We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Port d' Hiver spoiled me. It is hard for other B&Bs to compete. The location across the street from the beach is wonderful. They give you everything you need for a day on the beach from towels, lawn chairs and umbrella to a cooler and snacks! The rooms are cozily decorated and relaxing. The heated pool with waterfall was superb! And OMG! the breakfasts surpassed the finest restaurants and were bountiful. A nice touch was being able schedule when your breakfast was delivered and eat it on your private patio. This is an ideal get away if you are looking for relaxation. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Mangrove Suite is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyTravelerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
360
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I agree with the guest that mentioned that the rooms and property do justice to the website. We made a change to the Havana Room because we had access to the lift. Linda was very helpful in making sure the room was the right fit for us. The bed and linens were wonderful. The very large bath was rare for a B&B. Everything was spotless. We had breakfast delivered two mornings. Unfortunately, it rained the first day so we had to try and eat off small tables. The next morning, we sat on the patio. It was very private and you could hear the waterfall from the pool. We had small portions, however, they still want to over feed you. Instead of having some of everything, two entrees make for a very rich selection, pick one or just order any breakfast you want. They were very accommodating. If you need assistance with your luggage, you need to make advance requests. Thank goodness Mike was available as we travel with more than we need. They recommend Dijon Steak & Lobster Restaurant and we had two delicious dinners and it was excellent. The staff we met went beyond friendly to wonderful. Take advantage of the special that offers the 4th free.

Room Tip: The Havana Room is quite roomy and gets minimal noise from A1A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is obvious that this B&B pays constant attention to every detail! I'd love to give suggestions, but I can't think of a thing - everything you might think of is already taken care of. Special care obvious in there gluten free menu!

Room Tip: Sleep with the windows open you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: Cloth napkins, silver ware... sheet and towel policy...
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our first time at Port D'Hiver B&B and by far the best B&B we have stayed in so far.
Celebrating our "30" Anniversary and looking for some quiet time, we trully enjoyed it.
The rooms & property are just as amazing as they appear their website, which is always one of my biggest fears.

The staff was amazing to say the least! Everyone was pleasant, but most of all, happy to work there, we couldn't believe it. And then there was breakfast and happy hour, delishious! We were so relaxed, met wonderful people, made friends and can't wait to go back!
We rode the bikes, went to the beach, chilled on property and totally relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yellow Room, but from what we heard and saw on the website, they are all very beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReyNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just returned to cold, snowy upstate NY from this wonderful B&B in Melbourne Beach. The property itself is just beautiful and well maintained. Our room (The Sunrise Room) had a private balcony with an incredible ocean view. Breakfast is quite a treat--as are the delicious cookies available 24/7! The staff is very friendly and helpful (with a tip of the hat to Deena). The nightly turndown service is an added treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife's and my second stay while visiting her family in Melbourne. This B&B is as comfortable as it gets, with a terrific breakfast, super friendly proprietors and staff, and right across the street from the beach. It is a terrific place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We absolutely was blown away with this property. The breakfast was an incredible gourmet meal which we have never experienced before. The owners had a real vision and they have truly delivered in execution, restoration, history, and taking you back to the olden days. Our view from Ella Belle's room was breathtaking. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever experienced and to be honest we thought about hauling it out to our SUV in the middle of the night. Well...we wanted to take it home with us. We love this place and can't wait to find another excuse to get away and enjoy a longer stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DwaBoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
285 reviews
20.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing