We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman's last chance”
Review of Gulf View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fisherman's last chance”
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This little gem is a trip saver for the fisherman on a budget. Located in Mexico Beach, it is about 10 miles west of the marina at Port St Joe. A single room here is very affordable compared to other nearby establishments, and if you're a reasonable sort, the management is very accommodating.

Now, this is not your fancy, spend a week with the wife and kids kind of place. It is a no-frills, down to earth place offering room bed and bath conveniently located to the beach, restaurants and fishing spots which anyone wanting an alternative to pricy hotels can appreciate.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Bed not the greatest
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Scalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sylvester, GA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

First of all, this motel IS NOT LOCATED IN PORT ST JOE!!! lol. It is in MEXICO BEACH, Fl. For some reason people have been posting it in Port St Joe. We called the owner when we arrived in Port St Joe because we could not find it and he said "No, I am in Mexico Beach!". So just a heads up for everyone. Also no one else on here has posted any photos, so I took the liberty of snapping some of our room so you can see what it looks like before you go!

Now, on to the details! This is a very nice (for the price you can NOT beat it!!) motel. It is located on Highway 98 across the street from the beach and almost right across from El Governor (which when I was booking rooms, cost $135 a night). We had 2 'bedrooms' and a bathroom and a little kitchenette in our room. With taxes and everything it was $71 a night!! And it was super nice, everything smelled fresh and clean when we walked in the room, the bathrooms were nice and clean, as were the beds and linens. I was VERY pleased with this motel and we will definitely be returning. Anyone who has anything bad to say about this motel is crazy!! lol. It is the perfect place to stay if you want something nice but are on a budget and don't want to pay over $100 for a hotel room that you're hardly going to be in anyway!

My husband and I went down on a Friday and then 2 of our friends joined up on Saturday afternoon, and they only had to pay $10 extra for that night, $5 per extra person in the room.

I definitely give this motel a 5 due to price, cleanliness, friendliness of the owner - a little old man who is so sweet & says he hasn't raised his rates in over 20 years - as well as the location! It is maybe 10 steps across the street and then down a little boardwalk thing and you are on the beach in less than 3 minutes!

  • Liked — The location, price and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Was not pet friendly.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amandab08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Clean, comfortable and close to the water. I was travelling by myself and could not have asked for a better experience. The owners were very nice and even gave me feedback on the area...from the best beaches in the area to where the locals go for dinner. I will definitely book there again. The reasonable price is also very attractive.

  • Liked — proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AtlantaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Went to Mexico Beach, Florida for just a few days as we go at least once a year and try to stay for a week, but had a few days (weekend) and decided earlier in the week to find a place. This is still peak season there and the rates would have been what we paid for a full week in off season around the end of Sept or first of Oct. My husband called "Gulf View" and thought the rate of $65.00 plus tax seemed reasonable compared to others.
Arrived about 10:00 pm central time and was greeted by owner, an eldery gentleman. He tells us the rates have been the same for 20 years!
We got an efficiency room, which was 2 rooms plus bathroom. First room had double bed (new), small kitchen, regular size refrigerator, table and chairs, & tv. Second room had queen size bed (new), small dresser and tv. Bathroom had shower, toliet and sink.
Kinda small but clean. Towels were soft! We had a stocked kitchen with utensils, dinnerware, glasses and pots and pans. Front room was a bit warmer,b/c second room had the window unit in it. Turned it down to about 66 degrees and it cooled nicely.

Bank right beside the hotel, walking distance to Sharon's cafe and Beach Foods (grocery-supplies store) and of course small driving or walking distance to Beach Pizza (yum) and a few convience type stores. Pier is about 1 1/2 miles north of this hotel.
Right across the street was the beach. We walked, carrying in one trip all our supplies for a day on the beach So I would estimate a few yards to get to beach, and we walked back and forth with no problem at all.
We enjoyed staying here and invited 2 friends to come and stay with us for an extra $5.00 per person per night. Not too bad. Sure some improvements could and can be made. And i think they are making these improvements as they can. The last night there (Sat night) it was no vacancy, so they must be doing something right!
Will stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank abm930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

This is a very clean and reasonable motel to stay in. It's right across from the Gulf . It's close to all the little shops and places to eat. What it doesn't have in luxury it makes up for because your there for the beach! The owners are very friendly and nice.
I'd definetly stay there again!!!

  • Liked — clean and quiet and the price
  • Tips/Secrets — keep it a secret!!
Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank Lavendargirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 September 2005

The Gulf View Motel is a real bargin, probably the lowest priced motel in the area. They haven't raised their price in 18 years! It's not fancy, but we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunnel Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2004

This Motel is listed as being at port St. Joe but it is at Mexico Beach.We stayed the first week of november 2004 and truly loved the Gulf View. the owners are just super nice and the place is clean and well run. I think it is the best deal in the Florida panhandle as far as the price for an effiancy goes. and the beautiful beach is just across the road.we intend to go back soon to Mexico Beach and the Gulf View.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank sixpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
268 reviews
10.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
18.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 31 in Panama City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
318 reviews
22.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
244 reviews
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Motel

Property: Gulf View Motel
Address: 1404 Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456-7048
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Gulf View Hotel Mexico Beach
Gulf View Motel Mexico Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing