We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and romantic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and romantic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed in several BandB's in Florida and California, but Port d'Hiver has been the most romantic and the level of service is exceptional. The staff is friendly and all the little details are taken care of so your trip is as hassle free as possible. We stayed in Walter's Suite and although the bathroom is a little small, it didn't detract from the superior quality of the linens, finishes and tranquility. We plan on returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDaze2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
336
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our first visit and 2 nights was too short. I def. would recommend going here. They are very friendly, helpful always making sure you are happy and comfortable. Food delicious. and plentiful, complimentary water and soda in the fridge with light snacks fresh baked cookies always ready :). They even baked nut free items for my husband as he is allergic. Beach is right across the street. We are looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazingly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOYS403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely place. Amazing room choices and landscape is beautiful. Food was excellent as was location. Can't say enough good things about this place. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They thought of everything to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I wish I could live there. Such a beautifully restored piece of history. Amazing view of the beach from our balcony. The good was to die for and the friendliness was astounding. My wife and I felt relaxed after our vacation instead of feeling exhausted like most vacations.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy2lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first trip to Melbourne and staying at a bed and breakfast. It was such a beautiful and romantic getaway to celebrate our first anniversary. We stayed in the Winward Suite for two nights. It was spacious, quaint, beautifully decorated and romantic. We had breakfast on the porch each morning and the food was absolutely delish!!!!!! The staff was always courteous and friendly. I can't say enough about how great our stay was. You just have to go and experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tis was our second visit. Almost two years ago we stayed here for a special event. Last time we stayed in the Yellow Room; this time it was the Creole Room downstairs. Service is just as thoughtful and thorough, cleanliness impeccable, decor and comfort---perfect. We have grown to love this place and plan on visiting again sooner and not waiting so long between visits. It's the best place to stay in Melbourne Beach if you are traveling without kids, and, especially if you want peace and quiet, quality accomodations, and a real relaxing Florida experience. BTW- beach chairs, ice, umbrellas and even snacks/water are supplied free for the taking for beach time. Turn-down service is free and optional and you even get a little baked treat for each occupant left on the bed, wrapped nicely too. Breakfast can be had up front, or, they will bring it and set up your patio table so you can dine quietly and in private. There is free WIFI in the rooms too. I mean, how much better could it be?

Room Tip: We loved the Yellow Room and Creole Room. The Sunrise room--we spent one night there on the last tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first trip to Port d'Hiver but I definitely think we will be back. We stayed in the Windward Suite - which was really beautifully decorated and had a small porch overlooking the very pretty pool. You could also see a sliver of the beach. My husband carefully chose this room to avoid the road noise and we did not hear a sound. It was very peaceful and comfortable in our room. The breakfasts are delicious and they give you a choice of sweet or savory, or you can even have a sampling of each. Fresh baked cookies and drinks are available all day and at 5p.m. every evening they have small appetizers with wine or beer. The one problem we had was ever being hungry enough to try any of the restaurants in town! The bed linens are from England and they are scrumptious. Keep in mind you are not directly on the beach but right across the street. Port d'Hiver has everything you could possibly need to head to the beach, right down to small coolers to transport cold drinks and the cold drinks as well. Really, we have stayed in a number of lovely places but none of them have ever given as much attention to detail as this bed and breakfast. The only tiny issue we had was that they called our room while we had the do not disturb sign out - to see when they could refresh the room. Luckily, we were really just getting ready to leave but that is something they might want to avoid. Other than that, it was perfectly lovely.

Room Tip: The Windward Suite is back off of the road and has no downstairs neighbors and is on the corner. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.1 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing