, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-3704
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Surfcaster Motel And Pizza Hotel Melbourne Beach
Surfcaster Hotel Melbourne Beach
Surfcaster Hotel And Pizza
Surfcaster Motel Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing