We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering by the sea”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Super service in an upscale B&B, gracious hosts, delicious food, nice beach and all near the Nationals spring training!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I have been guests at many B & B's throughout New England in Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, etc. I can honestly say that this was the best experience we have ever had at a B & B. The house and rooms were beautiful. Mike and Linda were wonderful hosts and the VIP treatment at the Chart House was a real treat. The next time we are near the Space Coast, we will surely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPS222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Five nights of perfection in the Indian River room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had such a good time during our stay here. It was the highlight of our trip! This place offers amazing privacy, romance and service. The employees are all so nice and really make you feel at home. I require a gluten free diet and that was no problem for them- from delicious muffins at breakfast to a special treat at night I never once felt deprived of good food during my stay. The room was beautifuly decorated and incredibly comfortable. The staff was more than happy to make us dinner reservations, provide us with towels chairs and snacks for the beach and advise us on fun things to do in the area. We had an amazing time and will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary 2 years ago. Stayed one night. Exceptional place. I am not one for B&Bs because they tend to be run down, lack amenities like a nice bathroom, at least the 2 or 3 others I've stayed at. This was beautifully renovated with a great bath. We had breakfast delivered to our room and it was so delicious. We ate on our balcony and were able to get a view of the ocean/sunrise.
We did not use pool/sauna so can't comment. They do provide drinks/snacks and I think beach towels and umbrellas for guests to help themselves to, but we left in such a rush to get back to our then 6 month and nearly 2 year olds we didn't get to use these. (since we live 15mins away from the beach in Melbourne it wasn't an issue to miss the beach : )

One thing to keep in mind/draw back is that the property is NOT beachfront. There is a road between it and a public access/parking lot for the beach. Only a few of the rooms have an ocean view and the sunrise room is one. It wasn't palacial but adequate. The room was set up with flowers, chocolates, candles and wonderful music when we checked in after having dinner nearby (at Djon's which is hit or miss in our experience)

Room Tip: sunrise room is a winner, can't comment on any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deenaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have completed two nights of a planned five night stay and are absolutely delighted. Very comfortable. Just as pictured. The beach across the street. Everyone so helpful and friendly. Really don't know what more one could ask for. Quiet at night. We are very pleased and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We are in the Indian River room which is pricier, one flight up ( no elevator obviously!) but in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silota46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We only spent 1 night prior to leaving for a cruise. The facilities were beautiful and immaculately maintained. Our room was just as pictured on line. The staff was curteous and eager to help in anyway. Depite the elegant rooms the atmosphere and staff were warm and welcoming.
To our suprise, when we returned in the evening, the covers were turned down, peaceful music was playing from the DVD/CD player and there were delicious brownies waiting for us.
We loved the option of breakfast in our room which we had on our private balcony. We had the sampler plate as all the choices sounded so delicious.
I would recommend Port d'Hiver for a romantic getaway or any time you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
19.8 mi away
Courtyard Cocoa Beach Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: £221 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing