We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property in need of attention...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
Ranked #33 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I arrived at the Hilton Miami Downtown for business on June 11th. Upon checking in, I was told that my room was located on the 18th floor. For some, that is great. However, I requested a low floor when making my reservation in early April. After discussion, I was given a room on the first floor of rooms, which is the ninth floor of the hotel. When I entered my room, it looked very disheveled and super small. The bedding was not neat and the bathroom wasnt the cleanest. Two minutes after entering the room, there was a knock on the door from the housekeeping manager. She asked if the room was okay. I told her my thoughts and she left. Hmmm.

After meeting with coworkers for dinner, their rooms were not in much better shape. One coworker did not have a working television. I decided to call the hotel to speak with a manager. I was connected to Liza, who was great. She agreed to move all of our rooms and apologized for the inconvenience. When we returned, she gave us new rooms and we moved. Great, right. NO!
My room was full of cigarette smoke. As a non-smoker, the smell was intolerable. I called security and they came to the room to confirm the smell and called the manager on duty, Mr.Diez. When Mr.Diez entered the room he also said it was full of smoke. With this being a non-smoking hotel, when one guest smokes, their cigarette smoke travels through the ventilation system into other rooms. Mr.Diez apologized profusely and also noted that this was my second room in less than 24 hours. He offered to move me to a suite the next day and offered a food and beverage credit. He was very concerned and exemplified professionalism in handling the situation.

The next afternoon I received a call that my suite was ready. I must say that I was underwhelmed. The suite is literally a larger room. My television was the same size, 32 inches, and swiveled. If you dont have decent eyesight, watching television in bed is a chore. The bathroom in the suite was smaller than in my previous two rooms. Mr. Diez called me to see if
the room was suitable. I agreed that it was due to the only other option being moved to a new
hotel.

I can honestly say that my stay was most unpleasant. The hotel is dated and lacks amenities. I regret my stay there as it ruined a great deal of my trip. Having to move three times within a four-day stay is ridiculous and unacceptable. While the hotel managers, Liza and Mr.Diez, did try to be accommodating, my trip was ruined. A great deal of an out of town experience is your lodging.

I would not suggest this hotel to anyone. I hope that they soon renovate. I truly think that their location is their saving grace ,being close to where the Heat play. Otherwise, Hilton Miami Downtown is just another hotel in need of attention. I would really like to speak to corporate about my experience. Wish I had good things to say, but I just don't.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acelrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Although we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel’s location, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experience in your room change. We’re thoroughly troubled by the details you provided, and take your review very seriously. Your comments and experience will be shared with our entire management team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 3,761 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our honeymoon the night before we took our cruise. We booked everything last minute once we landed in Miami, which was stressful. The staff there made everything incredibly easy and explained everything. I would like to thank the front desk, night shift manager, and Maria in the breakfast area for outstanding, exceptional service! We head back there tomorrow and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Congratulations to the happy couple! We are thrilled to have been part of your honeymoon experience, and that you chose to stay with Hilton Miami Downtown before and after your cruise. Traveling can be stressful and exhausting, and we are so glad to have provided the relaxing stay and exceptional service you deserve. We will be sure to share your kind words with all of our staff, including the ones you mentioned by name. We look forward to greeting you again soon and we thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent service from the moment I arrived. The valet was certious and quick. The receptionist was informative. The room was clean and smelled good. Temperature was good although the a/c fan was a bit louder than normal. The view was spectacular. Loved the little office desk. Internet was fast and easy to set up. The meeting room was spacious and easy to find. The lower level elevator was hot tho. Check out was easy and the price was affordable. I will be looking forward to my next stay with the Hilton

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcruz24fitcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It sounds like your visit with Hilton Miami Downtown met all your needs and that makes us happy. We are truly honored that you had the best overall experience in a hotel, and will definitely share with all of our associates your glowing compliments. It is so gratifying to hear how well our entire team provided the top notch customer service you describe here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a three night stay here before boarding a cruise ship. On checking in, we were given a corner room which had great views of the port area and cruise ships. The room was very pleasant and clean and very quiet which made for a good night's sleep.

The bar area is nice and the restaurant is good for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel offers free use of the computers in the business centre.

There is a bus and monorail station (which is free) close by which can get you to South Beach and Bayside Marketplace.

We enjoyed our stay here and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalitaDiasNojaim, Front Office Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Miami Downtown for your last visit to Miami. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed one night due to an American Airlines screw up.The staff was extremely friendly and attentive throughout the property and the room was great. Couldn't have been better. Would defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geralynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It was our pleasure to provide great last minute accommodations for you recently at Hilton Miami Downtown. Our staff will be grateful to hear how friendly and helpful they were for you. While the circumstances that brought you to us were not ideal, we’re glad your stay at our hotel was ideal. We look forward to having you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hilton downtown is very well located, within walking distance of the AA Arena, Bayside, and Brickell.
Yes the hotel might not look up to date from the outside, but it is incredible once inside. The lobby and pool area are very nice, the rooms are standard size but very clean and with an incredible view. Flat screen tvs, minibar, very comfortable bedding.
beware of parking, as with any other hotel in downtown, they will charge upwards of 40 dollars a night for valet parking.
All in all, I was very impressed with this hotel and I would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review of Hilton Miami Downtown, we are so glad to hear of how impressed you were with the accommodations, lobby and pool. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction in knowing our guests’ stay was so positive that they plan on returning in the future. Our parking options and fees are shown on our website, with valet parking $28 per day. Many guests enjoy the convenience of valet service which provides unlimited in and out privileges which can’t be found in public lots. Alternatively some guests choose to self park for $26 per day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Couldn't have been happier with the accommodations at the hotel. Had a nice large room overlooking the city, quick drive over the bridge to south beach. The service at the pool could have been better but the front desk was more than helpful in making our stay more than satisfactory. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It sounds like your visit with us included many of the things that make staying at the Hilton Miami Downtown so enjoyable. Our dedicated staff work very hard to provide our guests with the most memorable of experiences and it seems we met that goal with you. Thank you for sharing your appreciation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 125 in Miami
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-1216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £94 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton
Hilton Miami Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing