We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Buena Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On a "beach getaway" this week. Selected this place because of location, and the fact that it is a locally owned property. All in all, very happy with my selection. The room was pretty clean. It had all of the basics I was looking for. There are some maintenance issues which need to be addressed, but it looks like the owner Mike is upgrading the property. The TV is an older model, and the kitchen area needs some sprucing, but I really liked the "block glass" window in the bathroom, which gives lots of light, but affords you privacy. The decking looks new, and the beds are adequate. This motel is ON THE BEACH, which lets you walk down the stairs, and BAM, you are there. I did notice that most people left their beach stuff out on the sand all day, so there is not a crime problem here. Local grocery store is right across the street, as well as a seafood restaurant. Owner Mike is very nice, and even brought me some cupcakes the first night that they had made.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gocoastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This 6 room hotel has a spectacular location, right, smack, dab on the sandy beach. The Gulf is steps from your front door. The owner is a really, nice man named Mike. The room rates were very reasonable. In addition to owning the place, it appears Mike also does all the room cleaning, stocking and possibly maintenance himself. Nothing wrong with that, but in my opinion, he could use a little help. The rooms have supposedly been remodeled, but I am not sure when. Ours was very sparse. There was a microwave that didn't work, a 4 cup coffee maker that needs to be tossed & replaced with a new one, a small open closet for hanging garments, a TV. Also a small table with 2 chairs. The bathroom, is in real need of a thorough scrubbing and a decent shower curtain. There was no place at all for placing toiletries. A small window in the bathroom had blinds & I am not sure they've ever been cleaned. The sheets had burn holes in them and my comforter had some stains on it, though it did smell fresh and clean. My bed was quite comfortable, my friends was not so much. The pillows were weird, some squashed flat, others bumpy and thick. The floor was new ceramic tile, but so hard to keep clean because of sand being tracked into the room. A broom would have been nice to have as well as a couple mats at the entrance ways to wipe shoes and feet off with. We were given a few towels and 1 roll of toilet paper.
We immediately crossed 98 to the Superette and got more TP and paper towels. Mike cheerfully gave us more bath towels. The deck around the hotel looked fairly new. Our room had a big, sliding glass door (no screen) out to the deck. There were 2 nice , plastic deck chairs to sit in. After sitting in the chairs, you could look out at the water, but the railing was at such a weird height, that it blocked out the horizon, so you had to stand up to get an unobstructed view of the water.
The acoustics in the room were not so great, although the walls were solid concrete. We could hear our neighbors on all sides. Some were yelling until 3am, others were constantly dragging every piece of furniture they had across the tile floors at all hours of the night. For the life of us, we were clueless as to why people would drag it, and not pick it up. It was so obnoxious.
So to sum it up, great location and owner, rooms could use sprucing up and decorating with new, linens and pillows, rooms could use a deep cleaning. All in all, despite the rain, cool temps and cloudy weekend, we had a really nice time in Mexico Beach. it's definitely a low key coastal town. Not a lot to do there.

Room Tip: I'd go for the rooms on the top floor next time. They've got to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PuddinpieNWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a quaint little motel. It was very clean and we had a great view from our room. It's right on the beach with a well-stocked, affordable grocery across the street. You can't beat the price. The only real negatives were that the beds were hard and the parking was slim.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mria1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stay here every year for 3 or 4 nites as we love being right on the ocean and having a clean cozy room. This past December our 4 nite stay ended up being an unexpected two weeks as my better half became extremely ill on our second day. Steve was taken to Bay Medical and underwent emergency surgery. He was in the hospital for a week and then we had to wait for an appt. thru all this Michael told me not to worry about how long we had to stay and he worked with us so well, so one less thing I did not have to worry about which was great. Every one there is very helpful. We have a resort in Mi. so we look for clean rooms and friendly people when we travel and have definitely found the perfect place at Buena Vista Motel and Michael.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were at Buena Vista end of January for two nights-room upstairs. Fantastic view and nice clean room. The people were super nice and we will be back-hopefully in couple of weeks while passing through Mexico Beach on way home. Couldn't ask for better motel for the price!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IllinoisGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattahoochee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great motel nestled on mexico beach, even though it's only a six room motel the rooms are fairly big. All rooms have two beds about the size of a full sized bed, a mini fridge, a microwave, coffee maker no sugar or cream, tv's with dish network. Mike the owner is a jolly laid back fellow and helpful with anything you need, very knowledgeable about surrounding areas. My wife and I really enjoyed this place and will return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms #2 and #5 to me have the best views but request any room beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MustangBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This little quaint motel was perfect for our vacation. The location is to die for. We were very impressed by the cleanliness. The room was big and bright. We loved everything about this place. The owner Mike was super friendly and even walked down to the beach to help unhook a shark my husband caught. The fishing right off the beach is amazing we spent all day for several days fishing. We couldn't have been happier with everything. Grocery store and food within walking distance. Beaches not crowded. We will for sure be back to stay here again. Maybe even in August!! Stay away from big chains people. Local places are always the best. Never ever wanted to leave. Perfect little get away!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KimandJeffMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
10.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
22.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
23.9 mi away
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay P...
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motel

Property: Buena Vista Motel
Address: U.S. Highway 98, PO Box 13144, Mexico Beach, FL 32410
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Mexico Beach
Buena Vista Motel Mexico Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing