We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our second home: heaven”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The experience of our time at Port D Hiver is so wonderful there are not enough adjectives to describe it. This was our 2nd time back and they remembered us so well and they're not just talking to you to make conversation they genuinely care ask at your day was, what are your plans and advise you on great things to do in the area. The food at breakfast is five-star and the cookies all day long along with the coffee, tea, flavoured water you couldn't want for more. We stayed in Walters suite which has beautiful views to the beach, to the back of the house and to the side and it was so beautiful it really came alive at night with the soft lighting the monumentally comfortable bed and the soft blue and brown colour scheme in the room that made you feel like you were in a countryside cottage. It's beautiful

Room Tip: As each room is individual and we have seen some of the other rooms you will not miss out by choosin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333Suzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It was a lovely Memorial Day weekend 2014...We arrived before the mad holiday rush (Thursday) . We were upgraded to a top suite. Great breakfast each day...watch out if you are dieting! Lots to do in the nearby towns to explore. Owners and staff were the most accomodating I've ever encountered. Snacks and homemade cookies free. What's not to love!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was the perfect spot for a couple days away from daily life. We don't live far away so a couple days of pampering in a beautiful Florida spot was perfect. The staff was so lovely and helpful. The room was so Florida and luxurious. We appreciated the cokes offered to take down to the beach with our own little cooler. The details were fun to see and experience. Overall I would love to make it a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Port D'Hiver is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts in the country, without a doubt. I say this confidently, because my wife and I own a premier B&B and we have VERY high standards. To start with, the location across the street from the beach is perfect for the casual, laid back vacation that most visitors to Melbourne Beach are looking for. The property is made up of 4 buildings clustered in a private, serene and beautiful compound. Step through the private gates your your greeted by cool breezes, beautiful landscaping, comfortable lounging areas, and lovely fountains. Every room we've been in is beautiful. They have been extremely clean (remember those high standards!), nicely furnished with very high quality furniture, and equipped with every amenity you could ask for. The breakfasts are wonderful, with delightful offerings every morning. They are also quite accommodating to special dietary restrictions, which is very important to a lot of folks these days. We could never drag ourselves off the beach in time for the wine & goodies, but they looked amazing the one time I was passing through. The staff are all friendly and helpful as well, all anxious for their guests to have a great time. If you are heading to the Atlantic Coast of Florida, then there really isn't any other place you should even consider. Seriously, you're not going to find anything nicer anywhere for any price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QV-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our Port D'Hiver stay was near perfect. The breakfasts were quite yummy! Great carmel french toast and all the egg dishes were terrific. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. They paid attention to details. Cookies 24 hours a day in the lobby, treats on the pillow with turndown service at night, appetizers in the evening, snacks for the beach, a computer in the sitting room to print your boarding passes, a warm spa-pool, bikes and beach umbrellas/towels/chairs to borrow, parking. It is across from a park leading to the beach. That was about the only drawback, that it was not directly on the ocean, it is on a busy street, though I can't take a star away for that. We had the Sunrise room, true to it's name--you could see the sunrise from there and the ocean, though you could also hear the traffic, not so bad at night, but heard it in the morning and evening. I think if you have an interior room, you may not hear so much traffic, maybe the waterfall/fountain sounds may drown out outside sounds. Though the sunrise room was lovely,, a large bathroom with spa tub. The place was super clean. Very cute courtyard. Loved it!

Room Tip: Interior rooms may be quieter, fountain sounds as opposed to traffic on exterior rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I echo another review here: "constant attention to detail." We loved our room (Walter), great shower, exceptionally comfortable bed. Outstanding chocolate chip cookies available all day. Great amenities for the beach (towels, chairs, umbrella, small boogie board, bottled water, soda, snacks). Loved the heated pool. The people working there made sure we were never lacking for anything. They even brought our breakfast up to the balcony so we could eat while taking in sights/sounds of the ocean. Delicious food! Port d'Hiver is located across the street from the ocean. Maybe we could have left our French doors open to hear the waves at night. I'm not sure; we might have also heard traffic. If it were on the ocean, I'd call it perfect. Other than that, it's outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Port d' Hiver spoiled me. It is hard for other B&Bs to compete. The location across the street from the beach is wonderful. They give you everything you need for a day on the beach from towels, lawn chairs and umbrella to a cooler and snacks! The rooms are cozily decorated and relaxing. The heated pool with waterfall was superb! And OMG! the breakfasts surpassed the finest restaurants and were bountiful. A nice touch was being able schedule when your breakfast was delivered and eat it on your private patio. This is an ideal get away if you are looking for relaxation. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Mangrove Suite is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyTravelerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
19.0 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: £208 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing