We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early morning adventure!”

Black Point Wildlife Drive
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great early morning adventure!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Show up when it opens up in the morning at sun rise. You will find all kinds of animals running around.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahsHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    44
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stunning Birding”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is an absolutely A+ site for birding. It's a long winding road through a wetlands/marsh/ponds area that is truly stuffed with birds. You could easily spend the whole day going from point to point checking out the wildlife. There are about 18 designated stopping points for viewing and you can pull to the side of the road pretty easily.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creal Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bird watching on Black Point Dr”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Black point drive is a seven mile gravel road trail that winds through the river and wetlands at Merritt Island National Wildlife Sanctuary. You can take your time driving and stop to take a closer look as you please. It took us 3 hours to drive because there were so many varieties of birds to stop and wath.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cicadakiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“It's NOT Disney - Thankfully”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am always amused at reviewers as well as folks along the drive who just do not get it. This is a wonderful drive and one that I whole heartedly recommend. Yes, it is not an attraction in the sense of you pay money and then entertained. You have to come out, listen for the quiet, look out over the vista and enjoy the scenery and wildlife. Obviously the better times to be here are in the morning or evening but you can observe wildlife most any time you are along the drive. Keep your speed slow, eyes open and ears alert. I have snapped hundreds of great photographs of birds and gators. Please come prepared. You should have a bottle of water as well as a bug spray. You will meet up with Mr. Mosquito and Mrs. Biting Midge. Please follow common courtesy along the drive. Keep the speed down and the radio low or off. At any point, feel free to stop and watch – but please pull over so others can pass.

We moved to Central Florida in May 2013 and have been here a half dozen times. Many more trips are in the works.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank CEWAIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
355 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great Place To See Wildlife”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We took this drive twice because we loved it so much. The first time we saw plenty of birds, a alligator on a walking trail, a snake in the bathroom, several alligators on a canal and a glimpse of a wild boar. The second time was before sunset and the sunsets over the water was beautiful. If you go drive slowly and stop look and listen because you never know what you will see or hear. As a nature photographer this was a dream come true. I can't wait to go again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Point Wildlife Drive also viewed

Merritt Island, Brevard County
 
Merritt Island, Brevard County
Merritt Island, Brevard County
 

Been to Black Point Wildlife Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing