We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
New Port Richey, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We recently stayed at the El Governor for three days for our anniversary weekend on Dec 6th. We had a corner room on the fourth floor with spectacular views of the Gulf and beach both from our beach facing picture window and side picture window. (The end rooms have two large windows to view the beach). Our room was well appointed with tropical decor and color scheme. We had a King with a full bath plus bonus sink outside the bath, a pull out love seat and comfy chair with table. There was a full size refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with a butcher block counter which housed plates, cups, bowls and glasses. We left the door to our balcony open in the evening and slept to the sound of the surf rushing up on the beach. It was absolutely outstanding. We ate breakfast at Sharon's Cafe...a very homey establishment with excellent food and had a pizza at Crazy Beach Pizza. The pizza was very good however the antipasta salad was good but not what we were used to. The El Governor also has a heated pool, enclosed patio area which featured a band and Tiki bar in addition to an outside Tiki area with wet bar. We had read a review stating the elevator was slow...obviously it had been repaired as we had no issues with it. The staff also were extremely friendly and helpful both at the front desk and the gift shop. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days and just "chill", the beach colony of Mexico Beach and the El Governor is for you. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you have an option...select an end room for the two picture window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    143
    54
    20
    15
See reviews for
135
131
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stay at least 2 to 3 times a year at the El GOV. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. The motel itself could use a cosmetic refresh on the outside, but nothing major. The rooms are comfortable, clean and with a fantastic beach view. The staff is friendly and always great. We love the fellowship of the regular people each year at Thanksgiving in the very casual Tiki Bar. Overall our expericence is always fun and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missteacup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the El Governor for about 5 years now. You cannot beat the view & prices. We always find our room clean upon check in other than carpet stains; however, I have heard they are replacing the carpeting with wood flooring. That will be nice. They have also purchased new lighting fixtures, TVs for the rooms & washers/dryers in the common areas on each floor. Housekeeping does not seem to vacuum or clean the bathrooms each day during your stay & we have asked at one point to have a vacuum to do it ourself. I have every reason to think that if asked, the housekeeper would do it for you. It just seems odd that the normal cleaning isn't standard & odder yet to have to ask her to do that.

Anyhow, you can't beat the view & price. That's why we keep coming back each year. That & the fact that the manager is wonderful as is most of his staff, the heated outdoor pool is nice as is the bar that was open from 10a-11p each day.

I could live at the El Governor & be quite content!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdaGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's not elegant, however, the view from the balcony is unsurpassed for watching the sunsets, or the people on the uncrowded sugar sand beaches. Night life in Mexico Beach is fairly quite an inexpensive. If you wish to live it up a bit Panama City Beach with all of it's attractions are an easy thirty minute drive.

I recommend the top floor where the rooms have a kitchen in case you wont to prepare your own locally caught seafood. Just across the bay (another easy drive) there is Cape San Blas with it's Civil war salt production site and one of the U.S.'s top 10 beaches. Sometimes you can walk a half mile on the beach with out seeing another person.

The prices are reasonable for the level of the Motel and the rooms are clean. A real treat is the Oh so Southern voice on the elevator telling you, "Going up or Going down." My wife and I are from the south and we laugh every time we here it. It is part of this funky little motel's charm. It is Florida from fifty years ago.

We go to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Top floor is best for views and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReindeerWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is an older roadside motel. The annex we stayed in seamed to me to be the place to stay for easy access to the beach. I think it cost us about $90 a night and we stayed here two nights. The beach was just steps from the room. It was a perfect place to watch the sunset. We loved the beach in this quant little roadside beach town. There are very few motels in this area and hardly any on the beach so we felt fortunate to get the room we had. The room had been remodeled in some brighter beach type colors. They were a bit loud but we dealt with them fine. The floor was laminate flooring with no rugs around the bed. Being on the beach there was a lot of sand in the room. I had to put a towel down to keep sand out of the bed. I will say the room was clean. It had a bit of a smell when we arrived though. The smell had a hint of a bleach scent to it which was kind of reassuring. Overall I would stay here again but only in the annex we were in. To get to the beach from the main hotel seamed to be a bit of a job and that area of the beach was a little more crowded. I think the main motel rooms were higher as well.To be clear this was not an Embassy Suites or a Hampton Inn but there are none of those there. We were both ok with the room and hotel.

Room Tip: Annex for the beach....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Where do I begin? Just got back and loved it! Affordable centrally located. The sand was right beneath our balcony! All 4 desk clerks were friendly and helpful as were the amazingly quiet cleaning ladies. There's always a breeze blowing through the parking area below the clean and spacious rooms above. All the seafood places are within walking distance. The Fish House is the best. Great views especially of the sunsets and the dolphins put on a show daily in the beautiful ocean. Nice pool and surrounding area with a good gift shop and supplies nearby. The annex is well kept and tropically landscaped and the whole area is the way Old Florida use to be and should still be (NO HIGH RISES). I've read complaints about the "slow elevator" well it's not! It's just on Mexico Beach time which is Laidback! If you're in a hurry go to Panama City.
The only thing that kept me from giving El Governor 5 stars was my torture rack bed--very uncomfortable... BUT guess what... as we were leaving they were bringing in a new shipment of mattresses. We will definatley be back!

Room Tip: The top floors give better ocean views of the dolphins. The annex rooms have no private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelbert30184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

It is not new and stylish, but you will find everything you need. We booked an apartment room: balcony to the oceanside, cooking facility, freezer. Just nice. We spent 3 "Ocean-Days" there, waking up with the gulf, going to sleep with the gulf: great. Room was clean and no traffic noise to hear. A supermarket is nearby, the beach is clean and sandy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biene_089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
22.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Panama City Area Lynn Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor
El Governor Motel Mexico Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing