We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious building, but very good seafood”

Fish House Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Mexico Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I can't believe this hasn't yet been reviewed. I specifically picked up a business card on the way out in order to leave a favorable review because it was so exceptionally good.
Alabama Mountain Lakes, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unpretentious building, but very good seafood”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was my family's first dining stop while vacationing at the beach. We were not disappointed in the least. No great views from here, although they are only a block or two from the beach, just very good seafood at reasonable prices. The place was packed with a July 4 holiday crowd, but we were seated and served in a timely manner. Our servers were pleasant, the food was delicious, and we had a great time here. We had a two year old and a teenager with us as well, and it was pleasant for them also. No fancy environment to speak of, but it was still decorated nicely with a Gulf Coast/ fishing theme on the inside. More restroom space would be helpful - very clean however. As to the food, I enjoyed all we had, but I greatly enjoyed the "Danny Oysters" from the appetizer menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mr_P33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    73
    51
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only if you are into frozen dinners”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The fish house came recommended to us by a family we met while in Mexico Beach. The food was okay but not fresh seafood. I ordered shrimp and they looked like the ones you get in big bags at the grocery store. The salad was old and my fries were still frozen in the middle. This place is good for big crowds who like the frozen seafood section of a grocery store.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank owen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try to find someplace else”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Took 45 min. to receive our order. Only 4 other tables with customers. Ordered 2 burgers and salad. Side of hushpuppies which were cold and raw in the middle. They did bring more but only heated up in microwave. Did not try the seafood so cannot review. If only looking for quick meal, I would look elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank learbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but great meal”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate at the Fish House on vacation. Appetizers were ordered- calamari, fried mushrooms and crab claws which were all very good.
As it was lunch time, everyone ordered off the lunch specials which were mostly 8-10 dollars. Tilapia was very good.
Ladies who were working that day were very attentive and very nice.
We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic southern seafood”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

That's what you'l find here. There is very little in the way of ambiance, but, there is a lot of good old southern hospitality. In the south if you order tea it is going to be sweet unless you request that it not be so be warned. Most of the food is fried and the hush puppies were good. Everything was good and fresh and the service was great. It is kid friendly so you don't have to worry about that. It's not fancy just good food and service. Oh, they do serve alcohol it's just that's not what the place is about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish House Restaurant also viewed

Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fish House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing