We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Room was not cleaned on two different days. Returned at night to beds not made and towels still on floor. Had a room with full kitchen. No room to move around. Balcony was just wide enough for two chairs. Someone tries to get into the room one night. Employees smoke right by the elevator and also have ash trays on the cleaning cart. Told if we have a do not disturb sign on door they do not clean. Left the hotel everyday by 9:00am but since the sign was on the door at 7:00am they do not clean it. Normally go to Ft Myers Beach. Never will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dm7432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    149
    56
    21
    14
See reviews for
138
136
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The El Governor is RIGHT on the beach. We have stayed there over 12 times at different times of the year. The rooms are clean and every room has balcony over the beach. We have never been and not seen the dolphins playing in the ocean from the balcony. You can leave the sliding glass doors to the balcony open and sleep to the sound of the waves. The front desk employees are wonderful and so helpful. If you like the old Florida look and not looking for a fancy place this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for room past the 2nd floor and not over the bar. They also have rooms that have been recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsh0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guin, Alabama
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed before here about 6 times over past 12 years now. We have enjoyable 3 days we stay. Still they are having problems with wifi there, but it still an great place to stay and not bother with a lot of people or so many party people like other town near by has to go though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved the position of the hotel right on the waters edge. Sat having breakfast watching dolphins passing along the bay, could not have been better. Room very clean and tidy. Hotel a little dated but it did not detract from a wonderful stay on the Beach for two days. Has a lovely outside heated pool which we used both mornings before breakfast and had to our selves, tended to be busy in the afternoons with families but the sea was very warm and inviting as a splendid alternative.

Room Tip: All seemed to be identical facing the sea. We were on the 4th floor of 5 and it was very quiet. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kencnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perdido, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here over Mother's Day for a long week end. Every one very friendly. Clean and all rooms are facing ocean. Pool was clean and plenty of lounging chairs. Great gift shop with snacks. Nice little kitchenette.

Room Tip: Not had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at El Governor over Mother's Day week-end with my daughters. We were able to have adjoining rooms which was really nice. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Really enjoyed the view from the balcony. Service from the time we entered was friendly and helpful They also have a nice gift shop! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nani1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived on a Saturday and left on Monday. We had an amazing time. The room was clean and the service was great. We will be back. The annex was great. The guys that run the jet skis had a friend that played unbelievably loud music. Other than that the place was very quiet especially after hours.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleveland101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
262 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
273 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
235 reviews
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
22.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor
El Governor Motel Mexico Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing